TaylorMade R7 TP Irons

Available At:
R7 TP

» A tour-caliber player's iron targeted at tour pros and low handicappers seeking workability along with consistent yardage from shot to shot - even on mis-hits

» Inverted Cone Technology expands the COR zone for increased average ball speed for consistently greater distance

» Minimal offset and flatter lie angle give players with tour-caliber hand action maximum control over direction and trajectory

» Classic TaylorMade TP iron shaping delivers an authentic, tour-proven look that promotes confidence at address

» Shallow cavity creates a higher CG, making it easier to work the ball left, right, high and low

» Tour-configured sole incorporates a specially-ground leading edge and softened trailing edge that discourages digging and glides smoothly through turf

» Dynamic Gold steel shaft delivers an unparalleled combination of control and feel, and is available in R, S and X flexes

» TaylorMade logo Tour Velvet® grip delivers tour-proven performance and the perfect combination of traction, comfort and feel

User Reviews (61)

Showing 1-10 of 61  
Gene Pozniakoff   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 22, 2013]
Model Reviewed: R7 TP

Having grown up on blades,Ben Hogan Apex irons, I thought long and hard before I decided to change irons. I never did like the offset of the Ping, Callaway, Nike or TaylorMade irons. Then I saw a set of TaylorMade R7tp irons. There is virtually no offset with these clubs. Even the 3 and 4 irons, which are supposed to have some offset, have little or none that I can see. And a clean, thin top line gave me the look that I knew when comparing them to the Apex irons. They came with Dynamic Gold S300 shafts, similar to the Apex 4's in my Hogans. Swing weight felt similar as did overall weight. Taking them to the course was a thrill. I was hitting them 5 - 10 yds longer than the Apex irons, with a slight draw on the shot. Trajectory was higher and feel was about the same. They did not have a dead spot on the face as did the Apex irons on off center hits. I will say that I can't seem to hit a fade or slice with them as I could with the Apex irons. They are easy to draw or hook when needed. I have to be careful when I'm under trees as there trajectory is much higher and they don't seem to like being played too far back in my stance. I did eventually find an R7tp SW and just today I purchased an R7tp AW off of EBay. I believe that they will complete my club purchases for a long time to come.

Customer Service

None needed.

Similar Products Used: Ben Hogan Apex RedLine Ping Eye 2, Ping iSi Callaway X20 Spalding Dot
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Shane B   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 06, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade R7 TP

I bought these irons 2 thru pitching wedge because I wanted to try more of a players iron. I have never hit irons better than I do these. My 2 iron is probably the straightest iron in my bag. With most sets I struggle with the 4 iron. I usually only have time to play 9 holes. With these irons in my bag, I am shooting scores in the 30's. I shot a 37 my third time out. I LOVE these irons. It is so easy to square the face.

Customer Service

Haven,t used.

Similar Products Used: Big berthas, Cobra S9 and SZ, Callaway diablo forged and Ping Eye 2's.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Wolfgang414   Shoots in the 80s [May 19, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Tp r7 irons

I don't write reviews but just played with these and really like them. I
play s59's, but wanted to try these. I found them on the bay with x100's and they rock. If you are a 10 or under give these a try they are forgiving and workable. I was surprised how well off center strikes carried. Can be had for cheap and are worth
trying.

Customer Service

Have not used.

Similar Products Used: S59's, nickent 3dx pro, bridgestone j36 combo,
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Joe   Shoots in the 90s [May 15, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade R7 TP

I recieved a set of Taylormade R7's with ProjectX6.5 shafts. I was worried the shafts are alittle stiff but I took the clubs out to the range yesterday and hit them alongside my MP60 with PX5.0 shafts and wow what a difference the R7 made. They are more forgiving as I tried to make bad strikes and wanted to test what others have said about still gaining decent distance on poor strikes. The I was able to hit very consistent shots and even work a draw. I am still in my first year of golf but I really like the feel of this set and will put it in my bag for my next round of golf.

