Big Island Country Club - golf courses

Big Island Country Club - Golf courses, Kailua-Kona, HI

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Vic from San Diego   Shoots in the 100s [Sep 27, 2011]

I'm a duffer but enjoy the play. BICC has become my favorite course on Kona. Was not impressed with condition of the course first time I played it several years back. Gave it another try after hearing it was under new ownership and management; was not disappointed! Now I play it everytime I'm on the Big Island. It is obvious money is being invested on the course and it shows. Love the view at altitude and the beauty of the course. #17 is my favorite hole and a challange for a duffer like me. The price is extremely competitive for Hawaii. Last visit, took a buddy that wasn't interested in playing BICC because of a poor impression of course from years ago. Now he is a believer and we played it two days in a row.

Customer Service

Friendly. Have met the new Manager; very personable & has done a terrific job improving the course. Hope the new owner continues to invest in the course. The only thing it needs to make it the primier club on the island is a classic club house. There is a proposed site & the view is stupendous. I'd go there for a brew and take in the view even if I weren't a golfer!

Similar Products Used: Makalei CC, which used to be my favorite. BICC has the advantage of not getting rained out as much and is actually a prettier course.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
MIKE SHIELD   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 17, 2011]

This gem of the Big Island is a must play for any golfer at any level.
I came upon the course initially by accident after getting rained out at Makalei in Kona once again. Played the course for the first time and while conditions were average the course layout was not. Since that time new owners have taken over and have put a lot of $$ into the course and it shows. The greens are unbelieveable and the fairways and tee boxes are much improved over the last couple of years. I found the staff most welcoming and they have new carts that are well maintained. The course layout is fair for all levels and most beautiful--lots of wildlife add to the interest.
Bottom line--it is beautiful and a steal on this island for the price of play.

Customer Service

Friendly and attentive

Similar Products Used: The course is hilly so compares with Haupuna in that regard BUT Big Island is a better place to play
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
keith chamberlin   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 18, 2011]

Big Island CC is not the best conditioned course on the Big Island, just one of the most interesting. Every hole is a treat to see how it lays out on the tee box. As far as 17 & 18, pure thrills. I never visit this island without playing this course.

Customer Service

Great service!

Similar Products Used: On the big island,probably Hapuna is the closest.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Roy   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 28, 2011]

It's a beautiful course. However, conditions are so,so. T-boxes, fairways and greens are a bit messy. Mostly target golf with a few open holes. It's a hilly layout with ball eating rough. Still a nice course to play! $55 to $85.

Customer Service

OK

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
tyler7   Shoots in the 90s [Oct 31, 2010]

Nice course- sometimes a little vog. Challenging island hole is fun.

Similar Products Used: check out all the golf courses on the Big Island at www.bigislandgolftour.com
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Kevin Teel   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 20, 2008]

Best golf course on all of the islands. The layout of this course is amazing. Don't be fooled by the lack of facilities or the goats on the course. This is by far the best course on the Big Island. The layout rivals the course down in Innisbrook where the play the tour but at a third of the price. It feels a little bit country and the grass is okay but the quality of the layout makes this a great place to play golf!

Customer Service

Wonderful people, friendly and just a wonderful atmosphere that they create.

Similar Products Used: La Purisima, California
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
rore73   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 26, 2005]

I played the Big Island course during April and thorougly enjoyed the round. It's a really pretty course, as most are in Hawaii. The golfers play there from all over the world, and there are some local people playing the course as well. I was fortunate enough to join a local golfer (single) and got a few pointers about the course as we played the back 9. The fairways were nice, the distances were well marked, the greens were in good shape and putted fairly true.

Customer Service

The people were about average - not great, but okay.

Similar Products Used: The pro-shop had a few good deals, and the practice range was in good shape.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
sed99   Shoots in the 80s [May 14, 2005]

Fantastic course. A real sleeper. Excellent Value. Make sure this track is on your list. Spent a week on the Big Island playing 5 of the famous resort courses. Went to BICC accidentally, turned out to be my favorite, by far. Pete & Perry Dye created a real winner that almost no one plays. Slightly cooler weather at 2000' than the coast. Outstanding layout, design. Challenging course. Every hole is beautiful, interesting, unique- and builds to #17, #18. Maintenance of the greens is a concern; otherwise, no weaknesses- until somebody decides to sink $5-$10mn into the place- then none of the rest of us will be able to play there. Can't say enough good about this place.

Customer Service

Excellent

Similar Products Used: Entertainment value- Portable clubhouse, and the range is 'reversed' until the 'new' clubhouse is constructed.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
sed99   Shoots in the 80s [May 14, 2005]

Fantastic course. A real sleeper. Excellent Value. Make sure this track is on your list. Spent a week on the Big Island playing 5 of the famous resort courses. Went to BICC accidentally, turned out to be my favorite, by far. Pete & Perry Dye created a real winner that almost no one plays. Cooler weather at 2000' than the coast. Can't say enough good about this place.

Customer Service

Excellent

Similar Products Used: Entertainment value- Portable clubhouse, and the range is 'reversed' until the 'new' clubhouse is constructed.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
cmnho   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 13, 2003]

Not the most accessible course on the Big Island but definitely worth the trip there. A beautify and challenging course. I played there in early August and the fairways could have been in better condition. There were quite a few brown patches. Greens were, however, in good condition. I played there for USD45 (twilight rates) and they threw in a free sleeve of logoed balls. Best value in Hawaii!!

Customer Service

Friendly and helpful staff.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com