TaylorMade Mens R5 Dual Ti Fairway Woods

Available At:
Mens R5 Dual Ti

  • 2 permanent, widely spaced Taylormade Launch Control (TLC) cartridges providing an accurate
  • Neutral ball flight
  • Large, forgiving titanium head
  • Thin, fast clubface
  • Tip soft MAS graphite fairway shaft

User Reviews (21)

Showing 1-10 of 21  
Canuck Duffer   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 10, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made R5 3 wood

My seemingly never ending search for a 3 wood ended last week when FedEx delivered my R5 3wood. I've tested all the major brands, and this baby is head and shoulders above the rest. Although I had loved the club 3 yrs ago when it came out, I just couldn't justify spending that much on a fairway wood. But now, you can find one on ebay at a much more reasonable price. The titanium head is something to adjust to, but the results are undeniable. I played this past weekend, leaving the driver (R5 TP) at home. Off the tee this is an awesome weapon eg. uphill 452 yd par 4, my tee shot rested 2 yds past the 178 yd marker in the fairway-yeah that's right, the tee shot went 276 yds to an uphill fairway! I also found it very easy to hit consistently, no sky balls - which can be an issue with shallow faced woods. Off the deck this wood is perfect, easy to swing and the ball soared effortlessly. Here's the best part, it flies straight or even with a slight draw, eg. slight downhill lie on a par 5, I aimed left of the green at a tree expecting the usual slice/fade. The result was a dead straight arrow into the very tree I aimed at. I can't express how happy I am with this club. If you're looking for a 3wood, this is the club you need to get, and now it's available at a reasonable cost. Happy hunting for one.

Similar Products Used: Nike Sasquatch, Ping, Adams Redline, Cobra, Titleist, Callaway, TaylorMade Vsteel
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
jake   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 17, 2008]
Model Reviewed: taylor made r5 dual ti 3 wood

this is a great club i got it of ebay a couple of weeks ago for 12$ dollars witch is amazing.I can hit this club arround 290 and i am only 13 years old.one thing that isnt great thow is if you hit it of the heal or toe it will slice or hook and go like 60 to 80 yards.it was way worth it though for 12$ on ebay great deal.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Jeremy   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 24, 2007]
Model Reviewed: TaylorMade r7 460

I was looking for a little more consistancy off the tee (my distance is fine, I get plenty of power) I had been playing with the same clubs since I was 12 (19 now) and this club was exactly what I was looking for. The first night I got it I took it out to the range and was very pleased. I experimented with the draw or neutral setting and found that neutral was better for me, because I can hit a draw and need to occasionally hit a fade. Anyways, I took the club out to the course today and was even more pleased. I only missed a few fairways and usually only by 5-10 yards when I did. I was hitting consistantly over 300 yards and how driving the club pro (a very nice feeling) So yeah, great club!
I was also very happy with the price, got it as a used demo (still in great condition) for well under half price.

Customer Service

not needed

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Bruce   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 20, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made R5 fairway

Eerie as it may be, I'd been using a
TM 200 3W with an Irod for a few years. I
was completely happy with it. I had some
store credit so I took out an R5 3wood just to check it out. Its been in my bag for four months now and isn't going anywhere soon. Even easier to hit off the turf than the TM 200 and almost as long as my driver. Maybe I got lucky but
even the stock shaft in mine is usable.

Customer Service

Anytime I've called Taylor Made, they've
been great.

Similar Products Used: Cobra SS, Cleveland quadpro, TM 200
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Frank   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 20, 2007]
Model Reviewed: R5 TI 3W

This is almost eerie. I found myself reading the previous review as if it were exactly my personal experience. Been playing the TM 200 3W for five years and loved it. Then tried and bought the R5 TI. Htiing it straighter and longer (between 220-240) than the TM 200, and am not afraid of hitting it in the fairway anymore. Great club!

Customer Service

Used one and was happy with TaylorMade.

