Bayonet-Black Horse GC - golf courses

Bayonet-Black Horse GC - Golf courses, Seaside, CA

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
jimbill   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 24, 2010]

Great course. Beautiful condition and exceptional views. Unluckily it is being made into a subdivision. Play it while you can.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
john L.   Shoots in the 70s [Jan 12, 2009]

The verdict is in...Bayonet & Blackhorse are gimmick courses. I have been playing these two courses since the mid-90's and I always considered both courses to be a true test of golf, but now that the $13 million renovations are complete, these are two courses to be avoided.
I have no beef with the hole layout revisions, or the new tee box locations...I do think the number of old Cypress trees that were removed was excessive and has forever changed the "Links Type", old growth forest feel of the course forever...And the amount of pruning and removal of the lower limbs of the few remaining trees was a horrible mistake. Where before the renovation you always had the feeling that you were the only foursome on the course, now you can see every other golfer on the course because the trees have all been pruned 30’ above the ground….What a shame!
As for the new bent grass greens, whom ever designed them obviously never played golf. Though I’ve always been partial to the old Poa greens, I fully understand the need to replace them due to the fungus problems etc...The new bent grass greens are beyond fast. They are hard a concrete, don't hold a shot, and the undulations are unplayable. There are no hole locations that are not on a undulation, ridge, or false-front. There are no fair pin locations and many locations can result in the ball rolling completely off the green and 20 yds down the fairway. These greens are a complete joke, and are more jacked up than those at Shinnecock in 1996!
The bottom line: Don't bother playing these two course. They are not anything like the excellent courses of yesterday.

OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
kurtataltos   Shoots in the 70s [Nov 18, 2008]

Good news: The course is being rehab'ed. Most of the areas off the fairways have been cleaned up.

Bad news: it's a gimmick course, specifically, in/around the greens. The greens are fast. That is fine, no issue. However, many of the greens have severe undulations that take play beyond "challenging" to "where's the windmill, skee-ball jump and clown face?". It is not atypical to have a hole on the edge of a severe transition. If you putt with the intent of rolling 16 inches past on a miss, watch out! You may end up 80 feet away, 25 feet off the green. Remember the fiasco at the Olympic Club, 18th hole, where players were putting up hill to the hole, running it a bit past, ball starts back and rolls farther away than it started? Well, welcome to Olympic Club #2.

It's unfortunate but the layout of the greens makes this a course to avoid. Pasatiempo, DeLaVeaga, Spyglass... heck, even Aptos Seascape has better greens.

If you want a cute experience in silliness then try this course. However, just be aware that because you hit an approach shot within 18" and it comes to a stop, doesn't mean it will stay within 30 yards by the time you get there. There are very few rewards for a good approach shot. It's chance, nothing more, nothing less. And that, in my opinion, is not "golf".

Customer Service

Nothing short of excellent

Similar Products Used: Spyglass, Pasatiempo, DeLaViega
OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
sirchandestroy   Shoots in the 80s [May 07, 2004]

Usually play Bayonet thru golf707.com, but have played Blackhorse many times, as well. Even after playing Bayonet, we usually hop over to the 1st tee on BH and play a few...the last few times the greens on BH have been in pretty rough shape. They did have a serious fungus problem on those greens back in the winter (2004), and I haven't played there in awhile, so I can't comment on the condition of the course. However, the layout is spectacular - more bay views than Bayonet, and the course isa challenge for anyone. Bayonet - what can I say? This is an _old school_ golf course. What yiu see is what you get. No tricked up fariways, very few bunkers, relatively flat greens - very small, and tree-lined fairways. This is an all out test of your skills as a golfer. The course plays very long from the tips, roughly 7200, and you have to be straight, and be able to work the ball from left to right for the back nine. Basically, bring your A game if you are going to play here - you'll need it. This is hands down the best bang for your buck in the Northern California Bay Area - you won't be disappointed with your drive down there!

Customer Service

Excellent! Very cool staff in the golf shop and nice folks in the grill/bar room.

Similar Products Used: I agree that the range could be improved - the balls are usually pretty beat up, and the mats are sometimes dirty. Have only hit off of the grass on one occasion - and I have played there over 50 times.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Merl   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 23, 2003]

Played Black Horse on 8/20/03 and found it to be in relatively poor condition from previous outings there and on Bayonet. The fairways were inconsistent and the greens unputtable--slow, bumpy, and patchy. They had clearly been aerated within the past several weeks and had recovered very poorly, from what appeared to be inadequate follow-up maintenance. I have previously enjoyed playing both Black Horse and Bayonet and considered them to be exceptional experiences and values. However, I will research current conditions thoroughly before deciding to play there again.

OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
3
Sam   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 26, 2003]

Played Blackhorse in May 2003 for the first time. Not as long as Bayonet but much narrower and requires precision tee shots. Greens putted true but the slope was unbelievably hard to read which made both chipping and putting difficult. If we played from the very back, this course would be a monster. Always enjoyed playing great tree-lined N. Cal courses like Blackhorse that are challenging yet also very comfortable to play as temperature was a cool breezy 55-60 degree.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Jason   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 03, 2002]

Hadn't played the course in about 6 years and when I returned I was really impressed w/the improved condition of the course. This course is long and required accurate tee shots. The greens are just the perfect speed-I always seem to putt well here. I am military so the price is unbelievably cheap!!!

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Golfing Gary   Shoots in the 80s [May 21, 2002]

When the require a mandatory cart they mean it. You can pay for the cart, but still not walk. They require your bag to be placed on the cart. They took the trouble to send out a marshall and an assistant pro to enforce the rule, based on "pace of play", even though we were two holes ahead of the group behind us. To say this course is not walker friendly is an understatement!

OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
2
WizardMan   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 22, 2002]

Went to Monterrey to play Poppy Hills- good track; stayed an extra day, played Blackhorse- unbelievable!! 2-3 shots harder than Poppy from tips; looong course, small greens, tall rough made for a rough day. This is a US Open type course- never go to Monterrey without playing these courses. Old style course, reminds me of Medinah #3 course. Excellent facility. Best value for dollar in the area.

Customer Service

Great-

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Francis   Shoots in the 70s [Oct 03, 2001]

both courses are awesome...hosts both q-school and buy.com tour events. i challenge anyone to play them from the tips and shoot within 5 of your handicap. also has great views of the monterey bay from almost all holes.

Customer Service

the entire staff is awesome (especially the cart barn guys)

Similar Products Used: great driving range and restaurant had very good food.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com