Titleist DCI 962B Irons

DCI 962B

User Reviews (35)

Showing 1-10 of 35  
bjdrivers   Shoots in the 70s [Nov 01, 2006]
Model Reviewed: DCI 962B Sensicore Stiff

Love these irons. Nice, traditional setup, awesome workability and excellent feedback. Under $200 on ebay. Pwnzor!!

Customer Service

Didn't use

Similar Products Used: dci 990
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
carp130   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 13, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Titleist 962B

I have been using Callaway's X-14 for the past four years. The callaway's are good clubs, but my score has not improve and that is frustrating. I decide to go for a change and try some blade like clubs. Clubs that I can control trajectory and shape, but I also didn't want to spend alot of money on some blades because I have never hit a blade. Read some reviews on this website and decided on the 962B's. I have only played one round, and I can see that I made a great choice. They feel great...they are workable, and most of all they were playable. I knew I could get under the limb and over or around the tree. They basically did what I wanted. I always have problems with par 3's, and I tell myself that if I can lower my par 3 score then I could shave about five strokes of the card, and for the first time ever...I was even on the par 3's.

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used: Callaway X-14.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
carp130   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 13, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Titleist 962B

I have been using Callaway's X-14 for the past four years. The callaway's are good clubs, but my score has not improve and that is frustrating. I decide to go for a change and try some blade like clubs. Clubs that I can control trajectory and shape, but I also didn't want to spend alot of money on some blades because I have never hit a blade. Read some reviews on this website and decided on the 962B's. I have only played one round, and I can see that I made a great choice. They feel great...they are workable, and most of all they were playable. I knew I could get under the limb and over or around the tree. They basically did what I wanted. I always have problems with par 3's, and I tell myself that if I can lower my par 3 score then I could shave about five strokes of the card, and for the first time ever...I was even on the par 3's.

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used: Callaway X-14.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Macca   Shoots in the 70s [Nov 25, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Titleist 962B

Aye aye! I bought a set of Titleist 962B irons about 3-4 years ago, can't remember! Anyway, they were a one-off offer at the Kings Links Golf Centre in Aberdeen, Scotland. They only had one set, think I paid either £300 or £400, reckon it was £300. They were brand new and the shop had only one-set. Thought the price looked too good to be true to be honest! Anyway, I used them off an 8 handicap for 3 years then last year all of a sudden my game clicked and I managed to get down from 8.4 to a 5.2 handicap. The long irons are not very forgiving and have little, if no, margin for error. I love the short-irons. I find that if I haven't played for a while, my ball striking suffers badly because of this, however, if I'm playing day in day out, the irons are great, and I begin to get into the swing of things and start really using them well!! I wouldn't recommend them for the higher handicap golfer, I reckon they take quite a skilled player (no comment!!) to use them for maximum effect. As I said they are not the most forgiving, however, if you are playing well, there is no better feeling that hitting one right out the middle, and i was fortunate to have a really good season this year! You get absolutely fantastic feel and control with the short irons around the greens, although with the longer irons, I maybe compensate by using a wood, when I could really and should really have hit a 3 iron. I really have to be playing well with confidence before I can hit a solid 3 iron!!! Overall, really top clubs! 25/11/04

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
medic170979   Shoots in the 70s [Feb 20, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Titleist 962b 2-PW

At the time of purchase, which was the 2nd year they came out, I was a 2 handicap and #1 player on my high school team. I had been playing the original Taylor Made forged blades and loved them, however they were so old they were getting worn out. I never thought I'd settle for a cast iron let alone a cavity back, but at address you could have fooled me that this club wasn't a blade. These clubs have all the beauty and luster of a true players iron at address, but they also provide somethign my blades never would. Since graduating from high school and college, and now having to work a real job, I don't golf everyday like I did in school and thus my handicap has disintegrated to a 9, but these irons haved treated me well throughout. I've now discovered that not only are they pretty and workable like blades, they offer the forgiveness of a cavity back. Now I'm not proclaiming these to be as easy to hit as an oversize head, but they provide an excellent balance of all things one looks for in an iron. I'd recomend these to any golfer from 15 handicap down to a scratch, but good luck finding a set anymore. (unless you can find one of us lucky ones to sell them to you!) Oh by the way, mine are 1/4" long and 1 degree strong in the loft to help me keep my ball flight lower.

Customer Service

I had one heck of a time getting my "Custom Built for" labels from Titleist, but the clubs turned out just fine minus the labels. They eventually shipped them and no problems since.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno MP-Grad 2-PW, Taylor Made Blades 2-PW
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
jon   Shoots in the 90s [Nov 06, 2002]

I've played the 962b irons for about six months. It took a little while to get used to them, but I hit the ball much more consistent than before. I would recommend these irons to anyone wanting to improve their game. I went from shooting in the 110's to consistent 90's in about six months.1

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Alfred Wong   Shoots in the 90s [Nov 01, 2002]
Model Reviewed: Titleist 962B

This is the best non-forged, non/leastoffset cavity backed blade that I've come across. Feel is extremely nice, almost forged like. When pured/dialed, the trajectory and direction is missle like. I have these heads fitted to Royal Precision UCV 2000 shafts & GP Tour Velvet Lite grips, Swingwtg D1. Initially intimidated with small headsize and thin bevelled sole, after a few rounds, these work more as virtues instead of woes - aids impact propulsion which is very powerful & satisfying. Looks like they will be keepers in my bag for a while. Hard toss bet'n my Golden Ram and 962B.

Similar Products Used: Golden Ram Ram Fx Pro-set Hogan Edge
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
sean   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 10, 2002]
Model Reviewed: titleist 962b

these clubs are great i am going to the driving range regularly to practice and each time they are improving my game.Being titleist i thought they would be like blades but when i tried them out they are brilliant,awesome i love my irons they just make u feel like ur off scratch even though i am off 25

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
johnr57   Shoots in the 90s [May 02, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 962B

Not the most forgiving club to hit. However, this club has allowed me to concentrate better at hitting through the sweet spot. I disagree with people who thinks that this club is for low handicappers only. Once you get used to hitting this club you may not want to hit another club. I can shape my shots now, something I could not do well with mu old 845s. The 762s are a good replacement but who''s got the money.

Customer Service

didn''t have to deal with them

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made ICW11, Lynx Parallax, Armour 845s
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Neil Wright   Scratch Golfer [May 02, 2002]
Model Reviewed: Titleist 962B

I found these irons very workable when playing both a draw and a fade and are very rewarding for a smooth strike but i found that slightly miss hit shots gets punished by a slight distance loss. These irons wouldn''t really suit a high handicapper and were definately designed for a category 1 player. Overall good irons but not the best in the Titleist series.

Similar Products Used: The irons i play are very similar to these i swear by the earlier 962 model they are much more rewarding and very easy to use, defiantely handy for those customized shots.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 35  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com