Wilson Ci6 Irons

Available At:
Ci6

The Wilson Staff Ci6 iron is targeted directly at the mid-handicapper. It looks and feels like a precision player's instrument but incorporates some of the more forgiving features of the Wilson Staff line. The mid-size head features thin toplines, slight offset and a small undercut cavity. The perfect blend of classic looks and maximum control. An Elastomeric Dampening Layer gives a unique cavity coating which reduces vibration by 1/3. The Wilson Staff Ci6 comes with either Taper Tech Steel Shafts or a Nano-Tech graphite shaft. The steel shaft has a progressive tip design transitions from high tip flexibility in the long irons for higher launch, to a stiff tip in the mid to short irons for a lower launch and maximum control. The graphite shaft is the most consistent graphite shaft ever, with a stable tip for mid to high launch angles.

User Reviews (30)

Showing 1-10 of 30  
petie3   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 11, 2017]
Model Reviewed: Ci6

Just got used set with steel R shafts; amazed by the length, accuracy and consistency. Got 15/18 GIR first time out. Got a set of graphite also, pulled everything 20 yards. Found they are just as long and accurate, but you have to swing at 80%. With the steel shafts you can just wind up and clobber the ball, so you really have to adjust the swing. Got each set for under $100 so it's the biggest no-brainer in golf.

Similar Products Used: Cobra 3100, 3400, UFI, S2, Titleist 981sl, various Mizuno, Ping I3, Nickents
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Ray Brimer   Shoots in the 70s [Oct 23, 2012]
Model Reviewed: CI6 irons

I used the wilson fat shaft irons for a few years they were very forgiving but I could not work them, I bought the CI6 irons for a little bit of nothing and they better than I could have hoped for. Theu look like a blade when you set them behind the ball and you can draw or fade the ball at will; yet they are very forgiving. My handicap has dropped from an 8 to a 6 and if I was a better puttter my hadicap would be really low. I recently hit 14 gir but had 37 putts so i shot a 75. Everytime I see one of the guys in our game with new irons I think "those look good" but then I go out and shoot a score in the low 70s with 12+ gir I am glad I have the CI6 irons.

Customer Service

haven't needed customer service

Similar Products Used: Wilson Fat shaft, ping zing, wilson staff tour blades.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Darren S   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 25, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Ci6

First off let me say I have tried every club out there from the best cavity back Callaway clubs. To the newer ping clubs. But I went back to Wilson about four years ago. I have been playing for about 24 years. My first set of clubs were the Wilson LT 1200s I love them. The ci6's is one of the best clubs still on the market today. Get yourself fitted by your local golf store our golf professional. It is really the only way that you will get better at the game. The guy from Wilson came and watched me swing about 3 to 400 golf balls. My clubs are perfectly fitted for me. I'm a 12 handicap golfer. And I absolutely love the way I can work the ball with these Wilson Ci6's, great ball flight, and stopping power on the greens is a must.

Customer Service

Wilson probably the biggest name in sports. And sporting equipment. I have had absolutely no problems with my clubs but I have to say when I was being fitted by the Wilson rep from Chicago. He treated me like a king, like I was his only customer in the world.

Similar Products Used: I played the Callaway X-12 Irons for about eight years. I really can't say too many bad things about them. I also played the Ping G2 in the green dot. Have to say I was not impressed.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Bob Thompson   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 14, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Wilson CI 6

I noticed these on sale at the PGA Tour Superstore here in Plano, TX. I was having trouble with my existing iron play and was struggling. I wanted something inexpensive, but something I could hit with some consistency. I tried these on the launch monitor (steel, True Temper Taper Tech CL R flex) and even though I typically play a stiff shaft, these felt good and according to the launch monitor, were about as consistently straight for me of any iron I've ever hit. They are long, and the dispersion area is quite tight. Excellent feel. 4-PW set. I bought them, hoping that the in-store feel was true on the course. Luckily, it was. After playing 3 or 4 rounds with them, I find these to be my favorite irons to date. Excellent feel, great distance, and they instill a lot of confidence. I shot my best round in three years with these on the third outing. They may not be expensive, and may not be the latest technology, but they flat work for me. I have had several sets of irons in the past two years. I even hit the 4 iron pretty well. I could never find the right ones. Now I have.

Customer Service

No experience - have not needed them.

