Titleist Forged 695MB Irons

Forged 695MB

The Forged 695MB™ irons feature a unique Z-Muscle design that removes weight from the heel area of the club. This shifts the center of gravity closer to the face center for a solid feel, more efficient energy transfer and consistent launch conditions.

User Reviews (30)

Showing 1-10 of 30  
Skip Letrud   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 18, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Titleist 695MB

Have used these blades for 3 years now. I had heard all the experts say blades are for pros and scratch golfers. I've also read some of the reviews here and would have to agree with many of them. When you hit these clubs pure, there is no better feeling in the world. When you're off, it's like any other bad golf shot regardless of club in hand. I started with 19 handicap with these and have lowered to 11 this past summer. The lower lofts (3-5) are more difficult to hit but 7-PW feel great. The thin topline suits my eye. I have buddies with game-improvements look like hybrids 3-PW, not something I like to see. I would definately recommend these but they will take time if you are a self-taught, like myself. My goal this coming summer is even par, and these clubs are staying with me for the forseeable future.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Jondavis218   Shoots in the 70s [May 27, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Titleist 695 mb

These blades are the best irons I've ever played. I played the tour model in the early eighties and then switched to cavity backed irons (ping, Taylor made, Tommy armor, and Wilson). Early this year I got a set of the 695's. The 695's have little forgiveness but a lot of instant feedback on misses. I have shaved at least three strokes off my score with the 695's. Bought a back up set of the 695's just in case I wear out my first set. I highly recommend them for anyone that wants to truly improve their game rather than just cover up their misses.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
aohlead   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 19, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Forged 695MB

I love these irons. I shoot in the high 70s low 80s and have recently been shooting better due to an refining of my swing this winter. With the training, I also have been able to swing the club much faster with much more control and the TTDG S300 shafts I currently have on my Mizuno Pro II's have recently been causing me to have a slight 5-10 yard draw. After demoing a lot of new and used clubs and shafts and after much discussion with PGA pros around town, I have come to the conclusion that I would benefit from the X100s or another form of Extra Stiff flex. During my hitting of clubs, I demoed a used set of 695 MB and was blown away by the feel. I hit them longer that my Pro II's which are actually a degree stronger than the 695 MB, but the used set selling for over $300 had S300 shafts and thus I still produced a slight draw. Since then, I have been tirelessly searching for anything remotely similar to the 695MB with X100 shafts. I have looked at all the 690's, ZB, ZM, 710MB, 710CB and other Titleist blades and blade-like irons. I have looked on ebay and in all the shops around town with no success. Last night I finally found a set of these in excellent condition and paid $225 for them and CANNOT wait to hit them this Friday. I will stand by this when I say that if you are a mid handicapper and want to get better, you have to play with the best to do so. Game improvement irons hide mistakes, blade irons (the true game improvement irons) actually force you to correct your mistakes. I went from shooting in the mid 90s to shooting low 80s high 90s last summer after switching from Adams IDEA A1 irons (game improvements) to the Mizuno Pro II's and with the extra distance and better control I experienced demoing the 695's, I expect an even greater improvement this summer. Personally there is not much difference in the ZM or MB710s compared to the 695MB to justify spending hundreds more unless you want to impress someone with your wallet. Lastly, I must say in the never-ending debate of Titleist v. Mizuno (We know no other brand compares in their forging capabilities), I have found Mizuno to be slightly better feel but not by much, HOWEVER, I have found that Titliest blades are smaller and less bulky in appearance compared to Mizuno blades and what is the point in switching from bulky game improvements to bulky blades? Workability is the same and distance is better in Titleist. I would trade a microscopic amount of feel for better appearance at address and better distance at less lofts.

Customer Service

Helped me to confirm they were not counterfeit before I purchased.

Similar Products Used: Wow too many. My buddy works at a golf course so I frequently use demo set that they have and play a couple rounds with each set. These are just the irons I have used :-) The ones that I have owned will be labeled. I have played at least 5 -10 rounds with each set to gather good information.

Adams IDEA A1 (have owned)

Adams Pro Gold (have owned)

Callaway X-Forged

Mizuno T-Zoid Pro II (Currently using and will argue that they are the best Mizuno Iron out there even though they are over 10 years old)

Mizuno MP 30 (have owned)

Mizuno MP 32

Mizuno MP 33

Mizuno MP 37

Mizuno MP 60 (have owned)

Mizuno MP 67

Titleist DCI 762 (have owned)

Titleist DCI 962 (have owned)

Titleist 735 CM (have owned)

Titleist AP1 (2008) (have owned)

Titleist AP2 (2008)

Nike CPR2 (have owned)
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Kane   Shoots in the 70s [Feb 27, 2010]
Model Reviewed: titleist 695 mb

I was a 19 handicap when I bought these clubs in 08 I now have a 7 handicap and shot an even par 68 last weekend. With these irons you either play well or struggle, they force you to fix your swing and I'm glad I stuck with them

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Ping Eye 2's
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
JCGL   Shoots in the 90s [Feb 21, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Titleist 695MB

