Kauai Lagoons Golf & Racq Club - golf courses

Kauai Lagoons Golf & Racq Club - Golf courses, Lihue, HI

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
ecareaga   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 04, 2009]

Played Kauai Lagoons in July of 09. Originally, this space had two courses but they tore up one to put in houses and are planning to either turn the course into a 27-hole layout or an 18 with an executive par three course. This info came from one of the starters. After the housing collapse, none of the construction has been completed and the place appears to be in limbo. As for now, they have you playing 16 holes on one course then finishing your round on 17 and 18 on the second. As for the course, not bad overall. The fairways are incredibly wide and forgiving. The greens were slow but in good shape. The bunkers are the hard pack red clay that is indicative of the area. If you play here, play early, the winds on this side of the island pick up pretty good on the back nine. The last two holes are dead into the wind with a long approach to an island green on 18. Even with a solid drive, your looking at a 180 to 200 yard approach into a strong head wind. I played on a deal called the Kauai challenge. One discount price got me on Lagoon, Princeville and Poipu. If you don’t mind the look of unfinished construction sites, it’s still a good course to play while on Kauai. Also, for golf equipment in this area, one of the guys at Lagoons turned me on to a near by store call Pro-Am golf; top name equipment and ball prices were lower than So Cal prices.

Customer Service

Outstanding.

Similar Products Used: All So Cal courses.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Roy 1   Shoots in the 70s [Dec 26, 2006]

Played Dec. 06. We have played the Kiele and Mokihana courses for a number of years now. (I did an earlier review.) We play on Kauai for one month a year. For the last couple of years condition have not been what they where in the past. They have gone down hill, especially this year. Fairways are a bit thin and muddy. Greens have had a lot of dirt showing. Still a wonderful layout. Just a lot of $$$$$ for this kind of conditions. $105 Moki, $175 Kiele. Pretty sad when the conditions at Wailiua Muni are better.

Customer Service

Still, excellent.

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
2
jeep00   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 30, 2005]

Played the Kiele Course and loved it. The holes right off the water are breathtaking. I love the holes where you have to hit over the lush forest. Then after you tee off, you get to drive your cart through the forest. The fairways and greens were excellent condition. My only gripe about the course was that the bunkers were not consistent. Some were very grainy while others were almost like hitting out of clay.

Customer Service

The service at this course was great. You drop off your bag at the bag drop and put on a cart for you. After the round, they clean your clubs and give you a bagtag with your name on it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Mike Black   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 04, 2003]

Played both courses. Keile is the most breathtaking and the most difficult. Both courses in excellent shape, don't miss.

Customer Service

Very accomadating, friendly, and courteous.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
arky agoncillo   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 17, 2003]

the kiele is a beautiful course; definitely a must-play if visiting kauai. tee-to-green condition is excellent and the views on the final six holes are grand. if you are unable to see the flag on your approach shot to the signature 16th-hole green, aim slight right and just let your ball roll down using the embankment. the par-3's are great - some over the water/ocean shots!

Customer Service

courteous and friendly. my wife (a non-playing rider) arrived late but the staff happily and painstakingly drove her around the entire course looking for me.

Similar Products Used: stayed at the marriott resort - no qualms whatsoever.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
jeff   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 05, 2003]

Kiele course is the one I played and it was amazing. I got their early, second group out (tried to beat the humidity). Ocean views and condition of course are like none I have seen before. Great. Price of $140.00 was worth every dime. I played Poipu Bay, Kiahuna, and the Municipal course (cant remember name) and even though this was expensive (like the Poipu course) it was soooo fun. I remember the Par 3 where you have a target type green in which you have to hit over a rainforest set down in a small valley. Also, 3 amazing ocean holes that I just stared and stared at when playing. The most beautiful course I have played yet and I have played Maui Wailea, Makena, and Kapalua courses too.

Customer Service

Very Friendly

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Roy 1   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 23, 2002]

As mentioned previously, 2 courses here: Kiele and Mokihana. Both are incredibly beautiful courses. The conditions are perhaps the best in he world. Greens, fairways and tees are immaculately kept. The courses are mostly wide open and good for all levels of play. Difficulty lies in approach shots, many sand bunkers and some water. Putting greens are complex and tricky but holds balls well, roll is exceedling true, and they are plush. A risk/reward course. Courses are very pricey, but worth it. $99 for the Kiele and $65 for the Mokihana twilight rates. Regular rates exceed $100 per round. Still one of the most beautiful golf courses anywhere.

Customer Service

Very good

Similar Products Used: Has all you could need!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Jill   Shoot in the 100s [Apr 27, 2001]

The Kiele is by far the more spectacular of the two courses, but don't pass up the Mokihana either. Ocean views are spectacular. Will get some airplane noise, but with the views, who cares! Greens and fairways in good shape. Never seems too crowded. A must play!

Customer Service

We stayed at a cottage on the grounds of the Marriott and always played "on call". Played 14 rounds in 16 days and never had an issue getting on the course. We had great rates with the cottage as well, so my value rating is tainted.

Similar Products Used: Be sure to try the sushi type sandwich at the turn. I can't even remember the name, but chicken surrounded by rice, wrapped in seaweed - yum!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
gary w   Shoot in the 80s [Jan 18, 2001]

One of 3 best courses in Hawaii, one of the best anywhere. Challenging, interesting terrain changes,strategic

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
larry nelson   Shoot in the 90s [Jun 14, 2000]

two courses.. take the ocean side.. you won't believe the views of the ocean and the excellent course.. you have to play this course..

Customer Service

excellent..

Similar Products Used: excellent..
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com