Wilson Deep Red Fat Shaft Irons

Available At:
Deep Red Fat Shaft

Large, oversize face area allows for larger sweetspot for maximum forgiveness on off-center hits

User Reviews (66)

Showing 1-10 of 66  
Kristian   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 12, 2015]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Deep Red Fat Shaft

After starting to game these clubs I just felt the need to review them. I started playing golf this year with no previous experience looking for fast progress.

I bought a inexpensive set of unused Wilson Deep Red Fat Shafts irons (4-PW) with steel regular shafts on Swedish Ebay and planned to use them only during summer at our summer house. This summer I played them four rounds and lowered my handicap with 8 strokes to 18. Before I played Titleist AP1s but I sold them. Of cause my swing and game has improved in general but these clubs are really easy to hit straight and I get nice ball contact. The feeling for me is that they are fairly light (fat shaft is lighter in my opinion), big club head with forgiveness and soft impact (elastomer insert). Now I take a nice divot knowing that the shaft will flex and clubhead not dig too much into the ground. I read many reviews on this excellent webpage before buying these clubs and can just agree to all the positive things written about the Wilson Deep Red Fat Shafts. Go straight, go deep it says on the shafts - exactly what they do for me :)

Similar Products Used: Titleist AP1 710 & 714, TM Burner Oversize Bubble Shaft, Adams CB3 Forged, Bridgestone Precept Tour Premium
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
daniel bentley   Shoots in the 80s [May 19, 2015]
Model Reviewed: wilson deep red irons

i bought a set of wilson deep red irons about 5 years ago. i was pleased with their performance until a few days ago. i was hitting an approach shot from just off the fairway when the shaft broke at the grip and the jagged end stabbed me in the palm of my hand. i could not stop the bleeding and had to quit my round. i thought the steel shafts were more durable then that. hell, i was in the second cut and did not even take a divot. i wont be buying any more wilson equippment.

Customer Service



OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
2
Aaron   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 06, 2014]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Deep Red

I loved golf, but was never very good at it. When I got these clubs everything changed. The difference these clubs have made is amazing. I found them on craigslist and they are the original Deep Red - not Deep Red II etc. I have now joined the local golf club and golf has become my main hobby. I golf about 4 times a week. You can't go wrong with these clubs. I have plenty of money and can buy any clubs I want. I'm sticking with these because they work VERY VERY well for me and no other reason.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Moe Syslak   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 05, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Deep Red Fat shaft Irons

Picked up a set of these irons off craigslist and couldn't be happier.I had been playing Ben Hogan BH5's and even thoiugh i liked thenm i just didn't get enough distance from them. I've always liked Wilson and these have bneen top notch clubs for me.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used: Wilson 1200GE, Ben Hogan BH5
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Mark   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 14, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Deep Red fat shaft irons

These clubs are very good..I am a 12 handicapper and every time from 155 m out
from the the green , I hit the dancing floor. I personally think that Wilson has not capitalised on the technology of these clubs. I am buying the Di11 fat shafts now and I would like to see if these clubs are an improvement on the Deep Red Fat shafts. I tried 20X Callaways,but they are not the same

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
BigBL87   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 16, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Deep Red Fat Shaft Irons

I picked up these clubs a number of years ago when I finally decided to get somewhat serious about golf. Distance was never a problem, so I was looking for irons that would seriously help my control and was willing to sacrifice a little distance for it.

I did my research and decided on a set of Wilson Deep Reds. I got them used off of Ebay, and they are lengthened about 1.5 inches longer than standard (I'm 6'5"). They aren't custom fitted by any means, but they are a lot better than my previous set of irons as far as feel at address goes.

These irons accomplished exactly what I wanted them to. I have become much more consistent, especially with my mid irons. I have lost about 5-10 yards off of each club, but as stated before, as a long hitter looking for better control, I was prepared to make that sacrifice.

The clubs definitely feel heavier than any set I've used, which is a quality I like in them. Having played baseball and softball for years, I wanted a little bit heftier of a club.

I'd definitely recommend these for long hitters that need more consistency.

Customer Service

N/A

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Jim   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 15, 2009]
Model Reviewed: wilson deep red fat shaft irons

My deep red fat shafts were my 1st quality set of irons (I learned the game playing with MacGregors). I've hit many irons since getting my wilsons a few years ago, and have not found any that I can hit as straight / far / consistantly. These irons are distinctive and heavy - as long as you're not scared of that, they're well worth the investment!

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Browner   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 06, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Deep Red Fat Shafts

I have owned a set of these clubs now for roughly 6yrs and are by far the best set of clubs I have owned. For a number of yrs i played golf without drivers, i felt confident stepping onto a golf course with irons only, and a putter. These clubs are a credit to their creator.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Ishaya   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 03, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Deep Red Fat Shaft

I saw a minto condition set of these in a shop for $200 and having read the other reviews here decided to buy them. I was not dissapointed.
Pretty much everything that you can read about these in the reviews is true.
I am hitting my shots significantly longer and much more accurately. I find it easy to work the ball and am loving using these clubs.
I have never tried Fat Shaft clubs before but I feel a real confidence in these. The fluid feel inserts really add something to the experience. It is very satisfying hitting the ball with these, a super feel on contact and the clubs are very nicely weighted (I don't like a club that feels too light) and they just seem to fit in the correct slot every time. I have taken a few strokes off my scores in the two months that I've had these, and I'm sure there are a few more to come off as I become more familiar with them.
The ball seems to fly off the face and the trajectory is super.
I love these clubs and would recommend you to give them a try. You will find lots of positive reviews here and I thank all the others who put up posts as they gave me the confidence to make what turned out to be a terrific choice.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
go deep   Shoots in the 90s [May 15, 2006]
Model Reviewed: deep red fat shafts

i thought i would write a review on these clubs after playing them for 3 years now. i still like these clubs as good as the day i bought them. seems i am hitting them a little futher than i use to so i am having to watch what club i grab. i was 165 yards out from the pin the other day and grabed my 8 iron and put the ball about 20 yards behind the green on a nice easy swing. i can hit the pitching wedge 140 yards everytime with no problem. the clubs have wore good playing about a round a week since i bought them 3 years ago. if i can ever find another new set i will buy them for when the time comes to retire my old set. the only club i've found even close to the deep reds is my son's set of clobra oversized SS. i would highly reccomend these clubs to anyone, used or new if you can find them.

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: cobra ss
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 66  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com