Back Creek Golf Course - golf courses

Back Creek Golf Course - Golf courses, Middletown, DE

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
lonewolfbowls@yahoo.com   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 07, 2016]

i visited the course for the first time today. i initially liked the looks of the course. when we got on the course there were way to many people to close together. it took us 5 hours to golf a8 holes, which is rediculous. was told the fairways and greens were in good shape. that was a joke in itself. the fairways were burnt and many holes and bad spots on the greens. tee boxes looked like grass covered sand boxes. all i can say is i will never return to this course! EVER!

Customer Service

staff was courteous and friendly. only plus for the place.

Similar Products Used: there is no other similar courses to this. this was just an unbelievably bad experience that i wish to forget.
OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
Mr. Golf   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 25, 2015]

8/20/2015- This year the course has gone downhill. A leasing company has taken over this course as of the start of this year and has no clue on how to run a golf course. Putting so many deals out there to attract as many people to come to the course to continue to run it to the ground. Over booking the course to make it unbearable to play. 15 minutes between shots is common here. Not having a cart 15-20 minutes prior to tee-time is common. No Range balls available is common. I feel sorry for the Superintendent Joe. He has no shot of keeping up with how folks are treating the course and the management group over-booking and providing resources to maintain. No Sand in traps/or course maintained, Tee boxes are a wreck and the greens are diseased with black marks all over them. Total shame to see this course in this condition. With all these super deals this management company is wrecking the club… 1 dollar memberships- pay a dollar a day and play anytime for a dollar, Players club- 29 dollars a month get unlimited range balls play for 20 dollars after twilight for 20 bucks and a beer and sandwich. (This all sounds good- but attracts some shady characters who do not appear to care about anyone or the course) I’ve seen golf carts in the sand, I‘ve seen greens that have been driven on and people running over the flag sticks, signs ran over and demolished garbage all over from people running them over and breaking the holder.

Customer Service

No customer service on the course. No Ranger on course (If there is one, he is out empting garbage cans on course or looking for golf balls), no help getting beginners moving along and keeping a tolerable pace of play. Last several times I played, we all left after 9 holes- we were already past the 2.5 hour mark approaching 3 hours. Could not keep our focus because of the constant delays in between shots. Couple weeks before, we had a 4-some jump in front of us from being in the clubhouse drinking and eating (Which is fine- But not at the expense and time of my group and the rest of the course pace of play) Group was confrontational when we question where they came from- Very uncomfortable situation to say the least. Playing here in 4-4.5 hours? Good luck- Go to Frog Hollow, Chesepeake Bay, White Clay Creek, Odeasa National or Patriots Glen.

Similar Products Used: All DE/MD area Courses
OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
Allen halley   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 02, 2012]

Great golf course. New management has brought this course back into perfect shape. Joe the superintendent has done such a good job with the greens. We love eating lunch there, great specials, great staff.

Customer Service

Staff is best in Middletown.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
theduck   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 17, 2011]

Played back creek on 8-17-11 as a foursome. I have 3 negative things to say about back creek.
1. There is no signage directing you to the course. Even when I was in the back creek development NO SIGNS.
2. The rough was 6" high, like the us open was going to be played there. Lost
3 balls in 9 holes as did my partner.
NOT because we were in the woods, lost in the rough.
3. Poorly marked regarding yardage. NO distances on the cart paths, of the sprinker heads in the fairways that I looked at, maybe 1 in 5 had yardage on them. Two of the players in our group quit after 9 holes.
On a positive not the course condition was very good. But we did not enjoy looking for balls, and walking all over looking for yardage distances. Will not go back there, as was the feeling of our entire foursome.

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
2
qgolf   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 14, 2009]

This course is a nice layout, but the conditions are sub-standard. I couldn't believe all of the crab grass. The greens had bare spots and didn't roll smoothly. I turned to my playing partner and said this place has the appearance of a place that was heading towards the end. Two holes later we came across an old man looking for balls along side of the 15th. He told us the place is bankrupt. The girl in the pro-shop said it's a week to week deal. Expect this place to be closed real soon. If you play here expect conditions that are tolerable but dissappointing. This was a nice course. Try it's sister course, Frog Hollow.

OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
1
Edjay   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 17, 2009]

So disappointed. This course has fallen into a terrible state due to neglect. The greens are more bare than green. Many of the fairways and tee boxes have not been cut and have large sprouts of grass are growing on them. Such a shame because as you drive by the course or sit in the club house, the course looks so beautiful from a distance. We will probably never stop at this course again.

OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
David DeAscanis   Shoots in the 90s [Oct 31, 2003]

I enjoy this course more each time I play it. This course forces you to play smart. It is not a "grip it and rip it" course. There are many shots you need to think through. It is a risk/reward links style course. The greens fees are very reasonable and the course is usually in impecable shape. All skill levels can play this course.

Customer Service

Always treated fairly and courteously

Similar Products Used: Nice putting green and driving range.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Dominic Antonio   Shoot in the 80s [Apr 22, 2001]

This course is awesome! I encourage anyone who lives within 200 miles of this place to play it!

Customer Service

The guys outside were very courtious and helped us the whole time we were there....very professional

Similar Products Used: The girls who work in the food and beverage area are definetly hotties!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com