Titleist Scotty Cameron Detour Putters

Scotty Cameron Detour

Scotty Cameron Detour

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
Blake   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 11, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Scotty Cameron Detour

I've been through 4 putters over the last two years, and let me tell you...the Detour is by far the best! I've tried the Odyssey putters - putters that are supposed to be the best of the best. What I got with an Odyssey is an awkward feel and tough aligning.

That's not the case with the Detour. It's easy to align AND has a great feel. I dropped 3 to 4 strokes all just because of the Detour.

I'm not telling you to go out and buy a Detour without trying it. Go to your local golf shop and try out putters and choose the one that fits you. Don't go get an expensive putter because you feel it will make you and your bag itself look better.

By the way, you can get the Detour for $300 at brand name golf shops or you can get it for $150 on eBay.

Similar Products Used: Odyssey Sabertooth, Odyssey Three Ball
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
BillBohannon   Shoots in the 80s [May 25, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Scotty Cameron Detour

It is simple! this is the best damn putter I have ever owned and I have owned several.

Do not let the looks scare you just try it and you will buy it


Similar Products Used: Ping REDWOOD, BLACK SERIES ODESSY, PINE ANSWER SERIES,YES, AND 50 MORE VARIOUS MODELS!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Joshua   Shoots in the 90s [Dec 14, 2008]
Model Reviewed: scotty cameron detour

I purchased the detour for one simple reason the feel of the ball coming off the putter. I was completely stunned, it felt like slicing really, really soft butter. I was already really happy with my Oddyssey Sabertooth but was sold after about 10 putts with the Detour. However it took me about 5 rounds and a bit of time at the range to really get a grasp for its uniqueness but after that and after changing over to a cross handed grip its been lights out. The headcover is a little bulky and bright but it certaintly gets a reaction from friends and fellow golfers. When it was all over & done with I ended up a winner as well as my dad who inherited a great putter in the Oddyssey Sabertooth. For some strange reason I have a thing for odd & strange looking putters. Bottomline is you cant always judge a book by its cover.

Similar Products Used: Oddyssey Sabertooth, Nike IC20-20 mallet
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
joemace   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 11, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Titleist Detour Newport 2

OK, OK. I bought another putter. I've gone from Titleist, to Ping, to Bettinardi, now back to Titleist. The Detour, 34", Newport 2. It is butter ! It's pure ! The feedback you get from the insert technology is as if this putter is a part of your hands & arms. The 30g bar behind the insert is a perfect alignment aide. I had my putter modifed w/ a black oxide finish which Cameron doesn't offer...yet. It is a thing of beauty to behold. It's not a club. It's a work of art and precision tool

Customer Service

Scotty Cameron is one of the best. Owning a Scotty or Bettinardi is like having a Lamborghini in your driveway. You're part of a unique club. The service matches the craftmanship.

Similar Products Used: Titleist Bullseye, Bettinardi Hawk, Bettinard A02, Bettinardi C8, Scotty Cameron Newport 2
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
thechileguy   Shoots in the 80s [May 07, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Scotty Cameron Detour

Really good Alignment style putter. Exceptional feel allowing for very good/accurate distance control.

Really, really pricey!! Let me say that again--Really--REALLY Pricey!

I put down that I shoot in the 80's but really, depending on the day I can be in the 70's if I'm putting well. I'm never putting well enough to suit me. I always feel that I leave two to five strokes out there.

Putters are like meaningful relationships--you never get what you pay for. Both Ways. Some putters you pay $30 bucks for and shoot "lights out" --others you pay $300 for and wonder why your last marriage didn't work out or why your 4 footers don't fall like they used to.

Putting is a sound smooth stroke with confidence using an instrument which Feels Good and promotes that confidence. PFP!

I don't think $300 is too much to pay for a club that you use more than half the time you are on the course. I work on alignment and speed and for that reason have used the center shaft two ball white steel putter for some time, but I have tried them all. The Detour is better. The alignment system is a little easier (less distracting) than the two-ball and the feel of the ball off the clubface is more responsive--feels firm but smooth. I don't yet know about the the curve guide line, your natural stroke seems to produce the best results, trying to follow the curve results in pull left putts. The Detour produces a nice end over end roll like a c-groove (like I said- tried them all) and makes a really neat sound (like the orginal ping). I think that all of the above gives me confidence that I am going to be right on distance and speed and in the hole if I've lined up correctly. That's all there is to putting right? Anyway, I'm a technique kind of putter rather than total feel, but the feeling is there with the Detour. I wanted the shorter (moi piece) Newport Detour because it looked more classical, but they didn't have it in a center shaft and besides I was drilling everything with the regular Detour so I went for the $249 (Albuquerque Golf Mart) and here is the reveiw.

