Boone Creek Golf Course - golf courses

Boone Creek Golf Course - Golf courses, McHenry, IL

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Bogey   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 17, 2014]

The course is built on a former sod farm so the course is very flat. It has three 9 hole courses that rotate for a variety of 18 hole experiences. The fareway's are cut nicely, but the rough is very high. This causes slow play as it makes it difficult to find your ball in the rough. The course plays very easy with usually a driver and short iron into par 4's. The greens roll true with very few ball marks to throw your putt off. Unfortunately the cart paths are dusty gravel and your bag will need to beat like a old rug when your round is complete to get the dust off. A couple of strategically placed bunkers around the greens could improve the difficulty factor of this course. Suggest this course for beginners or golfers that play only a couple of times a year. Golfers with a low handicap will score well but most likely find the course far from challenging.

Customer Service

Very frienly staff led by Dave and Ryan. Food selection has improved.

Similar Products Used: Chapel Hill, Pistakee, Fox Lake CC,
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
caddieshack28   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 26, 2003]

I came here to play from out-of-state and I had very good first impressions. I love the clubhouse, it is very modern and clean, with a nice sized bar/restaurant. Huge driving range, bunker, and putting green for practice. However, once on the course, I wasn't all too impressed. Course was too easy from what I am used to. VERY wide open, few trees. There are a few bunkers and occasional water to keep you honest. I scored my best round here because of lack of hazards though. I thought the yardages were way overrated. The par 3s said 190 when they were actually 150, just didn't match up with my clubs and distance I hit them. Overall, I recommend it for a beginning golfer who wants a nice clean course, without becoming too frustrated.

Customer Service

Excellent. Beverage cart. Friendly rangers.

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
4
Tom Buehler   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 14, 2003]

Boone Creek is a great course for the money. Great for developing your game, combines all of the needed obstacles without making the game daunting.

Customer Service

Excellent. They make new-comers feel comfortable and welcome.

Similar Products Used: My son has done group lessons and seems to love Jim and his teaching methods. Practice putting green is very nice and practice green/bunker is a nice one to work on your short game.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Gerry   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 09, 2003]

Great course, my personal favorite. Very hard to break 80.

Customer Service

Very Friendly and clean

Similar Products Used: Great pro in jim
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Chris Green   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 10, 2003]

Fun golf course, usually kept in nice shape. Wide open, very forgiving.

Customer Service

Very friendly staff.

Similar Products Used: Jim Buenzli is a great instructor. He gives top quality lessons and he really knows how to improve your game.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
phil mcrackin   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 04, 2003]

the course is great and the people are great the front and back nine are really good and they keep the course in good shape.

Customer Service

great service they really know what there doing

Similar Products Used: jim buenzli's coaching is amazing he really helped me alot with my swing
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
cannedgizmos   Shoots in the 100s [Jun 17, 2002]

there arn't too many obstacles on the 9 hole course, a few trees and a little water, but nothing big. its a good course for beginers to practice on, and is pretty forgiving.

Customer Service

nice staff, very helpful

Similar Products Used: range is good, putting green not even, sand, good practice.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
skipray   Shoots in the 80s [May 12, 2002]

This a good course for the money with great practice facilities.

Customer Service

Was very good, but their clubhouse burned down in April

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
jdschoef   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 24, 2001]

Great course! Very well maintained from tee off to greens. Large practice range and green. The course starts off fairly easy and becomes more challenging towards the end.

Customer Service

Very polite and friendly. I have been to many courses that express a sense of arrogance. Not Here.

Similar Products Used: Facility is fresh and clean. Plenty of good parking. Clubhouse is nicely equipped.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Joe   Shoot in the 80s [May 11, 2001]

a great course with great people working, everyone should play this course once, but try too play it twice

Customer Service

customer service was super

Similar Products Used: range the best in illinois
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com