Acushnet River Valley GC - golf courses

Acushnet River Valley GC - Golf courses, Acushnet, MA

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Dan   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 11, 2010]

A really nice track. We were pleasantly surprised. Architect Brian Silva has created a very nice layout here. Some interesting holes and decent condtition considering the amount of play this course gets. That said, the staff needs to work on educating the public on treating the course nicely. And some signage to that effect would probably help. Greens were torn up a bit even by soft spikes. People need to be taught to treat this course a little more gently. In any case, a really good golf course that can offer some big time challenge from the tips, and even from the Blues tees! Fun to play, definitely recommended.

Customer Service

Excellent. Friendly and affable guys in the clubhouse.

Similar Products Used: Greystone, Rochester, NY
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
SteveG   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 19, 2007]

Nice course. Reasonable walk, good challenge from different tees. Definately worth the visit. Solid 3 star experience.

Customer Service

Acceptable. Small grill w/drinks and sandwiches. Driving range was not open the day I visited due to shortage of help. Folks nice.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
3
Five Angels   Shoots in the 90s [Jan 03, 2007]

Played in 2006. The course was in very good shape. The front nine is tree-lind, the back nine is Scottish links - very fun layout! The topography varies, so there are some elevated and sunken approaches to greens. The greens are mid-sized and not overly challenging. I don not recall and undulating tiers to the greens, at all.

Customer Service

The staff was OK, at best. We had rangers pushing us (due to one novice in our foursome), which I feel was unecessary as we often were waiting for the group in front of us.

We were booked a tee time immediately following a Florida-style shotgun start for a whole tournament, which made for a chaotic and not as enjoyable afternoon. Why they didn't just adjust our tee time was a poor judgment call on the staff and one I assign to greediness in trying to jam us in. Beware!

Similar Products Used: Riverbend CC in West Bridgewater, MA.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
3
ChrisM   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 16, 2006]

Best value out there. If you walk a great deal. Easy course to walk and greens are true. Fairways are generous and will not punish you.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
dizzdogg2000   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 14, 2003]

Overall, a great experience. The course is in great shape, and is well worth the price of admission. The front nine is a traditional American course, and the back nine is a Scottish links style course. The back nine makes the course. It is beautiful and challenging.

Customer Service

OK, but not terrific. I've golfed here a few times and have been less than pleased at times with their policies. I had 6:00 am tee time (1st one out), and when I got to the 10th hole, I had to wait because they were starting people at the 1st and the 10th. I don't get the 1st tee time to wait. Policy on cancellations is a little brutal too. I tried to plan a group outing in advance, and they wanted numbers guaranteed by a credit card. This left no room for last minute cancellations or threesomes.

Similar Products Used: The driving range is great. Get their early and warm up. Nice big putting green too. Great if you like to work out the kinks before playing.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
ericfebs   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 30, 2003]

The course was in great shape (played last fall). Greens were very quick and fairways in great shape. Plus, Titleist headquarters are located closeby, so if you walk thru the woods or high grass, you find many nice new prototype ProV balls all over the place. But its a great municipal course in great shape.

Customer Service

No problems here (but i wore the standard golf clothes, pants & collared shirt).

Similar Products Used: Range pretty good too.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
scott   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 12, 2003]

Don't let losers who can't play in jeans or make tee times as a single prevent you from playing this course. Next thing you know, someone will cry about wearing a collared-shirt. The course is great, greens are super and it is a great challenge for all golfers. Course is 4 out of 5, but I'm giving it 5 to balance out the meatballs who think its cool to play golf wearing their wife-beater tee shirts.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
kenz   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 13, 2002]

I would give up golf if this was the only golf course around. The attitude of the people there was terrible. Since I live over 30 miles away, I called for all the particulars before I made a reservation. I asked if there was anything I needed to know since I had never played there before. They said...no and were more than happy to take my credit card number to hold a tee since they don't do it any other way. Well, after driving 30 miles, I was informed my partner and I would not be allowed on the course since we were wearing jeans. I have played on probably 12 different courses and have never come across this before. In any event, I was not told of this condition when I called and asked but they were quick to point out that I could buy 2 pairs of shorts there for 32 dollars if I wanted to golf bad enough. Why was I not told of this when I called? Guess I did not want to play bad enough after being treated like that my partner and I left. I never did play the course so my low review numbers reflect the attitudes, not the course itself.

OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
GM4177   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 11, 2002]

Good course. Played April 11th and the course was in very good shape for this time of year. They even had the ball washers out. I''ve played courses that don''t put those out until June!!! What I like is the fact that you will use every club in the bag on this course.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
got screwed   Shoot in the 90s [Apr 21, 2001]

course was fine.

Customer Service

wouldn't let me make a tee time for a single, which would have let me play the full 18. i doubt any of their friends or family members would have been treated like i had been.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com