Kona Country Club - golf courses

Kona Country Club - Golf courses, Kailua Kona, HI

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
JLB   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 19, 2012]

KCC has gone down hill. The courses are poorly maintained, the equipment is in terrible condition and the service is horrible. I feel bad for some of the staff that work there. They seemed embarassed to be associated with the operation. This is one of the most expensive courses on Hawaii and it operates as pretty cheap muni course. I don't no anywhere in the world at these rates where you could show up to find that they are out of carts, using used golf balls on the driving range and serving it all up with a snarky attitude.

Customer Service

There are some very nice people at KCC but the management and most of the crew could care less

Similar Products Used: Locals pay green fees of $25 a round and get every dime of that at KCC. Almost any course on the Big Island offers a better deal and experience
OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
Richard   Shoots in the 100s [Feb 01, 2012]

It looked like they hadn't relocated the holes on the greens in about a month! The edges were brown and ragged.
Range balls are dilapidated.
It just doesn't look like anybody cares very much, which is a shame, as ten years ago it was a courlse that the operators obviously took pride in.

Customer Service

Okay. Good restaurant though.

Similar Products Used: Mauna Lani is the best oceanfront course on the island, Big Island the best inland course, IMHO.
OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
2
Roy   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 27, 2011]

We played the Ocean course. This is a beautiful open and a bit rolly course set amongst condos with some magnificent ocean views and holes. Prices run from $140 to $25. The $25 is for walking 9 holes after 3:30. Course is in decent condition. Maybe not on a par with some of the major resort courses on the island, however, they are better than both Makalei or Big Island. It's a typical, beautiful Hawaiian course with mostly open fairways, a few forced carries and good diversity. This course sees a lot of play but does not seem to suffer from slow play.

Customer Service

Very good.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
SureShot1   Shoots in the 70s [Dec 28, 2010]

Plain awful. The condition of the course was disgusting on both the ocean and mountain. The mountain course smelled like a bad farm with all the wild goats on the fairways and greens and their droppings all over the place. At the range there is a single 5gallon bucket to wash your clubs and it was lined with green algae. Way over priced. I sincerely felt robbed after I played.

Customer Service

Awful, especially the general manager. When I mentioned the bucket at the range, he literally shrugged his shoulders and made it obvious to me that he didn't care to listen to anything else I had to say. The club is surely a product of its uncaring GM.

Similar Products Used: Big Island CC...10 times better in conditions and price, even for out of state customers.
OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
rob peterson   [Jun 17, 2010]

the Mountain Course is overrun by goats and what they leave behind. Definitely health issues.

Customer Service

Poor. Not interested in hearing the concerns of their patrons

OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
Jim Walton   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 08, 2010]

the mountain course back nine has been overrun by goats-several hundred dispensing waste products et al and possibly air born disease. This is potentially a dangerous health situation.

Customer Service

Mediocre> Management does not respond to phone calls

OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
lythgoe   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 15, 2009]

Played both Ocean and Mountain with the Hawaii Golf Card. Otherwise it would have been 2x the price. Ocean was mediocre, nothing really interesting but ok. Mountain was very fun, different than Hapuna and Makalei as it had a different feel with more open areas and palm trees. I would play mountain again, but probably skip Ocean. Both courses where in good shape.

Customer Service

Excellent, very nice staff.

Similar Products Used: too many to list...
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
odgolfer   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 10, 2009]

I have played there a few times...spent 3 weeks there. The ocean course is great golf w/ scenic views every where. I'm from San Diego so the price wasn't so outrageous..

Customer Service

Was good.. and the beer and the bartenders are great! And i remember music on Friday afternoons..

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
rore73   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 26, 2005]

The beauty of the course, or maybe the high price will get your attention off the game if you aren't careful, and the only thing you can shoot is boogies. I played the Beach course and it was beautiful as one might expect of an Hawaiian course. It was well maintained and the course is right in front of you (very few blind shots). My wife heard the cost and thought I had paid for two golfers, without realizing that, "we aren't in Kansas anymore." It's one of the most beautiful courses I have played.

Customer Service

The staff was okay - not overly friendly, but okay. The people in the restaurant are much more friendly.

Similar Products Used: The food in the restaurant was really good, and the beer was cold.
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
2
Jimbo H   Shoots in the 90s [Nov 07, 2003]

I live in Kona and play the Mountain (Mauka) course about twice a month. The new owners of the course are putting a lot of money and effort to upgrade the course. A lot of work has been done to a few of the greens that have really helped improve the course. The course runs through the hills of Keauhou with beautiful ocean views throughout but you will have a lot of uneven lies to deal with. The greens are not as quickas they used to be so it is easier for first timers. The grain is pretty nasty so you have to know which way you are going. The conditions of the fairways and greens are great but the bunkers need some work (I hear they will do it next year.) It is also much cooler on the mountain course than the ocean course.

Customer Service

Great except the beer cart is usually no where to be found until the 12th hole. BYOB

Similar Products Used: Great practice facilities. The restaurant is also one of the bests in the area.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com