Walter Hagen AWS Drivers

AWS

Ultra-thin Plasma Weld Face ensures consistently high C.T. Aldila NV shaft comes standard.

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Luke   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 13, 2017]
Model Reviewed: Hagan AWS driver

I'm a lefty and got this club at Dick's on super clearance for $30. It's awesome. My fear is that it'll eventually wear out and I'm have to replace it for 10X the cost.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Jason   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 24, 2010]
Model Reviewed: walter hagen aws fairwaywoods 3 & 5

Don't hesitate to buy. I won a pair of the walter hagen fairwaywoods on ebay for a fair price just to try them after looking at them at dick's. Both hit sweet with a good sound and are a dream to swing. Took my Callaway's out of the bag I liked them so much and I am a name brand kind of guy, but these play to darn good and easy. You'll love em!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
golf club 51   Shoots in the 90s [Dec 19, 2009]

The walter hagen aws is a handy club. i drove the ball more straight then ever before. My former driver the aculity voltage was very bad. now with walter hagen AWS I HIT THE BALL 250 consistintly. I think it was a great change.

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
4
M. Holland   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 17, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Walter Hagen AWS

I went to Dick's to buy a new Driver to replace an old ancient one my dad had given me. I want to play up on the golf team up at school, and needed an upgrade. What an upgrade this club has turned out to be. I took it out to a 9 hole course by my house a few times, and theres a few holes posted over 250 yds and I drove the ball over the green on all of them.

When hit smooth, it feels amazing and you really will know because you will hit bombs long and straight. 250-280 consistently

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Casey Johnson   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 13, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Walter Hagen AWS Comp Driver

If anyone is interested in purchasing this club, before paying 299.99 for it contact me first. I can get it to you for 200.00. I can get any of the Walter Hagen Clubs, mens or womens for a discounted price. Even a brand new set of iron as long as they are walter hagen. They are all brand new and all top of the line clubs. If anyone is interested contact me to find out more. cj800mtrs@hotmail.com thank you.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Chad Hedges   Shoots in the 70s [Feb 15, 2007]
Model Reviewed: walter hagen aws 9 degree, stiff

Great buy! I've crushed this baby 340 before and won longest drive in a tournament. This driver is straight and strong. I couldn't be happier with all of the Walter Hagen golf equipment.

Similar Products Used: Wilson Deep Red
Dunlop Crazy Long
many more
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Meigsgolfer   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 24, 2007]
Model Reviewed: AWS 9 degree

I bought this driver as a replacement for my Cobra M-Speed which i was haveing a lot of trouble with. It was a good deal at 149 dollars. It is a very long and straight driver, but only if you leave the weights in the neutral postion. i realized that when messed with th weights throw the feel of the club off tremendlesy which isnt to bad if you dont want to mess with them. Overall this driver is a good thing to have in the bag but it is not a long term solution

Similar Products Used: Nike Sasquatch, Cobra M-Speed, TaylorMade r540, Ping TiSi
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
mnmridge   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 25, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Walter Hagen AWS Composite 9.5 Regular Flex

A few weeks ago I was looking to replace my 3 wood and went to Dicks Sporting Goods. I liked the feel and address of the Walter Hagen AWS 3 wood. The salesmen informed me that if I purchased the WH AWS Composite driver for $199 I get a fairway wood ($100) for free. I've have been swinging well lately but my old driver, Titleist 983K, has been eratic at best.

I tried several Walter Hagen model drivers in the launch monitor to include the older model AWS with the Adila shaft. The ball flights and launch angles were all consistent. However the distance in the launch monitor showed me only carrying about 200 yards which is 20-40 short of normal. I consistently hit the large sweet spot which was important. I ended up going with the 9.5 AWS Composite model with the regular flex. My swing speed in 95-100. As I have been told and read, when in doubt, go with the regular flex. Since it was a Fujikura shaft I followed the advice.

Thus far I have played three nine hole rounds and a scramble. The club is excellent. The weighting in the sole gives the club head excellent feel. I have hit 15-21 fairways with the other drives still being playable from the rough. The average drive distance has been 250-270 (about optimal for my swing speed).

Bottom line, if your looking for a new driver give this model a try. An excellent value for the money and a very forgiving and playable club. As far as I can tell from searching the internet, the only place to get this club is at Dicks (in store only), or in the very rare instance one becomes availabe on Ebay. It was not even availabe on the Dicks web site.

By the way, the 3 wood has been very good also.

Customer Service

Not needed yet.

Similar Products Used: Titleist 983K-Great driver if your swinging well, otherwise, very unforgiving. Used for two years.
Nike Ignite 460- No club head fell and the distance was disappointing. Used off and on for four months.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Sean   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 15, 2006]
Model Reviewed: 9 degree, aldila R

I've been swinging this thing for a few weeks now. Not as hot at the Tailor Made r580xd I had, but much easier to control. I used to send the tailormade 280+ consistantly, and this thing goes 260+ consistantly (but straighter). So i like the control but not the distance. Although I have plowed it in the 300's before, it is possible.

Customer Service

good deal if u get it at dick's

Similar Products Used: Tailor Made 580 xd.
Orlimar 460cc
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
J Reily   Shoots in the 80s [May 04, 2006]
Model Reviewed: AWS 9 Stiff

This driver's NV shaft is terrific. The head feels hot, though it only went about the same distance as my current Callaway. For the price, though, this is a great buy. I got mine at Dick's for 149.

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com