Similar Products Used: TM 200 3W
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
corey823   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 30, 2007]
Model Reviewed: TM R5 3 wood

I have never posted a review until now. I have been playing a TM 200 steel 3 wood for about 3 years. I love it and never really thought about a change. I received a gift certificate at a pro shop and I figured with all the hype, I would give the R5 a try. I hit it at the pro shop and it felt great. I had them order it from TM and within 2 wks., I had it. First time out on the course this year I could not believe the distance and accuracy. I could hit my 200 steel 210-220, with this club I am 230-240 and 25% more accurate. I have only used TM woods and this is a great example why. Great club and easy to hit!

Customer Service

Nothing for this particular club, but has been great in the past

Similar Products Used: TaylorMade 200 Steel 3 wood
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
gino   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 09, 2007]
Model Reviewed: R5 Five wood

I have been using this club off the tee on short par fours and this clubs titanium face is Hot.Very forgiving club that really keeps the ball on line.Im never getting rid of this club; it is so reliable.Im sure the R7 is great to , but the r5 is cheaper and who really needs all thet moveable weight stuff....once the club is set why would you need to mess with it.This club is awesome.

Customer Service

taylor made takes great care of their customers, in my case anyway.

Similar Products Used: ping rapture 3 wood, x hot callaway 3 wood(nice) shaft is too long though (45 inches),bobby jones 5 wood.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
ajordan9   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 22, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made R5 Dual 5 wood

Just picked up the R5 5-Wood and took it out tonight. I was set up with the proforce v2 and all I can say is haven't hit a bad one yet. I have a rescue fairway 3 wood that will get retired as soon as I can locate the 3 wood to match this. My home couse is tight and only allows for about 6 holes were driver is an option. This club will probably put my 4 iron on ice (my money club). Tonight I hit it on average 210 (great for me) and straight. I hit a R7 425 driver and at times on holes that I normally hit it I left it in the bag.

Good club (so far)

Customer Service

Called to get comparisons on r580xd, r5 XL (Dick's sporting goods) and the R5 Dual. Very helpful.

Similar Products Used: R580XD driver (retired), rescue mid 16 deg(can't hit), rescue fairway 3 wood (soon to be retired) R7 425
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
rezadue   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 20, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made R5 Dual 3 Wood

I saw this club as a demo at a local golf shop and bought it since it was priced so low. Am I ever glad I bought this club. I find it easy to hit off the deck or off a tee. It is forgiving and has an excellent trajectory. Depending on where I place the ball im my stance I can make it land soft or roll. And it hits a ton.

My previous 5W (Wilson Deep Red 2) only went 180 yards. With this club I am consistently in the 210 to 220 yard range with a couple of 230s in there (offf the deck). The Titanium face is pretty hot and this club has as much distance as my Tayloe Made 3W V-steel! I am considering replacinf my 3W with an R5 as well.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made V-Steel
Wilson Deep Red 2
Wilson 1200 Pro
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
GCduffer   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 10, 2006]
Model Reviewed: R5 Dual #3 wood

Recently purchased off of Ebay. I have played 4 rounds so far with this club. It's fitted with the NV reg shaft. I knew it would be great off the tee and I was right. The courses that I play are narrow & tree lined and I got this to keep it in the fairway. So far it hasn't let me down. Distance is great, I get a straight boring flight (shaft may also be responsible)Suprising to me, it is also easy to hit off of the deck. With this club,I just think smooth and easy and it takes off. No problem at all with getting it up. I shoot in the 80's on a consistent basis but it's been my short game that I excell in. I think this club will help me get my long game going. I play with some low handicappers and they were harping about the R5 being "to much of a game improvement" club. Until I let them hit it. They can turn it both ways and one of these "Titleist forever" guys is looking to get one.(not mine)I can't fade or hook on a at will basis yet but long and straight works for me.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Callaway big bertha 2004, Cobra SZ, steelhead III
and Orlimar
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 21  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com