Customer Service

Immaterial. I will say that Scotty Cameron makes wonderful putters. This is the third one I have owned and they have all been superior in craftsmanship. For Scotty, customer Service is in the building of the club not repairing it.

Similar Products Used: Ping Anser, Odyssey Two Ball, C-Groove (Forged Callie). Other Scotty's, Newport Phantom, Futura. All good putters. All had their day in the sun, now it's the Detour!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
ArvinC   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 04, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Scotty Cameron Detour

Okay, first off...we're talking about a Cameron here, so you know three things off the bat: 1.) Detail and craftmanship will be incredible 2.) It'll have great feel 3.) It'll cost you! ($300 bucks to exact)

Having got that out of the way, the Detour is certainly an interesting concept and will definately cause a stir in your foursome. The design is all about helping you putt with an inside to square motion. The design, weighting and alignment markings are subtle but effective in this reguard. The motion may take a bit to get used to, but it's hard to argue with the result once you start using it. My biggest putting error used to be pushed putts. In all honestly, with around 15 rounds under its screaming-Orange headcover, I've only pushed a putt 3 or 4 times max. The putter leads itself to a stroke that feels mush more effortless and natural, with a smoother and more repeatable tempo. Is it for everyone? No. But it is worth giving it a try 'cause the idea is sound if you can make it work for you.

As far as the putter itself, it's typical Scotty Cameron. The putter's face/back section is milled out of an single block of aluminum then inserted and fused to another milled aluminum section that makes up the rest of the face/blade. Then he weights it so that it feels smooth and easy going back and through. Because the putter face insert is the weighted back of the putter, the feel is solid and definitive...you know instantly if you mis-hit a putt. The putter as a whole is a machine for producing repetitive, effective strokes. I collect Camerons and have to say that the though and effort that went into making this putter is beyond what any other manufacturer would even consider. Cameron putters are truly special and the Detour is a worthy addition to the line.

Customer Service

Check out scottycameron.com for how good Scotty is to his customers. You can customize your putters, authenticate them, repair them, refinish them...you name it. About the only thing you can't get on the site is Scotty to come out onto the practice green with you. But, I suppose, if you wanted it badly enough...

Similar Products Used: My last 6 putters have all been Camerons: Newport 2 TI3, Oil Can Laguna, Studio Stainless Newport 2, Prototype No. 6 and Circa '62 No. 1. There really isn't anything design-wise comparable to the Detour line.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
3
Toicat   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 29, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Scotty Cameron Detour

One of the worst aspects of getting older is that your vision and steadiness goes to hell. And, when you putt bad, your score looks bad, plain and simple.

The Detour putter from Scotty Cameron has become my favorite because you don't have to fight a perfectly square backswing. Instead, your backswing flows inside back to square. HOW? The putter is designed and weighted so that you naturally develop that swing path.

The Detour will not win any "beauty contests." It is strange looking, and has a large triangular head cover to emphasize this "beast!" However the feel, sound and roll of this putter is super. Most of all, the site lines make aligning very easy. Sure, you still miss some putts, but believe me, you will notice that your 10-footers tend to find the hole more often. Titleist is pround of this putter, so it costs $300 +/-. Quality cost $$$. Ask to try one out first.

I am truly impressed with this new creation. Good Golfing to all !

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Odyssey 2-ball; a few blade type putters
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Pasc   Shoots in the 70s [Nov 25, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Titleist Scotty Cameron Detour

Finally, the putter I was looking for. The pendulum stroke was not for me. I struggled making 2 putts everytime. So I got to read an article by Stan Utley. For him, the putting stroke is your full swing stroke...butin miniature. Simply said, inside-square-inside. The Detour is made exactly for that. Not only is it good looking but it feels and sounds great. This putter produces a reliable and smooth stroke. Try it....You'll buy it.

Customer Service

Did not use

Similar Products Used: Nothing compares!!!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com