Wilson Dd6 460cc Drivers

Dd6 460cc

  • ETF Technology
  • L-POD Weighting
  • Nano Tech Shaft
  • Higher launch angle

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Ross Murdoch   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 22, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Wilson DD6+ 10.5

I always found the driver an intimidating club, the slightest mistake resulting in a wayward shot. My driver previously was a Cobra Gravity back thing from 7 years ago. I picked up the Wilson DD6 in very good condition on eBay for £30. I hit about 30 balls on the range and every one of them flew straight and true, over 250+ of carry and another 3-50 yards of roll. I then took it on the course where it performed just as well. The forgiveness is unbelievable, and at address the club gives you great confidence. I really went for it on one hole (this usually resulted in a wayward shot previously) and was rewarded with a huge, penetrating drive.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: Wilson Fat-shaft irons.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Sam   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 28, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Wilson DD6

I just bought the Wilson Staff Dd6. It is amazing. It looks great and feels good to hold. It sets up slightly closed. Even though it is very light you can still feel the head all the way through the swing. Just an overall good club...a joy to play

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Norge   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 02, 2008]
Model Reviewed: DD6 w/ V2 Shaft 10.5*

At best an average driver. Ballflight is medium to low. The feel is muted but adequate. Suited more for lower handicappers than mid to high. A very capable driver for manipulating the ballflight. A good stable head through impact with very little twisting.
A reasonable compromise between price and performance but not as long as some of the other offerings from the "big dogs".

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used: many
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
4
gouga8383   Shoots in the 80s [May 20, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Dd6 10* Stiff

This is a good driver and the best i have used yet. The sound, to me, is very appealing. But I do tend to slice or fade the ball with it. Also the ball goes very high. Overall a decent driver but if you have a bigger budget go with something else.

Similar Products Used: Wilson Deep Red, Ben Hogan C-S3
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
4
scooter_low_shooter   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 24, 2008]
Model Reviewed: wilson staff dd6

very forgiving, almost too forgiving as it isnt easy to feel a perfect centre hit. but the shaft pfro force v2- brilliant. a lot of pros use it and i highly reccomend it. this took over my ld tm r7 draw, and it goes much further and straighter, eith the 10 degrees loft, right up there with the burners and the sasquatches of this world

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: r7 draw, callaway big bertha, jack nicklaus ez-up, taylor made burner
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
jackoradgolfer   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 11, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Wilson STaff Dd6 Reg Graffaloy

I traded my old Pd5 for this dd6 about 1 month ago. It has good distance with a flat, low launch for me. It has decent workability without the huge slices or hooks that I was used to

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
DHJV   Shoots in the 100s [Nov 02, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff Dd6 11.5 deg

The Wilson Staff Dd6 driver is a very forgiving driver. Although having a driver for months, it remained in the bag during most of my rounds. Since I recently ( 5 weeks ago) switched to Wilson Staff Di6 irons, I also bought the Dd6 with the Aldila NVS-65 graphite shaft (regular). I now use it for tee-shots even on very narrow fairways. It is quite easy to hit the ball with the big clubface and at address it looks confident. The club is remarkably light and I easily hit 200-230 mtrs (220-250 yrds) with this driver, with the distance improving every week; the greens of the 200+ mtrs par 3 holes are no longer out of range! When I play a round of golf with this driver, my competitors always ask if they can hit with this club to try it, and, until now, everyone is amazed with the ease of hitting long straight balls.

The sole of the driver looks OK, the unicolor black top is somewhat boring. The sound on impact is not a high "ping" but rather a massive impact "poing", which actually makes people turn their heads.

Customer Service

have not used it

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Mark   Shoots in the 70s [Aug 17, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff Dd6 Driver

I've got the 11.5 degree model with regular Aldila NVS 65R shaft. One word - incredible! I tried the full range of shafts/lofts at a demo day and found surprisingly that this shaft suited me best in this driver. I've tried all new models from TaylorMade, Ping, Nike etc., and this is head and shoulders above them all in my opinion.
I swing around 100mph, so have often gone for stiff shafts, but this - coupled with more loft than I've had before has resulted in extremely accurate, huge drives! Don't know if it's just that it all happens to suit the way I swing, but nothing else comes close to this. I'm driving a good 20 yards further than my Ping G5, and feel a lot more confident about where it's going to end up.
My advice is at the very least, give it a try. It may not have the kudos of a big Nike SQ in the bag (or the price tag!) but if it suits your game then you won't look back. Except at everyone elses rubbish drives!

Customer Service

Not used, but demo day staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Similar Products Used: All of them!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Bob Stayton   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 17, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff DDR

Great club. I bought the 10 degrees, Aldila STIFF. I have to admit that I have always been a Wilson guy. Older driver was a Deep Red II Maxx. Played with it for two years. I thought it was good until I bought the DD6. The DD6 is more forgiving, has a better sound, and from what I've seen so far, is just as long as the others. It appears Wilson has a winner here. With all the buzz on the R5, I was tempted to buy the Taylormade R5 but I'm glad I selected the Wilson Staff DD6.

Similar Products Used: Tested the R5. Played other Wilson metal woods.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
AFRogers   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 20, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff DD6 Stiff Shaft 10 Degree

I recently bought the Wilson Staff DD6 Driver with the Aldila Stiff Shaft in 10 degree loft.
I went to my local pro shop and tried the following clubs all in stiff shaft, between 8.5 Degree and 10 degree, and I think one was a 10.5 degree, anyway here are the drivers I tested:.

• Ping G5 with ProLaunch;
• Ben Hogan CS3 in Aldila NV 70 H shaft;
• Benross V Mass with Aldila NVS DL-65 S;
• Wilson Staff with Aldila NVS DL-65 S;
• Callaway X460; and,
• Wilson PD6.

This took some while but the drivers I preferred were the DD6, Hogan CS3 and Benross. My choice, well, I bought the Wilson on Ebay for £94.00 (Half the price) and the Ben Hogan for £89.99 from the shop.

I love both these clubs and even though the shafts are slightly different I find that the Aldila shaft in the Wilson has a slightly softer tip than the Green Aldila shaft that one would find in most offerings with the Aldila fitted as the standard.

The Wilson sits lovely behind the ball with a deep head that just looks as if you are going to smash the ball to bits, and that you cannot miss the ball even if you try! The sound is also slick and not too noisy but you know when you have hit the ball well as the impact sound is exact and sweet. I shoot in the high 70’s and find that the Wilson behaves well and does not produce the longest drives, but I am only talking about 5 – 10 yards behind my Hogan CS3, but I am far more accurate with the Wilson. If you have a slower swing speed, give the stiff version a try as the softer tip works really well and will help you shape shots easier I find. I drive about 260 – 290 yards, but never below 250, but I drive this with most drivers, but the Wilson gives me more confidence. My local course is designed that the front 9 holes is about position and the back 9 you can open up your shoulders and use the Driver. I always used the 3 wood on the front 9 for position but the confidence the Wilson DD6 has given me means that I use the Driver on most holes now, even the 1st hole which has OOB on the right and the A606 on the left and very narrow! I hope this review has helped you make a decision to try, buy or discount it; I read the reviews here regularly, so thanks for reading and best of luck, Tony.

I use MacGregor M565 Irons in stiff Rifle shafts (5.5), Ping Ti3 3 & 5 Wood, MacGregor Bobby Grace 6.4 MK Putter.

Customer Service

Not tried yet.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com