TaylorMade RAC LT2 Irons

Available At:
RAC LT2

  • RAC channels impact vibration
  • Investment cast soft stainless steel clubheads
  • Better centre-of-gravity
  • Lower Trajectory

User Reviews (57)

Showing 1-10 of 57  
Mike   Shoots in the 70s [Jan 03, 2009]
Model Reviewed: RAC LT2

Have been golfing for 10 years & owned lots of irons, but these irons are the best so far. Good distance, easy to work the ball right to left, etc. and nice weighting (can feel the club in the backswing). I am completely satisfied with these irons. They have helped me shave my handicap by several strokes

Customer Service

Excellent. Had several of the medallions fall off and all were replaced free of charge by Taylormade

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Jonas   Shoots in the 70s [Nov 21, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made RAC LT2

I've played with these irons for three seasons now and I will never change clubs again. My play is much more predictable with these irons than any other and this year was the first ever when I averaged under 80 shots per round. I broke par twice this season, which has never happened before and I've left my driver at home several times since I don't need it with me when playing these irons.
I've got the TM T-step professional, 110 gr stiff shafts and they are by far the best I've used. The ball rockets away from the clubface and hang in the air forever before "landing like a butterfly with sore feet", like some of the famous old golfers used to put it.
I used to play around forty-fifty rounds per year some years back, but since we got two children the time for golf is somewhat limited. I therefore let go of my TM 300 Forged to find some more forgiving irons, but it wasn't until over a year later that I found the LT's. Since then I've stopped looking for something else. Also, I never thought I'd play with anything else than forged irons, but these are so much easier to hit and perform on a completely different level when hit perfectly aswell as on less perfect ones. The insert on the back of the club does its job as intended, giving less vibration and a soft feel.
I would recommend them to almost anyone since they're forgiving aswell as performing. Many people I've played with have also commented on how good-looking the irons are. It's a good feeling to know that the guy you're playing against is looking at your irons wishing he had the same or thinking about replacing his present set of clubs with the ones you have.
That's the kind of impact these clubs have had on my game. Hopefully they'll perform for others aswell.

Customer Service

On previous occasions I have never had reasons to complain.

Similar Products Used: TM: 300 Forged, Firesole Tour, RAC Combo.
Callaway: X14, X20, X tour. (Just tested.)
Mizuno: T-zoid pro.
Spalding/Top Flite: Tour edition, the one with the muscle bar on the back.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Zac   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 02, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Rac LT 2

I recently sold my RAC OS irons that I've been playing for 4 seasons. I went to the LT2's because I wanted more of a player's set but didn't want to get blades. I had a little trouble the first time out with them, as I hit a more noticeable draw with them. After a few holes I straightened out my swing and hit a beautiful subtle draw with every iron. They are everything I imagined they would be. I'm a club longer with every iron and even miss hits go straight and long.

They are definitely a step up from the Rac OS irons and I would only recommend them to a 15 and under handicap player. It is very easy to shape shots when you want to with these irons. They also feel and sound amazing when you make that perfect contact.

Oh yeah, I picked these up brand new still in the factory plastic and box on Ebay for 299.99, what a steal!!!

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made Rac OS
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
gofore59   Shoots in the 80s [May 24, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade lt 2

I picked up a set of LT 2 irons and traded in my Mizuno MP 30 irons. I got standard length and DG S300 shafts. I must say I really like the way these clubs look (very confidence inspiring) and like the forgiveness. I now have to decide whether to keep them or trade them for the Mizuno MX 25 irons. I tried the MX 25s at the range with my LTs and the LTs definitley do not have the buuuttteeerrr feel of the forged Mizunos (my old MP 30s and the MX 25s). Distance, flight, etc. all seemed similar... Overall I must say I really like these irons and think the forgiveness will bring my scores down...

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Eddie Meagher   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 08, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Rac LT2

Just trades these irons for my old RAC OS irons and i couldnt be happier. Im a 15 year old kid who doesnt really hit the ball a rediculously long way. I play to about a 6 handicap because of my accuracy and my short game. I can honestly say that you can go PINSEEKING with these irons. You just aim and fire. Although these sticks are supposed to help you keep the ball low they have a normal trajectory. My swing speed is about a 92 and i havent had any trouble hitting the ball high if i have to. If you are looking for the ultimate blend of feel and forgiveness... BUY THESE!

Customer Service

No problems

Similar Products Used: RAC OS 2005
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
James R   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 16, 2007]
Model Reviewed: LT2

These are amazing.

Ive never hit more greens in my life. Distance control is a breese, and the sweet spot feels huge. I like the reduced offset.

When I bought these I was a 18 HCap, now in down to a 13

Customer Service

not used

Similar Products Used: Cleveland TA6
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
d2mato   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 04, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade LT2's

Love these irons! Re-shafted to Precision Flights 5.0 with Winn Excel Midsize grips (+1/16"). I too think that LT (low trajectory) is deceiving as the ball flight and distance is awesome, soft landing and workable draw and fade at will.

Demo'd the new TM RAC TP's and RAC TP MB's and frankly, I'll keep these!

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Tommy Armour 845's and Nickent 3DX Irons
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
pagolf92   Shoots in the 80s [May 29, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made rac LT2 stock steel reg.

Taylor Made has definitely designed an excellent set of irons with these rac LT2s. They have the traditional look of an accomplished player's club with some slight forgiveness added. Very minimal offset allows for moderate workability to both the left and right. Only complaint may be the very light steel shaft. Other than that, highly recommended!

Customer Service

Not needed.

Similar Products Used: rac OS2, Mizuno MX-23, Titleist 804.OS
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
cresleypierce   Shoots in the 80s [May 24, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade RAC LT2

My game had slipped from the low 80's to the low 90's and I did not have time to practice. I loved my Titleist DCI 962 irons. The first time I hit the TM LT2 irons I ran from them. But later returned and purchased them. My score has dropped back down due to hitting more greens and staying on the green due to the higher angle coming in. The best thing about these irons so that I do not build my game to high is that I can play a great round from my MISS HITS!

Customer Service

Great

Similar Products Used: Taylormade OS2, Cleveland CG4
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Bringbackbalata   Scratch Golfer [May 13, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade Rac LT2

I was looking for a good looking and forgiving player's club" to move to after losing the time necessary to keep my game in shape for the last couple of years. These irons delivered. I played to a plus 2 at one point, and even though I can only play once or twice a week now, these irons have restored alot of the confidence I used to have in my iron play. Their blade length is a little longer than a standard blade, but they are a very traditional looking club (I've played Titleist and Founders Club blades and these compare favorably, but the top line is not as thin).

The best thing about these irons, however, is that if you are a relatively solid ball striker, you'll have a very hard time missing them. They go straight when you want, and with a wider sole they handle a broader variety of lies than a traditional bladed iron. You can work them and knock them down well too. The trajectory is about 10 ft. higher than a true blade, making the LT designation a little misleading, but I'd rather be able to knock down a club that can be hit high in the air than not be able to hit it high in the first place.

These are fine clubs, and I'd recommend them to any good player looking for a more friendly set of irons. You'll enjoy scoring again.

Customer Service

No need.

Similar Products Used: Titleist 690MB, Founders Club blades, Precept Tour Premium Blades.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 57  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com