Titleist DCI Oversize+ Black Irons

DCI Oversize+ Black

User Reviews (46)

Showing 1-10 of 46  
p.j. myers   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 30, 2017]
Model Reviewed: titleist dci oversize black

i had pings for years,22 to be exact. tried the switch over to titleist and glad i did.got a set on the dci + blacks with rifle 6.0 shafts after trading my ping eye 2's after 22+yrs. glad i did,got the 3-lw at $120 and well worth the price. played last tuesday and shot a 39 on the front 9 and 40 on the back which is my best score to date 79. shot 82 once with pings, but the feel and swing of rifle shafts and the blade feel like of the dci's are above the pings in my opinion.they dont have the bulkyness and chunky feel of cavity backs which took a few rounds to get used too. i am a sweeper or picker of the ball and have to adjust to hitting down on it now but it controls distance and with the 8-LW it produces more spin and more distance control. the long irons are a little hard to hit 3-5 but my 6-LW are like hitting the ball with a marshmellow. i will gladly give up distance with being dead on with my wedges,from 150yds in is where the game is anyway. i would recommend these irons to anyone wanting titleist, not a scratch golfer by any means but am working on it with my last score of 79. these are for mid handicappers and those that shoot in the 90's.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Dirk   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 19, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Titleist DCI 981 Oversize +

Picked up a set 4-SW, rifle shafts, upright specs for a little over $100. What a bargain! These irons are tight and buttery soft. Remind me of the old forged. I'm just an average golfer but am finding condidence from these classic looking and hitable irons.

Customer Service

not experienced.

Similar Products Used: Ping, Lynx Black Cat, Cleveland Gold, Callaway X-14 and 2004's
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
stevewdraper   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 19, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Titleist DCI Black Oversize

Just got these clubs from my uncle.
Only practised with them for a few days.
They feel very well balanced and make me feel confident at address.
My last set were Great Whites.
However these Titleist clubs feel less threatening when looking down at the clubface. Brilliant for the player who feels embarrassed when his friends are watching him take a shot. You just know that the ball will leave the clubface and go in the direction you are aiming.

Customer Service

Not used. But they are only 20 miles from where I live.

Similar Products Used: Great Whites.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Thumper   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 02, 2009]
Model Reviewed: titlist DCI black

sup' fellow golfers... i had a set of taylormade supersteel irons they were nice...except vandals had gotten away with the whole set...heart broken, heavy heart...left eye twitch, brother and i were forced to a yard sale, wife found a set of clubs for $60.00.
all excited because they were the titlist DCI black, i had these clubs tuned to my swing, inserted tru-temper S-300 shafts now the rest is history i now have been using these for the last 8 months.
i love the workability of these easy to hit clubs, i don't know why i haven't tried these clubs earlier...
who says older clubs are no good, hard to hit, i'd say...better go to your club pro and check your swing again, oh..and bring somemore dollars to the course...

Similar Products Used: Taylormade supersteel.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Walter Wellsfry   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 01, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Titleist DCI Oversize Black

I bought my DCI Oversize Black's new in 1996. I played them as my "gamer set" for ten years and was always pleased with them. Titleist stands for quality and these clubs are still outstanding today--especially for mid to high handicappers.

True, they have a good amount of offset and are a bit large in shape. But they are still excellent as I recently tested them against a brand new set of Callaway X 20's. As a 11 index I played 6 rounds with the X20"s and my best score was an 86. I then played a round with my trusty old DCI's and shot an 82!! I ditched the X20"s and just purchased a set of X20 Tours (best score 77) but have retained my Titleist's as a great back-up set and the one to go to when I need more forgiveness.

You can pick-up a used set for a song. I cannot endorse more highly for a inexpensive, forgiving set of quality irons.

FYI--if you really want to improve, work on your short game! Titleist Vokey Spin-Milled wedges are awesome!!

Customer Service

Outstanding! Lost my eight iron about four years ago and Titleist replaced as they had still retained my custom order specs. Titleist is a great golf company.

Similar Products Used: Callaway X20, Ping G5 and 10
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
hannibal3blue   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 03, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Titleist DCI Oversize Plus Gold, Trispec Reg. steel.

