Tommy Armour Golf Silver Scot Irons

Silver Scot

  • High Launch Rifle-Flighted shafts
  • Tour Launch Rifle Shafts
  • Forged construction offers consistent
  • Soft feel and control at impact
  • CNC milled face

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
Gary Huth   Shoots in the 100s [Sep 01, 2014]
Model Reviewed: Silver Scott

I haven't played golf in probably 5 to 7 years. My swing is off from where it was. I have more distance than with my old clubs right out of the box. These clubs for the money were an excellent choice
Thank You for Quality and Price

Similar Products Used: My friend bought the Evo set, very nice choice also
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Rick   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 08, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour Forged Silverscot Blades

This is my SECOND time owning these clubs. When I first started golfing, I wanted to get a set that I would want to keep for a long time as my game got better. I bought these new and always liked the way they looked and that they were a midsize "blade". What i didnt care for was the small grips (changed them) and the high lofts of the clubs (PW was like a 47 deg) and the short shafts (I could swear they were like a 1/2 inch shorter). So unfortunately I got rid of them and played the Burner 1.0's.

I stopped playing for a bit, then got back into it. The Burner's are great, but I wanted to try something else. Sure enough, I see a set of TA Blades at a golf shop and the guy says to give these a try. I told him I already had these and explained why I sold them. He said, these have been extended a 1/2 inch and the lofts have been bent to the newer style lofts (PW was at 45 deg). They were a low price, so I bought them and gave them a try.

I didnt realize how GREAT these clubs felt!! Easy swinging for a 53 yr old and VERY accurate!! If I could only find the matching Gap Wedge for these, this would be a very happy ending to this story!!

Customer Service

Didnt need it.

Similar Products Used: Taylormade Burner 1.0
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Vern Edgren   Shoots in the 90s [May 14, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour Silver Scot

What's with the grips? They're too small. No way are they a standard grip size.

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
simple_golfer   Shoots in the 70s [Dec 16, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Silver Scot Blade

I have been playing with this set for over a year now and am very happy with the performance. I have the 3-PW and also purchased the GW. I used to play the Mizuno MP-14s and still consider them to be the benchmark for blade irons. In order to make this review more objective, I will focus on comparing these 2 models.
The first thing I noticed about the silver scot blades was the difference in the top line profile on the 3-7 irons. MP-14s have the traditional straight top line and the curved topline starts on the 8 iron. The silver scots have the curved topline throughout the set. This adds forgiveness on shots hit higher on the face. I feel this is the greatest design improvement over the MP-14 profile. The silver scot clubheads are slightly bigger than the MP-14 heads and the face thickness is thinner. This also makes the design more forgiving.
There is noticeably more offset on these clubs and the offset is constant throughout. This helps me play the ball further back in my stance with the shorter irons and get my trajectory higher with the longer irons.
The center of gravity on these clubs are lower due to the position of the muscle back being lower. This, along with the flighted rifle shafts, help get the ball on a higher trajectory. I don't have exceptional clubhead speed so I noticed right away the higher trajectory and longer distance.
The steel used in the head feels and sounds harder than the MP-14, but feedback is great. I actually prefer a harder steel as it will wear longer and extend the life of the club.
I've read some complaints on the stock grips, but I have had no issues with them. They play great.
This is a great set of blades with modern design upgrades. When compared to a traditional blade like the MP-14, the silver scots are noticeably more forgiving while still maintaining the precise feedback of a blade.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno MP-14
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
WooHooT   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 01, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour Silver Scot

These are hard to beat for the money. Bought them off ebay a while ago and been playing with them for about 2 seasons. Considering that they're forged, rifle-shafted, workable, and cost as much as a 2 year old set of used mizzy's, you really can't go wrong. Only thing is that the grips which are kind of on the thin side but can be easily swapped for something better.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno Mp-52, Mizuno MP-62, Mizuno MP-67
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Brent G.   Shoots in the 70s [Oct 04, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour Silver Scot MB

