Wilson Staff Tour Blades Irons

Staff Tour Blades

User Reviews (86)

Showing 1-10 of 86  
Jim Rutherford   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 06, 2017]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff Tour Blade Fg17

On my second set of tour blades over the last 35 yrs. Wore out the grooves in first set and seemed to hit the same. Found 2nd set ( 1-SW) for $45. I'm58 yrs old and will probably play these till I die. Nothing beats the feel and trajectory of a well struck shot. Plus easy to hit draws and fades wonderful club

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
herbsewell   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 16, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff Tour Blades (late 70's to early 80's)

These clubs are awesome. I bought my set about a month ago at a garage sale. I paid 20.00 for them. The lady I bought them from said that they were women's clubs. That was when I said, "Was she Betsy King?" She the previous owner was a 4 handicap. They were all dusty and all they needed was to be cleaned off with new grips. They already have helped me hone my swing. I shot 81 with them today. The heads are is such good shape, the shafts are the originals, and they are still very consistent. Sweet spot is the size of a dime. The yardages are about 2 clubs shorter than my MP 29's. But now I don't have to hit my 9 iron 150 anymore. These feel like butter when you pure one. I hit my 2 iron about 220 on a par 5 and got on in 2. I wish that I got these irons when I was a kid. Better late than never.

Customer Service

Hey Wilson, what you did to Karen Stupples is reprehensible.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno MP 29's
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
John Gilbert   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 11, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff Fg 17

I am 43 and have been playing for 3 years. I realize that playing a classic forged blade is not necessarily a good idea in most's opinion. Consequently I absolutely love these clubs. I have a set that ranges 1-PW. The 1 iron travels 220-240 off the tee for me when my driver and swing let me down. When I hit one pure it is like butter. The hardest habit for me learn is a smooth swing. Although I am still a high handicapper I plan on continuing with these classics.

Similar Products Used: Titleist Tour Model
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
michael timney   Shoots in the 70s [May 28, 2011]
Model Reviewed: wilson staff fg17 tour blade

THESE ARE BY FAR THE BEST FORGED BLADES TO MADE IN MY OPINION.I PURCHASED THEM BACK IN THE 80'S AND LOOKED GREAT THEN AND STILL LOOK BETTER THAN THOSE OUT ON THE MARKET TODAY.
IF YOU WANT TO WORK THE BALL MORE WITH THESE CLUBS ITS NO PROBLEM,HOWEVER BECAUSE OF ITS SMALL SWEET SPOT(APPROX SIZE OF A 20P PIECE)THE ARE VERY UNFORGIVING.BUT WHEN YOU HITTING THE BALL WELL THEIRS NO CLUBS BETTER OUT THEIR TO MATCH THEM.
YES THEY MAY HAVE BEEN DESIGNED 30 YEARS AGO AND HAVE BEEN COPIED BY OTHERS BUT NEVER BETTERED.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
ripit35   Shoots in the 80s [May 01, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Wilson FG-17 tour model

These are by far the most unforgiving clubs i ever hit, which is why i purchased them. I want to improve my ball striking. In my experience with forgings, these are right up with the 1032 carbon steel offerings from Mizuno and Snake Eyes. Pure shots require hitting down on the ball, sweeping it will result in a heavy feeling at impact with a loss of distance. As far as workability, i can hit a 15 yard fade with the pitching wedge no problem. These clubs are 30 years old and still look fantastic.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
jetdriver   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 05, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff FG17 2-SW

Great set of sticks. Good looking, good hitting, great feel. Long irons are a dream of the tee. The sand wedge is so good from turf that I rate it right up there with my favorite Cleveland 900 gun metal wedge (with PATRIOT golf-pride grips...of course).

Customer Service

-none

Similar Products Used: Hogan: Apex PC's, Grinds, Radials, Apex II, Hagen Ultras,
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Alet   Shoots in the 100s [Mar 16, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff FG-17

Shoots in the 100s? I never tried. Being just at the beginning of this wonderfull trip, started some five years ago, i knew instantly only to go with blades. As an avid tennisplayer, soccer artist and basketball lover, never looked for "game improving" equipment. The iron in your hands should be an extension of YOURSELF. The design should be as clean and pure as you want your swing to be. I want to be in command of my purpose and action and have no thoughts left to wonder about my sticks. When gripping these beautifull blades, i am assured they respond to GRAVITY in a way great craftsmen and wise golfsmen figured it out! What a relief: it's not the irons, they are truely great and timeless, as is this marvellous game.

Sometimes I am training at the range, i am reading "5 lessons" over and over, and sometimes i go to a nearby park here in Berlin with my son (7 yrs), one PW (RH for him, LH for me), one golfball and hitting full shots at each other. What can i say: I love my son, I love the game and i love my rare LH shiny set of FG-17.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Wilson Sam Snead Blue Ridge
Taylor Made ICW 5
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
martin Lehmann   Shoots in the 70s [Nov 03, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff Fg59

Without doubt one of the most beautiful forged blades on the market. Performance is as you might expect: lots of feel. Well struck shots give the butterly sensation only forged irons can provide. The DG 300S shafts are fine and do what you expect them to do. With the Fg59's you get what you see: high end players irons with a stunning look.

Similar Products Used: John Letters Super Mex, Wilson Progressive, Mizuno mp33, Ping G2, Wilson pi5
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
steviestuboy   Scratch Golfer [Jan 04, 2009]
Model Reviewed: wilson fg-55

Hi i was looking for a review of my wilson fg55's i have a rare set of these gems which are very sought after now, regarding former comments about these even existing my local pro sourced me these when i was a young junior and i will never change them, im a capable amatuer been playing since i was 3 years old so ive played alot of clubs, theyre is no other blade i can control like these, that may be down to the time ive spent with them but they are very rewarding, the only downside i would say is the distances, for example almost any other blade 8 iron 150 but the 55s a solid 130yds, but the thing is for that 130 they go exactly where i point them!! as folk have already stated i will never part with these clubs!!!

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: you name it!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
tyfu20   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 25, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff Blade

Bought a set of FG-49's 2-9 with original Firestick 3.5 steel shafts from a Play it Again Sports in greeat shape for $14, had the lies and lofts adjusted and let me tell you they feel so smooth. I've been looking around for any info on this model as the Wilson website has nothing on them, and have only been able to find the FG-17 and 51. Regardless of when they were made they have made their way into the bag on a few occasions and to be honest I don't see much difference if any between these and my Bridgestone J33 Combos as far as distance and accuracy. Though I normally shoot in the low 80's, it's normally a function of my 36 putts per round. If you can get your hands on these sticks, do so, you won't be disappointed. Off to work on the short game!!

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: Bridgestone J33 Combo, Titleist Tour Model
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 86  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com