TaylorMade RAC TP Wedges

Available At:
RAC TP

Developed on tour, the RAC Black TP sole is ground low on the trailing edge allowing more versatility to play high, soft chips and pitches. A C-Grind sole and radiused leading edge make it possible to hit an extraordinary wide variety of approach and greenside shots without digging and with only a single bounce configuration.

User Reviews (17)

Showing 1-10 of 17  
golfer7890   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 23, 2008]
Model Reviewed: RAC TP Satin lob wedge

I was looking forward to receiving this wedge, unfortunately I was disappointed. The clubface was larger than expected. The feel is good, not as soft as a carbon steel wedge, but still soft. I have to adjust too much to this club. The RAC TP does not feel natural in the hands, and I have to alter my swing to hit this wedge. Also, I dont understand why it costs $10 than other wedges. Looks like were paying for Taylormade brand image and marketing again.

Customer Service

Not very responsive with emails.

Similar Products Used: Vokey Spin milled (performs similar to my German-made Wusthof knife), CG14 (easy to use and forgiving), 588.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
3
Available At:
Sogrente   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 26, 2008]
Model Reviewed: TP Satin wedge 52° and 65°

I get that beauties from ebay... both for 100 euro.
The wedges are very eye pleasant. I like the look and the shape of the clubhead.
The feeling is very soft and the length controll is absolutely amazing. I use the 52° for shots with 1-2 metres roll and the 56° stopps right at the impact point. Shots from around 60-80 metres you can easily backspin the ball.The grooves do a good job.
These are great wedges in every point. I used them now for half a year and they look absolutely new.
Overall great wedges... i like them better than the titleist vokey wedges. More spin und controll.
Only the regular price is a bit high. If you can get them cheap in ebay, buy them.
I will play them till they die!!!

Similar Products Used: Titleist Vokey, Mizuno MP, Cleveland 900,
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
manowar   Shoots in the 70s [Aug 20, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made TP Wedge

These are fantastic wedges. I have the 60 degree smoke finish with Z grooves. The club looks very appealing at address and has a good stock shaft/weight configuration. The grooves are very nice and allow a player to control spin easily. I can actually spin the ball from 15 yards again.

The downside of this wedge is durability. When it was brand new I took it the course practice facility and hit about 15 or so sand shots. The bottom of the sole immediatelly wore down and the finish was completelly gone. Also the milled grooves dissappeard from the bottom 2 grooves. I think if I were to hit a small bucket of balls from the bunker, the tiny groove millings on the club face would be completelly worn off!

After two weeks of playing the wedge, it has a lot of dings and dents from just sitting in the golf bag. I use a 3-wheel push cart which doesn't bounce around much at all.

So overall the durability is not great. It's a very expensive club that appears that it will wear out in less than a season. I've only played 4 rounds or so with this club and it looks like it's a year old at least. I'm a person who takes excellent care of clubs too. My Nike blade irons still look brand new after more than 3 years of playing them.

Similar Products Used: Cleveland CG10
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
meowmixer   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 23, 2008]
Model Reviewed: rac 60* black tp

simply amazing!
This was the second club that I fell in love with. The first being my 3 wood,(cobra sz) this wedge leaves me speechless. I spent many hours on the practice green learning how to control its distance and different types of shots and then I was ready. My first round I immediately noticed its awesomeness. It stopped when I wanted it to, and ran when I wanted it to. Without a doubt this is one of the highlight clubs in my bag. If you are clueless on wedge choice, give this one a shot. Make sure you keep the grooves clean from grass and dirt, or else you won't get the stoppage you wish.

Customer Service

no need, bought from ebay new

Similar Products Used: titleist vokey spin milled, taylormade rac, cleveland cg10,12,14
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Eggs   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 29, 2007]
Model Reviewed: TM RAC Black TP 56*

A mate of mine had a couple of these and raved about them so at TM demo day, after trying some of the 2007 drivers and irons, which I wasn't that impressed with, I picked up the 52* wedge and causally took aim at a flag 100 yards away.
Straight away this wedge just worked in my hands. I was very impressed and more than a little surprised - I had no idea it would feel like this!
I neither know nor care about the funky grooves, 'feel pockets' or whatever else TM claim to reinvented golf with this week, to me this is simply an excellent wedge that has reinvigorated my short game. I have tried Vokeys (as posted by another reviewer in Nov '05, theese seemed to lack feel and just didn't really work for me) and Mizuno wedges but for me this is head and shaft above them all.
I have always been a decent chipper although recently I had lost some sharpness. Using this club I have got it all back and more. Yesterday I made 5 chips to within 15 inches during a competition, something I would have struggled to do before I put this wedge into play. Whatever I've tried to do with it, I've almost always been able to pull off.
One thing that really surprised me is that this is not a forged wdege but cast (ahem!) you preconceptions aside, none of the feel and control is missing. This is a great club and I'm actually considering buying a spare. Not cheap but many of the best things never are.
I would also like to point out that I am not a great TaylorMade fan, quite the opposite. Although I have carried a TM 3wood for a couple of years, I'm not keen on the way they incessantly bring out new clubs that seem to be no better than those they retire despite claims to the contrary!
HOWEVER, credit where credit's due, TM; this wedge really is quality.