I've been wanting to blades again for a few years now after playing cast clubs for the past few years. Saw these offered for around $150 free shipping and thought I'd give them a try before I spent $1000 or more on Mizuno or Miura. Well I don't think I'm gonna rush out and spend the money on anything else.
I'm lefthanded so finding blades has always been a real problem for me. I've played Wilson Staff and Mizuno TP9's in the past and these absolutely feel as good as those classic blades. They came with Rifle 6.0 precision shafts that were absolutely perfect on the frequency machine. At address, these have a slight hump in the top line that almost makes every iron set-up similar to a classic wedge or eight iron. Very nice actually, I think. The grips are junk and probably -1/16" from standard which is way too small for me; but,that's a minor fault since most like to change to a favorite grip anyway. They are also swigweighted to C9!!! That is crazy light for a blade. I think my others were like D3 or D4. I guess I'll put some lead tape on the backs and see if I can feel the clubhead a little more. Other than that, they are Fantastic! If you want to play a blade and don't want to spend a fortune; and, you can find these because I think they are no longer made. Be confident in your purchase because they are much nicer than I would have dreamt at the price I paid.

Customer Service

did not

Similar Products Used: Wilson staff, Mizuno TP9, Titleist 990
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
powerdraw   Shoots in the 70s [May 06, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Silver Scot Cavity Backs

The most underrated iron out there, period. Mine have the Rifle 6.0 shafts which are excellent shafts. The frequency matching is wonderful and they are a bit softer than the DGS300's I usually use.

The head itself sets up well, the top of the iron is slightly arched and this frames the ball well. All the while still having the 'Player Iron' appeal.

Great feel with a Mid-Trajectory that is suitable for most courses and weather.

This clubhead is comparable with the Titleist 690.CB and Mizuno's old MP-30 but is a tad lighter, which I prefer. Although it is a smaller head it is very forgiving. A very solid feeling clubhead, even on slight mis-hits.

A great iron for the scratch to 15 handicapper.
The best part is the price, super cheap. I got mine new for $210, much less than other irons out there.

I have heard that the forging is a bit hard and you can't adjust the heads more than a degree or you may break the head. Not sure if this is true or not.
Luckily the specs fit me perfectly so this won't be an issue.

Top three feeling and performing iron and when you factor the cost it makes for the most underrated iron out there.

They have replaced my Mizuno MP-32's.

Customer Service

Never used.

Similar Products Used: Titleist 690.CB, Mizuno MP-32, Mizuno MP-30.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Christo G.   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 12, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour Silver Scot Cavity Back

First of all go get them regripped! Now that you done that enjoy a pleasant round with what possible is the most under estimated Cavity Back iron on the market. These irons come with Precision Rifle Shaft that are frequency matched for each club. They are also flighted...this means you will get different tracjectories for each iron. In turn this will help you hit the long irons and stiff the short irons at the flag. These compare to the Titleist 695CB series. I know some of you are saying is he serious? Well Yea! The only difference is the price tag and your swing. I should not have even told you guys about this set. Forget the fact that you can get these FORGED irons on Ebay for under $200. Go ahead and spend the $Gazillion bucks for the other ones that won't help you hit the side of a barn. The Silver Scot CB's are forgiving with distance to match. You will be pleased with your purchase if you can find them. Remember
Regrip it and Rip it!

Customer Service

Tommy Armour Golf Company has changed hands a couple of times in the past couple of years. I believe they are owned and operated by the Huffy Bike Company. What a shame...2006 they came out with the Silver Scot series(CB and MB) and now its all gimmicks and inner tubes. Get the 2006 models while you can!

Similar Products Used: Titleist 695CB
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Bobby P.   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 04, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour SilverScot

Tommy Armour new Silverscot come in a CB and MB. I wanted a club to replace my worn Mizuno MP33's which kept developing a rattle in the shafts. Other than a broken 5 iron which Mizuno quickly repaired, under warranty, I had no issues with the Mizuno.

The first few outings with the Tommy Armour s in a MB, I enjoyed the hit and playability. I felt the clubs well about one club shorter compared to the MP33s. The grips on the Tommys was very poor, very plastic and thin. The Rifle Flighted shafts are excellent as well as the forged head and craftsmanship.

The most pleasant experience was after about ten or more rounds with the clubs, I found the distance I missed. I think the shafts have a pace and tempo which I finally developed a feel. I can lean on the swing and iron and get some additional distance I've never had with any club, with the same number. I had the lofts checked and they are in fact softer than the MP33.

If you buy a set, give it a little time and enjoy!!!

Customer Service

Well, the web site is loading only the hybrid story and some new adjustable iron. I would not be surprised if customer service is not to be found. The SilverScots are very inexpensive right now. Pay your money and take your chances.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno MP33 and Mizuno Trues. Tommy Armour EVO V25. MacGregor V Foil CB Blades.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com