Customer Service

None

Similar Products Used: Mizuno MP32 and MP60
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
DonJuan2120   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 27, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade R7 irons

I'm not one to write reviews, but the R7s are exactly what I've needed for my game. I've earnestly tried to find a better iron for the past couple of years and have yet to find one that compares the the R7. Here's my honest review:

The R7 falls right in the middle of the irons spectrum: 50% forgiveness 50% workability. Although you sacrifice feedback for forgiveness and shot shape for consistency, you gain a vital aspect of your iron play: confidence.

Now, for those who have said to have gained 10-15 yards over your old clubs, here the simple explanation to it: loft. The loft of your 5 iron (say Titleist 762s) is 27*. The R7 6 iron has a loft of 28*. So, logically, your r7 6 iron will go the length of your old 762 5 iron.

Bottom line, will these clubs give you tremendous feedback? Nope. Will they allow you to work the ball at will? No. What the R7s will do is give you some workability, some forgiveness, and a whole lot of confidence. And again, confidence is what allows low scores to happen.

Similar Products Used: Titleist AP1, Cleveland CG7, Nike VR Cavity/Pro Combo, Callaway X-20 Tour, and pretty much every other club, new and old, on the market.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Kidfixer   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 17, 2010]
Model Reviewed: TaylorMade R7 TP irons

Picked up a used, mint-condition set of these at my local Edwin Watts (3-PW). Previous to these I was using 1990's Callaway Big Bertha irons. I was considering the Mizuno MP60's, but I absolutely love my TM Burner Superfast driver and I wanted to try a set of their irons. I demo'd the 2009 Burner irons and I liked them very much, but I wanted to go with more of a "players" iron. Since I'm not ready for a muscle back blade I thought these would be a good choice. Although these play like a forged iron, they are VERY forgiving!! The first thing I noticed was increased distance ...after 4 rounds of getting familiar with them I started to see VAST improvement in my game, and yesterday I broke 80 for the first time in my life!!

I think these will be staying in my bag for a long time to come!!

Customer Service

N/A...so far.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
quailgolfer   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 10, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade R7

I read reviews on taylormades, mizunos, callaways, and just about every other quality club made. After comparing apples to apples I decided on the R7s. They hit great as long as you do your job. Everyone says they hit farther than their old set. Well I did some research. These clubs are sold 4-AW. They are the same lofts as older 3-PW sets. Hence your 8 iron is really a 7 iron that's why they seem to go farther. that being said they do hit great. long and straight. workable and have a good launch angle. I really love these irons. The only reason I don't give them 5 stars is because it takes some getting used to the lofts being stronger than normal.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Joseph Lopatynski   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 01, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made r7 irons

These irons have a very good feel when striking the ball. The ball tends to leap off the clubface. I have picked up 10 to 15 yards with each club compared to my old irons. Miss hits tend to go far and straight also.
Great value for the price!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
famousdavis   Scratch Golfer [Oct 23, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade R7 TP Irons

I'm a true scratch golfer in the sense that I almost never shoot over par and I'm probably the best ballstriker in the state. The pro let me demo a set of the R7 TP irons because he knows I'm the best in the club and values my feedback. These irons feel solid but they aren't good enough for my game. They send the ball too high and the feeling is a bit sloshy. I differ from the general population of golfers in that I have a keen sense for a good feeling club. Suffice to say I'm better than anyone else who's reviewed this club.

Customer Service

I'm sure they try

Similar Products Used: Used them all and I hit them all great but only because of my swing.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
3
t.carter13   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 08, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade r7 irons

These clubs are great. I got these clubs a couple of weeks ago and have played about 5 rounds with them. I'm not saying that I hit it straighter that has not that much to do with the clubs, it's the swing, but they did add distance. With my old irons i hit my 7 iron about 155, now I hit it about 165-170. Great club, very forgiving. I love these clubs and suggest them to anyone looking to upgrade and game improvement clubs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 61  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com