Customer Service

Not used.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno Comp EZ and MP-T Black Ni; Snake Eyes 650W-PM and 655TM; demo'd some Vokeys and others.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Stirling   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 16, 2006]
Model Reviewed: 52 - 08, 60 - 06

Do yourself a favour and get these two to go with your pitching wedge! The 52 with 8 bounce is a club that saves me strokes, round after round. I rarely ever 2 putt after playing this wedge from inside 60 yards, and often chip in from around the green. Outside of 60 yards I use my set PW (Titleist 690.CB)
The Black 60 - 06 completes the toolkit for parachute lobs over bunkers, chipping downhill or to tight pin positions. Out of sand I use either Black wedge with great results.
Beautiful black satin finish. Dry these immediately and oil after a rainy round to avoid unnecessary rust on these guns.

Customer Service

Not required.

Similar Products Used: Current set:
Taylor Made R7 Quad 8.5 TS 47" shaft interchanging with Callaway Great Big Bertha ll 415+ in 9 degree with 46" Aldila NV 65-S 350.
Callaway Big Bertha 3+ firm shaft
Callaway Great Big Bertha ll 5 wood firm
Titleist 503-H utilities 19 and 22
Titleist 690.CB 5 - PW
Wilson 8868 putter
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Matthieu06   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 21, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Rac TP

I used to play three different irons. 52* Cleveland 900 RTG, 57* Hogan Forged Special and a 60* Callaway Forged. Don't ask me why but I wanted to change the whole thing and just get some new wedges. My dad had recently bought Rac TP's so I had the chance to try them a few times. I liked them so I decided to buy a set. (Maybe I should of went with the Callaways)

First the feel isn't all that great compared to the Hogan and Callaway.

Secondly, the Y grooves are really hard on balls and I'm not getting more back spin than with my old wedges...

Finally the quality of the clubs...I'm not sure. There are rust spots that have formed on the clubface and in the grooves. (And believe me, I take care of my clubs) I sent an email to Taylor Made to know if it's normal and I haven't had a response yet.

Similar Products Used: Ben Hogan Special Wedge Forged
Callaway Forged Vintage
Cleveland 900 RTG
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
Mward2002   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 16, 2006]
Model Reviewed: 52.08 and 56.12

All around great wedges. Easy to play high soft shots, low spinner shots, bunker shots, and just all around green side shots. If you have trouble getting a ball to check up around the green, these wedges will help you out considerably. They can't guarantee you a shot that will back up X amount of feet when they hit the green, but they will help you get a ball to settle down on a decently struck shot.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
solerpower   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 18, 2006]

this club is good, but not amazing. the grooves are bigger than normal, but are they the biggest most amazingly giant grooves, no. the face is milled which helps improve spin, but it still isnt something where you'll put it back from 20 yards. if you read some of the taylor made details on the club, the grooves put 300 rpm's more spin on the ball. WOW. you normally put 10,000 rpms of spin, whats 300 gonna do for you, not much. its a good wedge, it really is, however if your problom is spin with a wedge, take a class before you by this wedge, its all about the swing, not the wedge. if you hit the ball right, all wedges will spin it back. all in all, good wedge, and if i had to buy a wedge again, it would be this one. if you need a wedge, get this

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
DrNo6425   Scratch Golfer [May 18, 2006]
Model Reviewed: rac black tp 54

This club is great i love the y cutter grooves i can spin it back so much and its really easy to contrl how much spin to put on it. I never had spin out of the bunker now i do. A lot of people would probably not buy it because of the term TP yet all it is, is a little plastic emblym that looks badass. The reason im giving this a 4 for value is because of the price i feel i paid 30 bucks for the TP. Any way i totally recomend it to any handicap.

Customer Service

just golfsmith but i don't like them.

Similar Products Used: vokey, mizuno
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 17  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com