Kapalua Golf Club - golf courses

Kapalua Golf Club - Golf courses, Lahaina, HI

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
golfwa   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 21, 2005]

wow...this was cool. the bay course was the first I played and I immediately loved it. the greens were hard to read because of the bermuda, but I thought that overall it was a very fair course. I love number five when you shoot over the ocean, and number four you are right on the ocean with lava outcroppings surrounding the ngreen. I would recommend this course to anyone. Next I played the Plantation. Earlier I played Kaanapali but dont waste your time with that when you can play this course and the bay course. Previous reviews talk about how difficult the plantation is...they are right. Shot 84 and was happy. The wind was blowing 60-70mph. on one hole that was 400 yards I hit driver and then chipped up, but on the next hole that runs parallel and is the same distance, I hit driver and 3-iron but was short five yards. This is no joke. The tees were moved up to about 6900 yards so dont be fooled by it's length. The whole course was beautiful, and I would play here over any other course.

Customer Service

ok

Similar Products Used: ok
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
3
Dion   Shoots in the 70s [Dec 26, 2003]

I've had the opportunity to play on a number of PGA sites around the world. You got to be crazy to fly 5 hours to a tropical island, and not put this track to the test! It's one of the best...and windiest I've ever battled! A most play!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
divotman   Shoots in the 90s [Nov 10, 2003]

played the Bay course in the afternoon at the earliest possible twighlight time, 1:30 and barely finished before dark. the group behind us surely did not finish, as we were putting in the dark on the last hole. the marshalls did not seem interested in keeping the pace of play faster. most holes were challenging and the wind made a big difference on your shot, in some cases as much as 3 clubs. all the greens were challenging, and the ball seemed to break toward the setting sun or at least with the grain, and not with the slope of the green. some drives and 2nd shots were blind, but the scorecard was farely accurate in letting you know where to play your shots. however, at times it was difficult to know how far from the green you were as the yardage markers were difficult to see. the overall scenery was unforgettable. the proshop and marshalls were not as friendly as most of the other locals, but i would still like to play there again someday. the Bay Club restaurant had outstanding food.

Customer Service

impersonal

Similar Products Used: great restaurant
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
3
Joe   Shoots in the 90s [May 02, 2003]

This is one of the best courses that I've played to date. The views are just spectacular. The fairways and greens were in good shape. Lots of curves, slopes and down hills. Wind plays a factor. I expected this course to be alot tougher than it was. I thought Sandalwood Golf Course, in the central part of the island, was actually tougher due to the stronger winds. Some of the downhill holes are going with the wind, making for some awesome drives.

Customer Service

very good

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
3
petkee   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 09, 2003]

Had to tee-off at 07:00 (only avail. time despite booking three weeks in advance), was really not quite awake yet. Played from the white tees, still 6500+ yds. All I can say is you need to carry - not for the weak. The weather, in particular the wind, wreck havoc with my distance. This is definitely a championship course and not a resort course. Think I need to improve significantly to really be able to enjoy this course.

Customer Service

Fairly good.

Similar Products Used: At my handicap, the Bay & Village Course is better suited. Try the Plantation House Restaurant - excellent food.
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
2
gfweb   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 02, 2002]

Great layout on the Plantation course as long as the usual winds are blowing. On the rare still day it'd be a push-over

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
ga   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 15, 2002]

Kapalua Plantation, home of the Mercedes Championships and SLOW PLAY. 5 1/2 hour rounds here. Any tee time after 2:00pm, forget about getting 18 in. Played the course 1 week after the championship. From tee to fairway the course was in very good shape, although the greens looked very worn. Way too many people play this course and the it shows in the play time and the greens condition.

Customer Service

No course marshalls which adds to the slow play. In general, the staff are friendly.

Similar Products Used: Dinky driving range for a championship course.
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
Carl Spackler   Scratch Golfer [Jan 11, 2002]

Great COURSE!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Jeff Newton   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 12, 2001]

Just playing where the pro''s play was enough for me. I enjoyed the Plantation Course, especially 17 & 18. Breath-taking views. Keep the driver in the bag on number 1 (from the regular tees)

Customer Service

Excellent

Similar Products Used: Plantation Restaraunt in the clubhouse is the best
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Barney   Shoot in the 80s [Oct 25, 2000]

There are three courses to choose from - Bay, Village and
Plantation. The Plantation is where they hold the Mercedes
Open in Jan. I chose the Plantation to play. The course is
in excellent shape. A lot of blind shots. In order to score
well here, you need to play more than once in order to get
a feel for where to go with each shot. The greens WILL
break towards the setting sun (even uphill) so be aware of
where the sun will set when putting.

Overall the distance off the back tees is around 7300 yards.
If you don't hit the ball close to 300 off the tee don't
bother with these tees as the course will break your back.

The trade winds do play a big part of the game at this
course so play accordingly.

The course was in excellent shape the day I played it. I
loved the whole layout. VERY, VERY CHALLENGING!!!!! It's a
must to bring your A game to play here....

Customer Service

I was treated better by the course personnel at some of the other resort couses on Maui.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com