TaylorMade Supersteel Irons

Supersteel

Price per club/bubble shaft; $90 per club steel shafts

User Reviews (120)

Showing 1-10 of 120  
Travis   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 29, 2017]

I bought these clubs back in 2000 and have never used any others. I have the 3 thru pw, and they are a great club. I don't play much, but when I do these clubs hit well.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Breeeze   Shoots in the 80s [May 11, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made Super Steel


I've had these clubs so long I can't remember when I got them, maybe 20+ years and I have never felt the need or desire to change them. Unlike drivers, fairway woods and putters of which I have had many, these irons have never left me wanting something different. If there's something better in an iron, I can't quite imagine what it would be. I hit them all 3 thru PW dead straight and with plenty of length ( 3 iron > 210 yds, 8 iron, sometimes 7 is my 150 club, and I just love the wedge. I have so much confidence in the long irons, I rarely pull the fairway metal, which I'm much more likely to mess up.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
sliderace   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 09, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade supersteel

Hello fellow golf nutz, i just wanted to write this review for the Taylormade supersteel irons, This summer will be my third season using these irons.
My wife gave me the credit card to buy new irons for this season (must have been a good boy), But out of all the irons that i have demoed in the last 2 summers i just cannot give up the supersteels yet, I paid about $150.00 for this set of irons,I have the riflesteel S-90 shafts in and the control, spin, shot shaping ability, over all distance is incredible.
I've resently purchased a groove sharpener and now the irons are like new again" ie; be extremely careful with the sharpener if you use the expensive golf balls...balls don't take to sharp grooves very well.
I must add that I'm 50 years old my swing has slowed down abit but, these irons more than make up for my slower swing speed, therefore beginner, or old pro, give these irons a try I'm sure they will more than pay for themselves.
alittle something for all you young cocky guys out there, BE CAREFUL!!, cause there maybe an old fart with TAYLORMADE SUPERSTEEL irons out there that may just come along and take your cash and raise your handicap a few noches, you never know...fairways and greens Thumper.

Customer Service

none needed

Similar Products Used: ping karsten IV, titleist DCI (black).
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
ap229   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 10, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made Supersteel

Bought these clubs last week because I wanted grafite shafts. I was pleasantly surprised.They are about 1/2 to a full club longer for me. Being an older (62) and new golfer (1) year I thought the smaller head would be hard to hit but has not been a problem. Feels like the club head speed is much faster.Have played two rounds and have averaged 95,so I am well pleased so far. Will try to do an update when I have played a few rounds. Bought these at a reasonable price.

Customer Service

not needed

Similar Products Used: Wilson Tour RX, Callaway Great Big Bertha
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
L4you2   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 07, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made Super Steel

I have this set now for almost 9 years and every day I still love them. I just bought a set of Nike Blades, the one Tiger is using and I have to say the difference is not that big. With the super steel it's very easy for me to get a 170 yards distance with my 8-iron and I grip them short. With the Nike Blades I have to put more effort to get this distance. I think I can really boost my play with the Nike Irons, because they give me more feedback on how I hit the ball. Last weekend I played with my supersteel and firesoles and I still have a big smile on my face.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Chad   Shoots in the 70s [Feb 27, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made Super Steel

I switched to the Taylor Made Super Steel irons from the King Cobra 2 oversized 2 years ago. A friend won them in a bet and after I hit them he never got them back I play every round with them and who ever says you can not work a ball with them is a bold face lier. They are a soild unforgiving club. When you hit a bad shot you can feel it and when you hit a good shot you know it off the face. I recommend the Super Steel irons to any beginner they are sweet.

Similar Products Used: Super Steel Knock offs
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
sthorpe1   Shoots in the 70s [Jan 03, 2007]
Model Reviewed: TM Supersteel

The Supersteel irons are an excellent value, and very good starter set for any golfer, or someone who thinks they may take up this great game. I played the Supersteels for 3 years, after having given up golf for 12 years while my kids were little. I have since went to the classic Mizuno MP-30. The Supersteels are much more forgiving, but don't provide the feel, feed back and workablility of the Mizuno forged irons. Overall, the Supersteels are actually better for most players because of their superior forgiveness, and you can work them if you really need to. So, unless you think you can learn to work the ball like a PGA tour player, stick with a solid cast cavity back, like the TM Supersteels.

Customer Service

Never used.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno MP33, Mizuno MP-30, Callaway X-18 PS (great balance of forginess and workability)
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
PhantomII   Shoots in the 90s [Dec 05, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made Supersteel

These were my first set of real named brand clubs, before these I was using the knock off version of this model. I always hit them pretty good and I enjoyed the nice high arc and good distance I got when making good swings, a bad swing usually resulted in a stung hand and poor distance, so thankfully I made more good shots than bad. The best things about these clubs is how the address with the ball they have a little alighnment line on the face right at the edge that makes lining up the ball a snap, the other nice thing about these clubs is they are made to easily get the ball airborne. I ended up selling my set to one of my golf buddies who wanted to move up from his wal-mart Wilsons and the first time he played them he was just smiling the whole day, he said he'd never known that buying a good set of clubs would have made that much of a difference. He asked me why I sold them to him and after he took a swing with my new Taylormade 360's he understood right away. I would say these clubs are great for someone starting out and want a name brand club at a great price, I had many good years of play from these and would recommend them to anyone.

Customer Service

I got em on E-Bay but the seller was excellent.

Similar Products Used: Taylormade Super Steel Knock Offs
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
KP1   Shoots in the 90s [Nov 04, 2006]
Model Reviewed: TaylorMade SuperSteel

These are a good set of irons. I wouldn't use them on the PGA tour, but you can play good solid golf with these clubs. I play using the 2 thru PW, (the wedges to this set are poor) and with a good swing can put the ball on target. The distance is acceptable; 150 to 155 using a 5 iron (R80 Rifle Percision shafts).
The materials used in the SuperSteel clubs make them very hard therefore somewhat lacking in feel. A poorly hit ball will be felt through your hands and arms. All in all I would say these are good clubs for the weekend player working on improving his or her game but at the time trynig to stay away from the higher know for TaylorMade products price tags.

Customer Service

Never had to use them

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
bvozar1   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 27, 2005]
Model Reviewed: taylor made super steel with rifle shafts

I have a set for sale just bought a set off ebay and I got a new set of calaway for xmas I paid 242.50 plus 20 for shiping if u want them chuck just get a hold of me at bvozar1@yahoo.com

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 120  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com