Avila Beach Resort - golf courses

Avila Beach Resort - Golf courses, Avila Beach, CA

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
Roy 1   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 05, 2007]

Played 3/1/07. This course has gone down hill, in it's condition. (Did a past review.) Fairways are thin with a lot of dirt. Tee boxes fair. Greens are still very nice. However, for the $90 rack rate, it is a poor bargain. So so, at $45 discount rate.

Customer Service

So so

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
2
pourguy   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 27, 2005]

Great course. beautiful course front nine very challenging many blind shots.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Roy 1   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 22, 2003]

Played in early Sept. 03. Very nice course and very pretty to boot. No houses. The front nine is a little roley-poley and somewhat tight. You can walk it. It is mostly a target course. Good for all level of play. Maybe not for beginners. Tees, fairways and greens are in very nice shape. Nice pace. Service was good with the exception of one greenskeeper who would wander around on the greens. I almost beaned him. $40-$50 with a cart. I used the West Coast Value book. Would definitely play again and again.

Customer Service

Good, Range on grass

Similar Products Used: OK, putting green, No other practice facility, Has a Resturant.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Jake Plummer   Scratch Golfer [Jul 27, 2002]

This is a cool review tool, but it doesn't look like people use it very often... hmm..

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
Brabers   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 08, 2002]

Overall my experience was really good. I was talking to Jay Farrior the 1st Assistant at the Avila Beach Golf Resort and I guess Avila and Blacklake Golf Resort are under the same ownership now. They are also managed by Landmark National the management group that owns and operates the Landmark Golf Club where they have the skins game. It is a very interesting course and challenging. You do have to play it a couple of times though. Front nine is target golf and back nine has a lot of forced carries. The course is in a beautiful location.

Customer Service

Really good. They treated me like a person and there was always someone asking me if I needed anything. I like that!

Similar Products Used: Mulligan's restaurant was really good and there are some good deals in the pro shop.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
ArSe   Shoots in the 70s [Jan 04, 2002]

I cannot describe how much i hated this course. I was just there (Over new years) it was raining like crazy, the course ws drenched, the day i played, the sun was out, but good God. you can never see the greens, its almost a guessing game, you have to climb up on to the tee box, and it just pissed me off. I guess it is a nice course when it isnt wet and raining. I cant talk trash about the course a lot because i stopped playing after 5. Let me tell you what happend. I WALKED UP TO THE TEE BOX ON 6(THERE ARE NO STAIRS SO I CLIBED INN THE HILL, I HIT MY BALL, AND WHILE I WAS TRYING TO COME BACK DOWN FROM THE HILL, I SLIPPED, I FRIGGIN SLIPPED AND ALMOST BROKE MY LEG, I COULDNT WALK FOR A WEEK, MY LEG IS BRUISED AND SWOLLEN. ITS WAS NOT QA FUNNY THING BACK THEN, BUT I GUESS I COULD LAUGH IT OUT NOW.

Customer Service

great, they gave my refund back

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
2
Mona   Shoot in the 90s [Jul 19, 2001]

I have played this course a few times over the past 10 years or so and every year the golf course improves. The wettest months of the year for Avila in my experience are January through March. That may be why Bill (the 1st poster) had such a bad time when he played. Matt, who posted earlier said the kikuyu goes dormant and he is right is does and the ball does roll! The really neat thing about Avila Beach Golf Resort is that the two nines are totally different which you do not see too much with today's new courses. It can make scoring difficult but, that is why I like it.

Customer Service

The marshal staff has always been very friendly to me and very helpful.

Similar Products Used: The Pro Shop staff and their Teaching Professional, Billy Gibbs are really friendly. If you get a chance attend one of the Avila Beach Golf Academy short game or swing clinics. I learned so much!
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
3
Matt   Shoot in the 90s [Jul 18, 2001]

What a beautiful golf course! Avila Beach Golf Resort is right on the ocean and located in the little town of Avila Beach, Ca. The town of Avila is being renovated and in the next couple of months will be a great little beach town.

I get a chance to golf about 10-20 times a year and I am going to make sure to come back to Avila Beach Golf Resort at least once a year.

The greens are rolling true, the fairways are kikuyu so the ball sits up nicely for approach shots. One thing, with kikuyu grass and being at sea level you must fly the ball to the greens....no bump and runs!

Customer Service

The Teaching Professional, Billy Gibbs is one hell of an instructor! Shaved about 10 strokes off of my game! Pro Shop Staff pretty friendly...I have had a chance to get to know them over the years.

Similar Products Used: I have attended some excellent short game clinics with the Avila Beach Golf Academy. The food at Mulligan's the restaurant is decent.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Bill Encinas   Shoot in the 80s [Feb 07, 2001]

Don't even go here. Over priced, no concept of customer service. Made us bring our cart in 1/2 hour before dark. Will never go there again. Go to Cypress Ridge or Hunter Ranch if in area.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com