TaylorMade Tour Burner Drivers

Tour Burner

Dual crown and weighted power-base promote increased carry and distance. Modern head shape promotes lower, deeper and precision-placed CG for higher launch angle and lower spin. SuperFast Technology promotes increased swing speed, faster ball speed and added distance. Inverted Cone Technology dramatically expands the portion of the clubface that delivers high COR for consistently longer drives on off-center hits. SuperFast 60-gram shaft is exceptionally lightweight and stable to promote greater distance and accuracy.

User Reviews (42)

Showing 1-10 of 42  
Randy   Shoots in the 90s [Oct 09, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Tour Burner 2.0

I purchased this driver 2 weeks ago , and love it. I tried 3 other expensive drivers & this last years model, out performed them all , and was the least expensive. I wanted 25 yrds more and I'm getting 50 & 60yrds yrds more when I hit it dead on the nuts . My swing speed went up 6 mph. I was hitting 185-200 yrds....and now 210 230 yrds and have twice hit it 260 yrds ! Still getting used to the club, but I'm very happy with it so far.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
litdrum   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 31, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made Tour Burner

Bought used from ebay. Stiff aldila by you shaft. 9.5 loft. Pretty happy, makes me feel confidence over the ball. Inconsistent 300+ yard drives. Mostly around 270. But that's far enough.

Customer Service

No experience

Similar Products Used: R7 quad
FT-I square
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
bbusse   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 18, 2011]
Model Reviewed: tour burner

accurate as a 3 wood. 30 yards longer than ping g5.10.5 degree head and reg shaft excellentfor 90 mph swing

Similar Products Used: call454 r7 g5ping
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
GrizzGolfer   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 16, 2011]
Model Reviewed: TaylorMade Tour Burner TP 8.5* x-stiff

I used purchased this driver in May gently used from a seller on ebay. I've used several drivers off and on over the past couple years, switching between a 8.5* cobra x speed to an older Cleveland launcher 7.5*. I've even purchased an alpha model long drive driver at one point to try. Before I bought the taylormade I was back to the cobra and hitting it fairly well, and about as long as I ever had. However, I still struggled with pulling it left sometimes and every once in awhile I'd get a snap hook out of it. My biggest complaint with the cobra was the sound. A few times a round when hit solidly it would produce such a harsh metallic ping sound that it would literally leave my ears ringing.

I decided to try the taylormade because of the price (around $80 with shipping) and the first few rounds had a bit of a love hate relationship with it. My distance was still decent but it lacked the power of my cobra when I really laid into one. I should say that I am around 6'4", 270 lbs and around a 115-120 mph swing speed with the driver. On my last full round with the cobra I put one 360 off the tee, and with the taylormade have been able to still get around 300 or a little more but not near what was possible with the cobra. However, the difference is consistency. While with the cobra I was never completely confident that it would go the direction I wanted, the TP has become my most confident club in the bag. It took a few rounds to get used to the weight, as it at least feels quite a bit lighter than the cobra and therefore a little harder to feel throughout the back swing. My last round out I hit the time out of the ball all day with it, averaging close to 300 yds and hitting from the short grass far more than I was used to. I was hitting from the back tees on the course for only the second time and ended up shooting a 79 after a round of 43 on the front. I was 2 under on the back through 6 holes and only lost strokes on an errant 4 iron into a par five and a miss hit 8 iron over a par three with a pond. I believe this club to be responsible for producing results off the tee and inspiring confidence in the rest of my game. If I could find wedges to inspire my wedge game like this thing has my driving, I'd quit my day job.

Customer Service

Didn't use talormade's service but am very pleased with the product. The only thing that left me a little irritated was that it claims to be square to slightly open and probably sits at least a half a degree or more closed. Not a huge deal other than if it is labeled as being square to open, it should be square to open.

