Alling Memorial Golf Course - golf courses

Alling Memorial Golf Course - Golf courses, New Haven, CT

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
pquint1   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 06, 2011]

Great Course for the money. Nice layout.Each hole is uniquely different. Golden oldie.Gets a lot of play so dont expect perfection but its in good shape.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
bripaul   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 22, 2010]

Really good golf course with shot values that will challenge almost anyone. If the greens crew could grow the fescue and the rough to define the fairways, it would be almost spectacular. Definitely could then hold a major CSGA event. I definitely recommend this track.

Customer Service

About what you would expect from a muni.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
sguile   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 15, 2008]

Actually a nice older track -- it has character, small greens, and is on the short side. Plenty of hills, and an average amount of trouble, however the trouble is all easily avoided, it tends to punish you for going for the spectacular esp. on the 5s which are all reachable if you hit it 280 or more. Course was built in the 20s and recently redone (tees and greens are all quite nice). For the price I'd recommend this course. If you can hit it reasonbally far and can get used to the bumpy greens (bang the ball here) you can easily beat your handicap, but it's not a boring muni that allows you to spray it all over the place. i'm givng it a '4' but 'love this place' is not what I'd say, but since a '3' is average I will give it a '4'. What i'd really giving it is a 3.8 but that's not an option.

Customer Service

frankly it sucks. If you're looking for good CS then why are you playing a muni. their starters and pro shop folks are gruff at best, and they act more like bowling alley employees than golfers.

Similar Products Used: Waterbury CC is the only course I've played around her that has the small greens, risk reward, short but nice and often challenging average hole length, and similar character. WCC is a Donald Ross design, and about the same age so this makes sense.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
wholohan   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 05, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Alling Memorial

The course is pretty good, especially after the renovations made. The front plays a little harder, especially for longer hitters with well placed fairway bunkers. Still not a hard course but more difficult than before. The staff is friendly for the most part and the snack bar is pretty relaxed. All and all its one of my top places to play in Southern Connecticut.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
jyosua   Shoots in the 90s [Mar 28, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Alling Memorial

I played the back 9 this past Sunday. With the exception of hole 12 (some kids tore it up with Quads so they sanded it), it played nicely. I racked up a 44 mostly due to the greens being a bit bumpy(but not that bad).

Customer Service

Guy that takes the money is just like Buddy Hacket.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
KAZZ   Shoots in the 70s [Dec 21, 2005]

Alling is a good old fashioned test...a throwback to golf in the old days/the way it should be played. A lot of great holes including 1, 3, 4, 6, 9, 12, 13, 14, 16, 17. It is not an easy course. The heather in the summer only adds to the appeal

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
Stephen6   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 04, 2003]

Course is in generally good shape. Greens are fine. Some fairways need drainage work and rolling. I'm told by the starter that a $1.2M bond issue will fund these repairs during the off season.

Customer Service

Pro shop folk seem gruff but OK. The starter was GREAT! I was late and he drove me out to meet my partners!!!

Similar Products Used: Large, plain snack bar/restaurant - good service!
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Nihal Panaranta   Shoots in the 90s [Mar 19, 2003]

Wow, you guys seem kind of wierd. I think its just that you have no people skills whatsoever. I got to Alling a lot and frankly its one of my favorite courses. Sometimes i call ahead to book a time, and i've never noticed any problems with people...Also, i've walked on and they've often gone out of their way to get me on the course. The people are extremely friendly if you SMILE and act like a decent human being. I recieved discounts as well as other things that i normally wouldnt get, and its not like I had an extremely person relationship with the people. I'm not even sure if they recognize me... But enough about the people, even though that seems to be all that the above people talk about. The course itself is a good blend of holes, long and short. Its kept and i never had any problems with poor fairways or greens or anything of that sort. Sometimes play is slow, but this you can expect on any course. I enjoy playing there in general, and recomend it to the average golfer.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Alan Marshall   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 12, 2002]

During the golfing season I have been fortunate to play at many courses throughout the state. Considering that Alling Memorial is a public course I think they do a good as a job as most maintaining the course.

Customer Service

Since I play there often I have mixed reviews. If you don't know someone you will never get a tee time. The staff uses fake names just to reserve a time. Some people are nice while others think you're

Similar Products Used: The snack bar is good. People seem friendly. Prices are also reasonable.
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
mattrom29   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 26, 2002]

After making my tee time I visited this site to view some comments - I have to agree with all of the reviews listed, that the staff is rather "rude, angry and old". After being referred to as "boy" on the telephone - I booked my time and said "Thanks Old Man" - I hope I still have my time on Saturday - I will be back with my full review after I play my round on Saturday.

Customer Service

Horrible on the telephone

Similar Products Used: THE STAFF NEEDS AN ATTIUDE ADJUSTMENT!
OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com