Wilson 1200 Irons

Available At:
1200

User Reviews (26)

Showing 1-10 of 26  
Alex   Scratch Golfer [Aug 09, 2017]
Model Reviewed: Wilson 1200 GE (80's)

These clubs were given to me by my father about 8 years ago, played a few rounds a year then took a break. The past 3 years I have been playing in 4 leagues and a couple amateur tournaments and these clubs can do everything that you need. I like the higher loft of the older irons over the newer ones, especially for my 8 and 9 irons. Allows me to drop darts onto the green from 160-170 yds away. These irons definitely spin, it's not the iron that does it but the swing/player. These have great feel when hit, allowing for adjustment if you're just the tiniest bit off. I like the heavier heads especially in the rough for my longer irons since they don't get caught as easily as the newer lighter irons. Love the reactions I get from other competitors when I show up with these and outplay their brand new sets.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Marc   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 19, 2015]
Model Reviewed: Wilson 1200 GE Irons

These were my first set of real clubs, got them in high school, late 80's. Shot some great scores. Stopped playing for some years, then fell back in love with golf. Used some major brands after not using the GE's after high school. Found them in my parents basement and used them. They really are amazing. Not sure why, but I just throw darts at the greens with these. I switch to a major brand every now and again, play OK, then go back to the GE's and simply play better with them. New grips, now they are permanently in my bag. Sold my newer clubs on EBay. Of course I have newer driver/woods and two nice Vokey wedges but these irons are the best. And for those who say they don't spin, I'm sorry, but you probably can't spin a ball with Eye 2's. The GE's provide some serious backspin, that's why I can just fire away with them.

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: Ping, Titleist, Callaway.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
marcodemarzi   Shoots in the 100s [Dec 07, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Wilson 1200 GE

They do not cost much, but they are worth much more than what you pay. Ok, they don't have much spin, but it's what I require at my present level of golfing skill. Tried some other irons in that price range and the Wilsons win on every aspect. I love them and probably I won't get rid of them until I come to a one-digit handicap. Only one con: the grip are way too hard. I think that regripping them with Golf Prides or smg similar would make a difference.So far, they stay in the bag!

Similar Products Used: TopFLite Executive 2 irons, Ping G10 ( which are better, but at more than three times the price)
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
ball striker   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 17, 2009]
Model Reviewed: wilson ge 1200 cavity back

This was the first set of cavity backs I have ever owned..Bought them at a pro shop back in 89' for around 300 bucks and played with them until this year..09'...that is 20 years and had them regripped once back in 99'. Guys I just upgraded to the new Wilson di7's and they are just as amazing..they have great feel and the ball fust seems to pop off the face of the club and make a bee line for the target...Thanks Wilson for 20 years of fun, low scoring golf and heres to another 20 with my new di7's.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno mx25, di7's, Nike Sumos , taylor made rac...Wilson is by far the best out of all of those listed...no lie...well better lie with the wilson...lol
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
theclew   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 13, 2006]
Model Reviewed: wilson 1200ge

bought new in 1987 for$260 woods for $270 also 1200's, love the clubs sarted to play after 15 years I got back into the swing preety quicklt. love beating my son and friends with there new taylormades and caalaway clubs. no real spin but you just ahve to learn how to feel the shot. recomend for weekend golferor somebody who only plays a couple of times a year. cheap but good. put new golf pride grips makes a world of difference.

Similar Products Used: added a callaway X460 driver.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
beansie   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 01, 2006]
Model Reviewed: wilson 1200 GE

started to play again after 20yr lay off.bought a full set of irons 3,4,5,6,7,8,9,pw,s for £2 each £18 bargin ,had them re gripped with golf pride gripps and hey i do not need to no more money on clubs ,I"m beating all my mates with their moden clubs ,pings,calloways etc,im a strong beliver in if you wanna paly ,and play bad its not the club making the swing its you ,clubs do what you tell them to and these 1200ge"s are listening loud and clear
doncaster,england 1-9-06
FFFFFFOOOOOOORRRRRREEEEEEEEEEE
THANKS ALA MR WILSON " from the film "

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
hamnegg66   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 06, 2006]
Model Reviewed: 1200GE

I bought these irons in the early 90's. I am a careful buyer but picked these up and knew it was the one. I want to upgrade now that they are so old but I cannot find the need cause I still hit them so well and dont see the purpose of changing. I am now looking at Pi5's cause would like something to work the ball more. I played off a 7 handicap and these irons were spot on. I think there is a big marketing thing on, new irons every year! I say garbage. I will take anybody on with their latest equipment and these old irons will show their metal, cast and all. A great set of irons, so much so I dont know where to go next ? Mizuno MP60 ? Titleist ? Stay with Wilson ?

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
topwater   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 10, 2004]
Model Reviewed: WILSON STAFF PROGRESSIVE

These were the best kept secret in golf. Early 90's vintage I beleive. They our a combo set 2-7 irons are forged cavity back. The 8-pw is a forged blade. The set I have came with 2.8 firestick steel. They measure out on a frequency machine as a soft stiff like 5.5 rifle, s200 true temper. This shaft and club heads are a perfect match well balanced. A good swing will result in a very solid feeling impact, not as soft as my Mizuno mp 14 but better than anything else I have ever hit. I have played 5 rounds with these clubs. I am a 8.4 index handicap,have shot a 76,2 77s,79 and a 81 with these irons. What is very noticible about these irons is the spin on the mid irons. I have hit about 7 or 8 5 irons from 185 to 195 all have hit, 1 bounce and stop. I can not do that with my Mizuno's, they release about 10 to 15 feet. Another feature is you are not punished on bad swings as with the mizuno's. Don't get me wrong the mizuno's are great clubs and I'm not selling them. Just these Wilsons are very forgiving and very solid club. If your playing cast clubs and want to go to the next level you would being doing yourself a favor by checking the Progressive's out. If you can find a set. I been watching ebay now for 5 weeks to get a set for my buddy. I guess people who own a set must be very happy with them. Customer Service:

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: If its forged I've owned or hit it.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
jnorris   Shoots in the 100s [Mar 03, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Wilson 1200 Gear Effect

Yes, I know this isnt the greatest set to play golf with, but it is an excellent set to begin playing golf with. It came with a PW & SW all for $199. Not bad for someone who is just starting off. I will be entering my 3rd summer playing and hopefully this will be the year I break a 100. I have noticed over the past two years that if you hit a ball poorly you can really feel it all the way up your arms. I have also noticed that the distance of the ball is a bit shorter then most clubs, but I guess thats what you get for $199. I say buy them if your just starting and then upgrade as you get better. Gotta run.........have a tee time waiting!

Similar Products Used: Just bought my first upgrade club....Nike T-40 5 wood. Taylor Made approach wedge
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
5
Holly   Shoots in the 70s [Dec 01, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Wilson 1200 GE

I have been playing to a single digit handicap for several years. I learned to play with the Wilson Gear Effect many years ago. I have since moved on to newer style clubs and presently play Snake Eyes forged irons. I found this old set of GE's on ebay and ended up buying them for $19.00... One day I took them out just for the heck of it and darned if I didn't play better with them than the new set.. I love them!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 26  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com