Pebble Beach Resort - golf courses

Pebble Beach Resort - Golf courses, Pebble Beach, CA

User Reviews (15)

Showing 1-10 of 15  
jamesll9   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 04, 2009]

The round of a lifetime. I remember every shot on every hole from my round that was 5 years ago. My round was a gift, which made it really cool!

Customer Service

stuffy staff

Similar Products Used: none are similar
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jpnail   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 31, 2008]

Everything you could possibly ask for. Sure, I've played courses that were in better condition...but not much better. The views are even better in person. Even on the "inland" holes, all you have to do is look over your shoulder for a view of the coastline. The combination of conditioning, aesthetics, and history make Pebble Beach unbeatable. The course can be tough, but it is fair. The rough was not as thick as at Spyglass Hill, so if you can keep it in play, you can score reasonably well. I shot 83 from the back tees. Getting to walk where so many great golfers have walked and see the actual spots where historic shots were made is truly special. If you finish late in the day you can even experience a walk up the 18th fairway to a gallery seated outside the resort overlooking the 18th green. I did not get a caddie, but I wish I had. I think that would have added greatly to the experience.

The only negative to the whole experience was the practice facility at Pebble Beach. I had heard it was not very good, and it wasn't. Having to hit off mats at the range only made it worse.

As far as value, yes it is expensive, but it is something every golfer should experience. Any price would be worth it.

Customer Service

Top-notch. All of the resort employees were very friendly. When we missed a shuttle by a few minutes, rather than waiting 30 minutes for the next one, my party and I were personally driven by a resort employee to the course in a Lexus SUV. They really make you feel very important, even if you're not.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dancaban   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 29, 2008]

My father-in-law and I played Pebble Beach on July 2, 2008. The weather was partly sunny with very little wind. Overall, it was a terrific experience.

1) The cost: I believe that you get what you pay for. Sometimes you get ripped off; if you are a vigilant consumer, you get your value. With Pebble Beach, you're paying for more than a round of golf. You get incredible vistas, a chance to walk the same fairways as the great golfers of the past, and the opportunity to place yourself in the same photos that you'd seen over and over again on television and in magazines. I got my money's worth.
2) The notion that Pebble is an average course in a terrific location bears repeating here. People who say that are just bitter people who prefer to overlook the obvious. A 2-bedroom house in Malibu is still better than a 5-BR mansion in Lodi.
3) The course was in great shape. The fairways were smooth, the rough was average, and the greens were rolling true, 9.5 according to our caddie. There's some work being done for the 2010 US Open, so some tee boxes were getting bulldozed, but nothing more distracting than the maintenance workers at your local muni.
4) The ocean views on holes #4-10 and #17-18 are breathtaking. (It's funny how much more beautiful nature looks with a golf course next to it. I had a similar experience with the pine trees in Tahoe.) I took dozens of pictures in between golf shots.
5) People talk about the small greens, but the courses I play in San Bernardino have small greens too! The way I see it, smaller greens mean fewer 3-putts!
6) We hired a caddie, a sharp and knowledgeable caddie named Jimmy. He had a Scottish accent (24 years removed from Scotland), and he figured out our distances by the third hole.

We played Spanish Bay the next day. Spanish Bay, I must admit, was a prettier course and in much better shape than Pebble. However, I still prefer Pebble Beach.

Customer Service

Everything went smoothly. The starter was friendly, the shuttle drivers to and from the range were accomodating. However, the best part of the experience really was Jimmy, our caddie. Without him, we would have shot miserable scores because we didn't know what to aim for and how fast the putts were rolling. If you play Pebble for the first time, pay the money for a caddie. If you get someone like Jimmy, you won't be sorry.

Similar Products Used: Are you kidding? Spanish Bay, I guess.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rcc7   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 02, 2008]

Obviously, it's a spectacular course. While there are some mediocre holes, the great holes (7 in particular) are fabulous, and when you're standing on the 18th tee, you can just feel the history. It's outrageously expensive, but do it at least once in your lifetime, and do it right -- get a caddie and have drinks in the bar afterward.

Customer Service

It's first rate -- the whole facility is first class, and the service is top of the line.

Similar Products Used: When you go to Pebble, there are 3 other "don't miss" courses in the area. The best one is Pasatiempo, located about 45 minutes north...it's the home course of Alister MacKenzie (Augusta, Cypress, Lahinch, Melbourne) and Juli Inkster, it's one of the best, most classic courses I've ever played. Some like it better than Pebble, it's certainly a more challenging course. At $200 a round, it's a better value than Pebble or the next course, Spyglass. Spyglass, which is part of the Pebble resort, is another one you have to play -- harder than Pebble, with lots of variety, it's a terrific course. And if you have time, Spanish Bay is right there...it's not quite in the league with Pasatiempo and Spyglass, but it's an outstanding course, it may have the best ocean views of any of the courses.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
chef7591   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 10, 2008]