Ive always been told that blades arent for high handicappers. But Ive also been told that my swing was better than the 18 handicap that I have. So a month ago, decided to demo a used set of these titleist 695MB blades after reading an article that blades werent solely for low handicappers. I liked the look of these clubs. Very little offset. Nice compact heads and thin top line. The looks of a club was a big factor for me when i decided to go looking for a set of clubs. If it didnt look nice to me at address then forget it.
Anyways, I surprisingly hit these well at the practice range. I loved the feel of "pured" shots. Its not as buttery as the mizuno mp-67 i also demo'ed, but very solid and still soft and flew with the mid trajectory that i liked (not too low and not too high). What I really liked was the feedback. I could tell when i hit from sweetspot or not. The feedback has helped me work on finding a better swing.
So I took them for the first time onto the course a couple of weeks ago but I left out the 3-6 irons bcoz I thought I wasnt ready to play comp golf with the blades. I think that was a mental error bcoz I started with a negative thought. I played very tentative - still not trusting the clubs to do their work, so
I wasnt ready to give them up yet. I continued to work with these clubs at the range just trying to get my swing better.
Yesterday i played comp golf with the whole set and I shot a career best 83. My overall iron shots were better than Ive ever hit them. I had a couple of not so good shots, one was a 7 iron which i caught off the toe but ended up at the front side of the (smallish) green. Ultimately, i was very surprised by this as I expected the ball to end up really short and way right of the green.
Blades arent for everybody, but you never know unless you try them. If you have the patience to work on your swing, then give them a go. The Titleist 695MB in my opinion are pretty solid clubs and surprisingly forgiving (if there is such as thing as forgiveness with blades).

Customer Service

nil

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
kaparn   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 08, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Titleist Forged 695MB

I have always been told that players such as myself can’t play blades and that you, if you are a normal club golfer, should stick to “easier” clubs like utility clubs and toe-heal, deep cavity kind of clubs. This is probably true for some golfers, but I think that if you really want to learn how to play the game, you should play with the clubs that you like the most. It doesn’t matter if you are a high handicapper or scratch player, you are supposed to hit the ball in the sweet spot, aren’t you? If you do that, these kind of clubs are what you should have, because the feeling from a good shot is fantastic and if you don’t hit it right, you immediately get a slap on the wrist that suggests that you should concentrate more.
I picked these darlings up on Golfbidder a few weeks ago for pocket change (compared to new ones) with a True Temper R300 shaft after reading the reviews here and testing them at a local pro-shop. I am not disappointed at all. The feeling and look of these irons is exactly what I want in a set of irons, and I can understand why blades are fast becoming a “must” among some players on tour again, I can’t say that I have gained length with these, but the possibility to strike a good crisp shot, even from tight lies, is equally important.I would strongly recommend these to anyone serious about his or here golf.
The Titleist 695mb's are not as hard to use as experts would have you believe, at least this is my humble opinion.

Customer Service

Have not been needing it (yet).

Similar Products Used: Mizuno MP-33, Ben Hogan Apex, Bridgestone J36, Nike forged blade.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
famousdavis   Scratch Golfer [Oct 04, 2009]
Model Reviewed: 695 MB

I should say that it stands to reason that a top notch ball striker such as myself should post a review of these fine iron specimens. I'm a +2 hdcp and I have a dime-sized wear mark on all clubs. In short, I am better than you...so read on. These clubs did not suit my palate. I found them dull and unoriginal. Can you say "skyball"? I'd still knock down pins all day with them but I'm looking for something better.

Customer Service

I wouldn't grace these peasants with my time.

Similar Products Used: Anything worth my time.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
ch7273   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 17, 2009]
Model Reviewed: 695MB

One word--unbelievable! These 695's are like butter, wish I would have bought them when they first came out. I would encourage anyone who is looking for a great easy to hit iron set to try these, don't let the experts who say you have to be a 5 or less scare you away. I would recommend getting the lie angle adjusted, off the rack this set was up to 3* off on a few of the clubs?? Hit em straight--make the putt=good times!

Similar Products Used: Mizuno MP 57's
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Mark Holm   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 08, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Titliest 695 MB

Purchased 3 weeks ago after reading reviews. Generally shoot low 90's. Have been to the range twice and golfing twice since the purchase from ebay. First 9 holes shot a 38, played 18 today and shot 84. Clubs are fantastic, unreal when you hit the sweet spot. Very straight and generally as long as my Mizuno's. Noticed short irons not playing as long, not sure why at this point. Trajectory is exacatly what I wanted, more boring than high, especially the 3 iron. Usually I hit a 7 wood from 200 yards, hit a 3 iron 210 to the middle of the green and today hit one 220 off the tee...love it!! I have found that I am concentrating more and I have had some mis-hits, easy to tell what you did wrong, distance suffers but not too bad. I golf about 12-15 times a year and have no problems hitting these clubs. Would strongly recommend them.

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: Mizuno MX 23
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Tatertot   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 27, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Titleist 695mb

These irons are amazing they carry as far as i hit my old irons (srixon ad 400) and they spin off a 5 iron. I played on 12 stentmeter greens and the control on them was amazing i would land it in the middle and they would barely move. not very forgiving, but if you hit them in the sweet spot dont worry about the distance it will get wear you need to do

Similar Products Used: taylormade rac blades
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 30  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com