Titleist DCI 981 Irons

DCI 981

User Reviews (139)

Showing 1-10 of 139  
Rick   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 24, 2015]
Model Reviewed: titleist dci 981 irons

I've played about every iron known to man. The TITLEIST DCI 981 are the best. The feel of these irons are superb. I have gained a club in distance using this set with Tri-spec stiff shafts.I really do prefer the 981 they are very forgiving and accurate.I also have a set of dci 762 which are a great set but I prefer the 981.

Similar Products Used: Callaway RAZR tour,Hogan edge pro,Cobra forged,
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
blair   Scratch Golfer [Mar 14, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Titleist dci 981 irons

These irons are great im a pro and for my game they were great clubs for the money i had these for about 5 years they can be hard to play if your playing bad but tht might just be me

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
im4indiana   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 16, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Titleist 981 irons

I picked up a set of these on Ebay for around $100. I played with a set of Titleist Acushnet AC108 irons back in high school. Once I got out on the range and hit a few shots, I couldn't believe how straight and true these irons were, even for being about 10-12 years old. Ball flight was consistent and the club has a huge sweetspot. I usually hit a 7 iron in the range of 150 yards and was flying this 7 iron in the 160 yard range. Looking forward to getting out and playing a few rounds with these clubs. Recently had neck surgery so I am really ready to get out and smack the ball around. I really like how these clubs look behind the ball and how the ball jumps off the clubface. If you can pick up a set for $100, they are definitely worth checking out...

Customer Service

Never had to use.

Similar Products Used: Titleist AC-108 circa 1970s
Titleist DCI irons
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Aaron   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 22, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Titleist DCI 981

Great club for intermediate golfers. I was hitting the 845's from tommy armour before i got me a set of DCI's. I have to say that they are about a club and a half longer then my 845's were. They are long and straight. 5-iron is around 195-205 yrds. Takes some time to get used to stiff staff but only takes a few times at the range. Even after not playing for a few months...my iron play is usually pretty consistant(putting is always a different story). Overall very happy with these clubs and would highly recomend them to someone who plays for power and does not try to manipulate flight patterns. simple hit it straight.

i am however thinking about hitting a mid blade...the DCI 962b's any feedback for me??

Similar Products Used: Ping Zing 2, tommy armour 845
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Yohomes   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 17, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Titleist DCI 981's

I just recieved these clubs used from my uncle last summer. I hit them all a little at the end of the summer, and I liked the feel of them. I have steel shafts, but when you do not hit it solid it can sting a little. Overall they are good clubs, at least good enough for a 13 year old.

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
samarati   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 21, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Titleist dci 981

Titleist DCI 981: I bought an excellent condition used 3iron to Lob Wedge with Aldila X-stiff shafts. E-bay purchase from private seller. Eleven clubs, price $150 shipped. I've taken them out on my home course 3 times. Honestly, These are too much club for me. They are heavy. They require a stronger & faster swing than mine to really crush the ball. I'm smacking the 3iron 215 yards on pure hits. Ball contact noise is a really professional sounding "Thwack"! But the shaft vibration on mis-hits is a punishing shockwave snap rips thru the wrists-forearms up to the shoulders. Boy! That teaches me to keep my head still during the swing & concentrate on the ball. Club construction & materials are top notch. I've owned Pings, Clevelands, Mizunos, Golden Bears, Orlimars, etc... These clubs look & feel professional. And I think that you need to be a scratch golfer to enjoy playing with them.

Customer Service

Purchased on E-bay. What customer service?

Similar Products Used: Oh, I went thru 11 drivers & 4 sets of clubs last year while seeking golf nirvana.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Greg   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 16, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Titleist DCI 981 Irons

I bought these Irons in 1999 for $599 @Washington Golf in D.C.. To this day, i cannot get myself to leave these irons, they play so straight and the craftsmenship is top notch. The distance and accuracy is amazing. I would have never thought back then id still be playing the same irons nearly a decade later. All the changes in technology still dont merit the success ive had with these clubs. They haven't died yet, the shafts are stiff, i had them fitted by Titleist upon purchase, some lie angles were adjusted in 2000. These clubs probably have at least another 3 years of service, then again, they could surprise me and go longer, who knows. Ive looked around at other brands, but these are working great, and after traveling the world with them in the military and playing some great courses; just to much history to leave them behind now, they still play like they did when i bought them.

Customer Service

Great

Similar Products Used: DCI990, TM Burner models, Forged Mizuno and Cobra irons.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
mauligan   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 05, 2008]
Model Reviewed: DCI 900

hi well, I want to give you guys the honest to god truth. I am 12 years old and I've been golfing seriously for about three years now and one day me and my grandma went golfing. I was currently using a Wilson prostaff oversize set of irons. Once I saw these beauties in my grandma's bag I asked to see them she said that they were lens clubs and she didnt know how to swing them I asked to try them for a little while. That night I went home to the field and took out the 9 with stiff graphite shaft I hit the ball and went dead straight in between the soccer posts I aim for about 140 yards away I was surprised I took another ball and the pitching wedge , BINGO I hit pretty much on the goal line right in between the goal posts I soon hit another one pretty close , again and again I did it I was amazed I ended up getting them from my grandma later on. Bottom line as long as you have the right shafts I would recomend these to anyone P.S I'm not kidding i hit my PW 140 yards!

Customer Service

none yet ( by the way I would really recomend getting these clubs customized and weighted) 1 in 20,000 golfers hit a standard club how its supposed to be hit

Similar Products Used: oversize Wilson prostaff
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
bcbear   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 02, 2008]
Model Reviewed: titleiest dci 981

had these irons for about 3 months now,not too lite not too heavy feel well balanced,not as forgiving as some,kepts you to concentrate on makeing a good swing through the ball.have had some nice rounds in the low 80's so far with them.you got a decent swing give them a try.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used: mizuno mx-20's,cleveland ta-5's,macgregor 1025cm's,tommy armour 845's
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
bob   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 08, 2008]
Model Reviewed: dci 981

had my 981s for nearly 4 years and only complaint is that the regular shaft is slightly whippy but i suppose i should change the regular shafts for stiff

Similar Products Used: use taylor made r7s for a couple of rounds and lost 15/30 yards depending on club selected.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 139  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com