Well. It's Pebble, what can you say. The whole facility is top notch, the course was in great shape. Take a caddy. Otherwise, you cheat yourself chasing back and forth to the cart. My caddy, who carried the day before at spyglass, was knowledgeable and courteous. If only I could putt! Fairways are fairly wide, but the greens are treacherous and the chip shots and bunkers can be challenging. Enjoy the history as you play along 8,9, and 10.......the two US opens decided at 17. Walk up 18, breathtaking. Putts break to the ocean and along the grain, so...TAKE A CADDIE! No matter what, enjoy it.......the price I listed includes a caddy and a tip

Customer Service

top notch

Similar Products Used: Spyglass. Torrey Pines, also oceanside and beautiful.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
rbt   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 07, 2004]

Agree w/ others here, try and play it at least once! My only complaint was the maintenance of the bunkers; sand was firm and very thin layer of it at that, on top of hardpan. I couldn't play a regular explosion shot. Can't really explain why bunkers weren't better (no, it hadn't been raining at all). And you really get to practice your bunker shots too (as well as chipping), because the greens are the smallest of any course I've played! Also highly recommend getting caddies; if not, you have to take a cart and it's cart-path-only (ugh). The caddies will usually remind you to take more club than you think, and really know the wind and the bounces. They are literally pro-quality, because most of them have looped the good 'uns. After about 5 holes, the caddie got enough of an idea of my game that he stopped giving me yardages and just handed me the 'right' club and said "hit this"!

Customer Service

Expectations are sky-high considering the cost, and they meet it for the most part. They really try to meet a 4:35 pace of play, which is very optimistic, but manage to do so without making you fell too rushed.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Todd Williams   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 09, 2003]

I have had the great fortune of playing almost 100 different golf courses in 15 states and three countries. Without a doubt the Pebble beach experience is worth the money for no other reason than playing a course with such great distinction. I will say that take away the view and it becomes just another Nice course. Great service, great food, great time. At least do it once. The best course I ever played is New Castle in Seattle

Customer Service

Excellent

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
ChapDaddy   Shoots in the 80s [May 26, 2003]

I can tell you hole by hole, how I played this course. Absolutely the best anywhere. A golfer's heaven. The first time you play it, you will seem as if you are in a dreamland. My only complaint, was the $7.00 Budweiser at the beer cart sitting at the 10th hole. I said to the guy, "$7.00, for a beer?' He said, "Come on, this is Pebble Beach." It's as if you are there, just give us some more of your money. I cannot wait to play it again, and I will prepare for it for weeks prior. The caddie I had was great for yardages, but couldn't read a putt to save his life. Abe, was his name. He enjoyed a cold one and dinner with us at the Tap Room, whic I think he wasn't supposed to, but he did. I had an awesome Filet Mignon there.

Customer Service

Very good.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
1
crippler   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 02, 2003]

First Pebble was a once in a life time experience. The course is decieveing with it's distance, I thoought it was short in many areas. But talk about using the entire bag. Great experience and recomended. It may not be the best course in the area but the history and fun of the course is worth every penny. Go if you can, it's a great feeling after. UK has St andrews , the US has Pebble, it's as simple as that. Lastly with all my reviews I throw in a diamond in the rough. You have got to find a time to play Celtic Lodge in Ingonish, Nova Scotia Canada, it's on the island of Cape breton. It is one of the old homes to the Canadian open before Glen Abby. Now privatly owned, formly government, and what a course. Back tees would make Tiger work for a par. Great shape, fast greens, picturesque, a links design, short and long holes mostly long, up and down holes, big greens, I can't say anymore it's probably 1 of the top 5 courses I have evr played. DO IT!

Customer Service

5 stars

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew   Shoots in the 70s [Oct 30, 2002]

I just played Pebble Beach twice & here is my review in a nutshell: 1) The course is wide open, can spray drives all over the place. 2) Fairways are immaculate, makes you want to hit driver all day long. 3) Layout is superb, don't understand the people who say pebble is an average course in a great location. All you have to do is play this course once, and I'll bet you'll never forget holes 4 thru 10! 4) Greens are very small but putt pretty true. They were not in superb shape when I played it, running about an 8. Maybe I was expecting them to be much faster. 5) Rough is very tough. This course doesn't kill you on length, it kills you around the greens. 6) Bunkers, stay out of them. They are all over the place and very deep. The rough around the edges of bunkers is left uncut, so if you are in it, forget about it. 7) Views are unbelievable! Everything you've heard about this course is true! Watching an event on TV doesn't even come close to experiencing this course in person. 8) Price is steep, but I'm a person who believes that 90% of the time, you get what you pay for and this baby is worth every penny! 9) Customer service is the best I've ever experienced! The people who work at Pebble Beach really go out of there way to make your experience first rate. 10) Pebble vs. Spyglass: Spyglass is a beautiful course and plays much harder than Pebble. This is because, after you get through the beach holes, the rest of the course is pretty narrow. Most of the holes are tree lined like many New England courses. I would put this course on your list as a must play, but saying it's better than Pebble is like saying you would take a Corvette over a Lamborgini. Come on, it's no comparison!

Customer Service

Superb

Similar Products Used: The food at the restaurant in the lodge was excellent and customer service was great.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 15  

    THE SITE

    ABOUT GOLFREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.