Similar Products Used: Cobra X Speed 8.5*
Cleveland launcher 400 7.5*
Callaway Great Big Bertha II Pro Series 8.5*
Alpha C830II SP700 7.5*
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Joseph doyle   Scratch Golfer [Apr 10, 2011]

iv had this club for about 3 or 4 years and iv got a X-stiff shaft in it. sence iv had it iv got duck hooks and unconsistant ball flight, it the only club in my bag that realy lets my down.

not a happy customer

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
2
drok   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 27, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Tour Burner 10.5*

played a friend's tour burner with 10.5 degrees loft, Aldila NV 65R SST Pured shaft. not sure if the pured shaft made the difference, but i was hitting some good drives with it. first off the tee was a low hook. probably due to the slightly closed face angle, but on the next 4-5 holes, i was hitting pretty straight drives in the fairway. the feel of the NV is very smooth, and i normally play a stiff flex for the NV but this combo seemed to work. my misses were not too bad, one in particular was the 9th hole dogleg right. i played a for a fade/slice, but the teeshot stayed pretty straight and i lost it in the left trees. that was my mental error. i like this combo so much right now, i'm looking to build a driver with the exact specs. however, i am concerned that this day was just a fluke, and my faster swing speed might not bode well with a regular flex. but i did like the distance i got with this driver. not super long, but it was very accurate. a few of the short par 5's i was coming in with a mid iron. so i was probably hitting my tee shot about 260-270 with the taylor made TP black ball.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: tour burner TP
r5 dual TP
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
TheNextArnoldPalmer   Shoots in the 90s [Nov 25, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made Tour Burner

I pondered over which driver to purchase for several months until I picked this one up for $100 new in wrapper from a demo sale at GolfTown. Absolutely brilliant! First time out I went 7 of 8 GIR. My fade is nearly gone and this is a regular (none draw) driver.

It added 20 - 30 yards to my drive. I find it easier to control then my previous drivers as the head weight feels more balanced.

Do not contemplate, just buy! Especially if you are a beginner - intermediate golfer.

Similar Products Used: Callaway Big Bertha C4, Nickent 4DX SE
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Eddie Kane   Shoots in the 100s [Sep 17, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade Tour Burner

I have tried Several different High end Drivers and I tested a few other Taylormade Drivers and This one is a beast! I had a mean slice for a while and I got this because I was told by a club professional that I would benefit from a driver with a draw bias and he was right! I got this driver, immediately went to the range and hit a bucket. No shot was less than 250 and not one ball was sliced or hooked! Now I think I'm hooked, lol. This Driver is PERFECT!!!!!!

Similar Products Used: Ping G10, Taylormade R7, Callaway Diablo, Nike Dymo
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Tim   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 25, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade Tour Burner 9.5

I recently went over to my local golf retailer to get some balls, but i strooled over to the demo section and saw this tour burner on the rack i took a look at the amazing $75 price tag and decided to buy it. I was currently hitting a minor slice with my old titleist 907D1 witch my pickey 12 year old mind hated. So I went over to the course the next day to test it out.
WOW!, first hole I crushed it 250 and I was sold. added a near 15 yards to my drive and corrected the slice completely. But this club isn't just extremely forgiving, but workable to. I kept being blown away by the preformance until i came to the 9th tee the 500 yard dogleg left par 5. So I set up for a draw to cut the corner and I ripped about 265 yards and I just did not know what to say this is an amazing club and would recomend it to anyone

Customer Service

i recently broke the shaft on my 7 iron, so expecting it to be under warrenty and I was so right. I did not just get it back in only 4 days they put the new 2010 shaft and grip.

Similar Products Used: titleist 907D1
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Dick Driver   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 30, 2010]
Model Reviewed: TaylorMade Tour Burner

Bought this club from TM's "certified preowned" web site. Best driver I've ever hit. I consistantly hit a 260yd fade with my other drivers. Now, I hit 280+yd soft draws! (occasional hook, but that's because of the beer!) I've even hit a few 300yd drives!
If you hit a fade or slice, this club is for you. If not, be careful of the draw bias for this club. Look at TM's web site for details about club bias, then get the one that fits your game.

Customer Service

No issues!

Similar Products Used: Calaway X460 and others
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 42  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com