Similar Products Used: TaylorMade rac HT (uniflex steel - always pushed to the right slightly but overall very good irons), Tour Edge Bazooka QL (stiff steel - wide soles don't agree with my swing - loved the 3 & 4 hybrids - hit it fat frequently with the irons), Mizuno MX 19 (bought used, stiff steel TT Dynalite Gold SL - +1" - always went left even choking up, tendency to hit fat - another wide sole), Adams A3 (stiff steel, struggled with hybrids 3-5 going right - 6-P irons were OK but inconsistent distances).
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
rhodes   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 02, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff Ci9

Decided to go back to steel shafts after several years of using graphite and purchased the Ci9's early this spring. My handicap has since dropped several strokes, but that may also be due to having the clubs fitted. D2 Swingweight takes some getting used to, but they do look very appealing at address and you know immediately if you've hit the ball well or not. Be sure to have these clubs fitted to your swing or they will have a very long learning curve.

Customer Service

Haven't need them yet.

Similar Products Used: Nike NDS irons (graphite)
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
matthew Kleinschmidt   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 17, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff Ci6

Well I have played many great clubs and so far I am sticking with Wilson. I have gone to the Sacramento golf expo at Haggin Oaks and I still will choose the Ci6 s over most others. I will miss these clubs as I am replacing them with the Ci9 or the course of the next few months, but I am excited to keep with the Wilson name.

Customer Service

Broke a club, customer service was awesome with their help and had it replaced.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Robert McDonald   Shoots in the 80s [May 25, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff Ci6

This is the first cavity back I have owned. I was formally a blade user in my younger years, but since I have just recently gotten back in the game in my 40's the last couple of years, I found I needed some forgiveness. No regrets at all with these irons. I love the trajectories (no ballooning)and hit out of a variety of lies quite easily. Not bulky looking which I like, and with just the right amount of forgiveness to not compromise working the ball. Long irons 3 and 4 are easy and accurate for me. The regular taper tech shafts and iron head combination are ideal for me. I tried the Ci9 (latest version)and like the feel of the of the Ci6 irons far better. These will stay in my bag for a while.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
tberg03   Shoots in the 90s [Mar 29, 2010]

First of all these clubs are so unbelievable easy to hit its crazy. And also these are not just for the mid-handicapper. If you buy the taper tech shafts on these irons and have a slower swing speed these clubs are made for you. This brand is so underrated. They are top of the line and so are these clubs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
B-max1   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 03, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Ci6

A lot of reviews are done by people that purchased clubs and are trying to justify their purchase so you don't see many negative reviews...I have purchased my fair share of clubs (thanks E-bay!). I have used all brands of irons...from Titleist to Precepts, you name it I have either hit them on the range or owned them.
I decided to give the Wilson Staff Ci6 a try. I purchased them off E-bay for $ 100.00 so not much to lose. They were on Golf Magazine's Hot list in 2006 and their predecessor the Ci7 made it last year...so what the heck, right. I played 9 holes yesterday after work. Course was slow, so i played multiple balls on all holes. What a GREAT club. I didn't think I would ever say that about Wilson.
This club has excellent feel for a cast club. Reminds me of my old Maxfli Revs. I read that they are 2 degrees strong so I took that in consideration when I was picking my clubs. Spot on! I normally hit my Precept Tour Premium CB 8iron about 150yds and I used the 9iron with the Ci6. I used my 4iron on a tight(345yd) par 4 and I was 120out...a nice high easy 225. My Wilson have the regular shaft which i was a little concerned about because I have always played with stiff shafts. These reg shafts are what the Dr. ordered. They remind me of the old sensicore shafts that reduce vibration on mis-hits. I'm not as young as i used to be so the ego has been checked and i am a beliver in reg. shafts. (I guess graphite will be next but I'm waiting till i hit at least 55).
Overall...maybe the BEST buy i have ever made on irons. Time will tell.
Great Iron at a great price.
Reccommend for 0 to 15hcp.

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: MacGregor M565- Maxfli Rev. same feel-
Hogan CFT same distance but chewed golf balls.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
liam2mullane   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 24, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff Ci6

An unexpectedly excellent set of irons. I purchased a set at the start of last summer to replace my hippo tourmasters. I looked at ping, callaway and mizuno but these wilson irons looked very neat at address and at 240 euros offered great value for money. These are high quality clubs using high quality components. The true temper steel shafts are excellent and the golf pride grips good although a little thin. I replaced the stock grips with golf pride dd2 grips at the start of this season. The clubs are well weighted and feel reasonably soft at impact bearing in mind they are cast not forged. Distance is good as the lofts are about 2degrees stronger than standard. Finish is excellent and stands up well to abuse. Long irons are forgiving and trajectory control is possible with the short irons. Overall a very solid set of irons which will suit the vast majority of mid handicappers.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 30  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com