Luana Hills Country Club - golf courses

Luana Hills Country Club - Golf courses, Honolulu, HI

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
lythgoe   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 28, 2009]

Very interesting course. Slightly dry conditions when we played in August but the location/design is great. Overall a very good value

Customer Service

Good

Similar Products Used: Poipu, Princeville
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
rick rollings   Shoots in the 90s [Mar 18, 2009]

Luana Hills is beautiful. The back 9 are carved out of the jungle. Truly awesome. Bring your camera. This course is a must play for the visitor. Pete Dye, so there are some risk reward shots. Course management will help make your play more enjoyable. The Front 9 are flowing with the hills. yeah, there are easier and tougher courses but none more beautiful.

Customer Service

Basic service with flair.

Similar Products Used: The Dunes at Maui Lani.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
keens157   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 09, 2009]

I love this course.There was a rough patch for a little while where course conditions were down.The course is not perfect but if you hit the ball pretty straight you can score pretty well.The conditions are back on the upswing,I think the greens are excellent and the scenery is magnificent

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
sincityshooter   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 25, 2008]

What a mistake!! After looking forward to get out of Alaska's cold weather for about a year, I only had time to play one course on Oahu. After seeing the pictures, I picked Luana Hills. I'll keep my comments simple and to the point: No visible starter (had 3-4 groups come late to the opening tee late), no on course service (forget about getting anything to drinks), course conditions were horrible (I must expand on this since you expect more from a non muni course). Hit a ball in the middle of the fairway and you end up with a bare lie, I couldn't tell what kind of grass it was since it was mostly weeds and this was also on the tee boxes. The bunkers/rough were equally bad. The greens were ok and rolled fine even though they didn't look the greatest. I've been golfing for 15 years and have never walked off a golf course pissed off about the conditions. I went into the clubhouse furious at the turn and got a partial refund. If you are looking for a well manicured or even acceptable course, this is not for you. I wouldn't golf there if it was $40 a round. If you just want to take some pictures and lose some golf balls then this might be for you.

Customer Service

Sign indicated someone would pick up your bag at the car, the only person I saw took off in the opposite direction. No starter and no cart girl. When complaining about the course conditions I was only able to recover 40% of the cost. Most respectable courses would refund you 75-100%.

Similar Products Used: I used the money I got back and tried the Clipper golf course. This course was very well kept, with challenging holes, great scenery, a starter, and a cart girl every few holes. It was also $100 less a player.
OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
anotherdork   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 29, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Luana Hills

A golf adventure. The most beautiful course I've ever seen. Interesting and difficult. Greens were probably sanded a few weeks before and were deceptively slow. Target golf. So fun that I played it twice. Many people I talked with thought it was as hard or harder than Koolau. Shorter but with more angled lies. Both are fun, but expect to be confused and make some club/shot selection errors the first time. Err on the conservative side. A guy I played with lost at least a dozen balls. There must be thousands of balls out there, but they get so lost, that when you go to look for one you never even find someone else's. A little expensive but, if you are on vacation live it up a little. I'd go again. Highly recommended.

Customer Service

Very good. Bunch of friendly people working there.

Similar Products Used: Koolau
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
lubbesuh   Shoots in the 80s [May 14, 2005]

Unbelievable course. One of the prettiest ever played. Would not miss this play when in Oahu. The best of the 5 courses played this week including Turtle Bay, Kooalau, Hawaii Kai, and Makaha.

Customer Service

Not enough experience to comment but what little interactions we had it was quite professional

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
SQUIDKILL   Shoots in the 90s [Jan 04, 2005]

All I can say is that the scenery here was breathtaking. Golf is almost secondary to sitting back and looking at all the beauty of this course. You will not regret playing here but I would highly doubt that most people would play it twice. It's just too stinkin hard!!! It's carved out of a thick jungle, so if you don't hit on the fairway, forget about it.

Customer Service

Helpful and respectful.

Similar Products Used: Snack bar was out of hot dogs and I love hot dogs.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
dbrinley   Shoots in the 90s [Mar 15, 2004]

This is a harder course to find than Ko'Olau and it is not in as good of condition.

Customer Service

They were nice, but not outstanding.

Similar Products Used: Does have covered parking.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
leap4   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 18, 2003]

Bar none, the prettiest golf course I have played, especially the back nine. This course is not long, but will be a stern test of any golfer. Oftened refered to as the little sister or cousin of nearby Ko'olau, this course is tough. Bring lots of balls, as you can lose them quickly. The two japanese gentlemen I played with lost at least 20-30 each, with the jungle swallowing up any shot which is not straight. The back nine is one postcard picture after another, with also the quirkiest hole I have ever played, a 370 yard par 5. From the tee it is a 6 iron or so, followed by a 9 iron over the first ravine, followed by a wedge up the hill to the green. If you get the chance, play this course, and don't forget your camera!!

Customer Service

excellent service, knowledgeable friendly staff.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Chuck   Shoot in the 90s [Jun 28, 2000]

Course is always in good conditions, with greens that hold and putt very nicely. Fairways are very hilly, with lots of lateral hazards. Course demands accuracy with your irons. Best hole on the course is the pond hole, number 11, when it is open.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
3
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com