I was given these clubs by my Dad, a single digit handicapper for years, not long after I had taken up the game. He replaced them with some Mizuno Pro II's. I have played these for about 4 1/2 years and have loved using them. They are forgiving and long, the shafts are great - nice bit of kick, (v. similar to DG R300 IMHO). The looks are neat and compact for an oversized iron and the feel on a middled shot is superb - almost as good as a forged club.
My only difficulty has been the amount of offset - quite a lot! This makes it quite dificult to work the ball and can result in fades turning into straight pulls and gentle draws into big hooks.
Now, you might suggest that a 14 h'capper like me has no business trying to work the ball anyway (!) but I'm at that difficult stage where I really feel that I'm on the edge of 'the next step'. With this in mind I bought a set of Macgregor 1025cm (mixed set).
Now these are beautiful and great feeling clubs.
HOWEVER, a month later and I'm not hitting the ball so well. Maybe due to some health problems, but for whatever reason, the first thing I do is to get the DCIs back out - they still feel great and sold ball-striking returns!
A really great, no frills, high quality (make that super high quality) game improvement iron.
Buy them dirt cheap on ebay.

Customer Service

Terrible in the UK. E-mailed them about my 905t driver - no response at all.

Similar Products Used: Macgregor 1025cm
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
AJW   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 26, 2004]
Model Reviewed: DCI oversize+ Black

A very simple if not elegant set of clubs slightly square and chunky but devoid of any gimmickry. These irons are solid forgiving and dependable. Distance is good and consistent feel is solid and satisfactory and off center strikes are not punished very much at all. I've noticed that there particularly forgiving on slightly toped shots. there is a bit of off set but not so much that they're hard to align and its progressive so the short irons have none.

Customer Service

never used

Similar Products Used: Ben sayers top scots, ping eye 2, DCI Oversize+ in gold, Maxfli revolution and revolution midsize, hogan radiels
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
TrunkSlammer   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 01, 2004]
Model Reviewed: DCI Oversize Black, Stiff Tri-Spec

I'm actually getting ready to replace these irons so I thought I'd write a review. These are really nice irons that combine the playability of a standard titleist iron with the forgiveness of an oversize design. A perfect choice for the above average player that wants a moderate oversize design, not some ridiculous monsterousity, and too much off set. I'm replacing mine with the new 804 os, simply becuase I've decided my current shafts are too stiff, and might as well upgrade to the most current model. If you can pick up a set for cheap I highly recommend these.

Customer Service

Haven't had to deal with them, but they do respond to email questions quick I've noticed.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno TC29's. Hogan Edge.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
AJW   Shoots in the 100s [Apr 04, 2004]
Model Reviewed: DCI oversize gold

I saw these in the widow of a charity shop for a pittance and snapped them up. for the last fifteen years I have played with a set of semi bladed Ben Sayers Top Scots and thought the over size heads and low centre of gravity of the DCIs was just what I needed. These are good clubs a little light in the head perhaps but good looking and easy to use. The ball flight is high and these are easily a club longer than my top Scots the wedges are large but very versitile. But despite all this Praise for them I still sold them on ebay why? Because they have a gigantic amount of off set. after all those years of looking down on a blade I just couldn’t get comfortable with the good inch of off set three iron has. I’m now on the look out for the black model which has no off set

Customer Service

did not use

Similar Products Used: Ping eye2+ (bought these after the dcis good clubs but still too much offset, made it hard to line them up
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
4
cjgorud   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 05, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Titleist DCI Oversize Plus

Overall, these irons give you a great club for your money, espically if you are buying now, because they are so cheap. These clubs have stood the test of time and are right up there with current cavity-back irons. I really love the simple design that makes me feel as if designers concentrated on club preformance and not sales-strategy gimiks. The ballflight is straight and true; some people may complain about limited workability, but if you are an expert golfer who works the ball on every shot, you shouldn't be playing a game-improvement iron. Most golfers hardly ever work the ball, and a club decision should not be based on this for anybody but the low-handicap golfer. To conclude, these irons are a great addition to the bag of any mid to high handicapper's bag at a great price

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 46  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com