Brookline Golf Club - golf courses

Brookline Golf Club - Golf courses, Chestnut Hill, MA

User Reviews (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7  
bmbcad   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 11, 2009]

This course has come along way and they are spending money here and there. Just put in cart paths almost everywhere so when it is wet you still can play. Greens and tees beat both George Wright and Franklin Park by a long shot. For $38 during the week, you can not beat it!

Customer Service

Has improved from in the past!

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Tom   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 26, 2006]

Great course, especially for a muni. Some very picturesque shots. Especially the drive on 9, and the blind tee shot on 10, and the shot on 12 with the rocks behind the green. I really like that none of the par 3's are the 200 yard shots that need a near perfect shot to hit. Fairways are beat up, and in worse condition with the rain of this spring. Still some casual water, but most courses are dealing with this. Great course, and cant beat the price.

Customer Service

Nice folks

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Dan Diorio   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 18, 2005]

I agree with the other reviews... The course is never going to be in great shape. But it is what it is. The course is heavily played and they obviously don't have a ton of money to sink into it. But each year, they've done something to improve it. I've played in a league there for 5 years and all of us enjoy it. It's a strange layout, with some strange holes but all of them can present some kind of problem. You MUST keep your ball in play to shoot the score you think you should given the low slope and rating.

Customer Service

No complaints. The mean starter we had to deal with a few years ago is gone now.

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
jkb   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 14, 2005]

Convenient course in the city. Could be great but it's not taken care of as well as some other Brookline courses. What else can you expect from a muni in the city. Not an easy course though.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
3
tzoid1_1   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 04, 2003]

Havent been to the course in 7 years but what a difference, its nice to see Towns that care about their establishment and try and keep making it better. The course has come a long way and the tees and greens are excellent. They have a great deal, Fall Special 18 holes of golf with a cart and lunch for $35. You cant beat it!

Customer Service

Very friendly and helpful as well.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
yjk447   Shoots in the 100s [Jun 18, 2002]

it a OK place.... some of the holes are being fixed up and when it is done it should be better. Juniors get good rates at only $10. and the fees are really good. The people that work their are also very nice

Customer Service

Very good......f

Similar Products Used: restarant and rest rooms are being fixed up
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
4
Bob   Shoot in the 80s [Jul 30, 2001]

What a beautiful course... wasted by complete and utter neglect. Imagine Julie Roberts - at 110 years old. You can see what was once there, but you really don't want to look too long.

Simply put, a lovely, old course design has been ruined by perhaps the worst course conditions I have ever seen. The back nine is actually dangerous to walk on. While walking past a water hazard, my right leg suddenly sunk, plunging down to my knee. I'm thankful I did not break it.
Fairways are a joke. It's a botanist's dream out there. Every weed known to man can be found on Putterham's (aka Brookline Golf Club) back nine fairways. Rich soil samples too. No digging required, just scoop it up!

The best contrast I can give you is this. I played Butternut the previous day. For five more bucks, it is a WORLD of improvement, well worth the 45 min drive to Stow, to avoid the likes of Putterham.

Customer Service

Very nice folks.

Similar Products Used: Unlike Arnold, I WON'T be back.
OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
Jay   Shoot in the 90s [Nov 27, 2000]

I would have enjoyed this course more if I did not have to pay for my partner Lars' round. Of course, I am running a fever and he beats me and I pay him, yet I still do not get paid back for the round. He sucks.

As for the course, when you look up municipal in the dictionary, this is what you see. That said, there are some interesting holes. The green on 17 is cruel and if you are above the hole, put yourself down for a 10 and move on. The tee shot on 10 is a blind one and if you forget to ring the bell after you hit your second shot someone may put a cap in yo behind. 12 is a ridiculously short par 3.

The tee boxes were more worn out than Courtney Love but the greens were in good shape and if you can avoid the standing water in some of the fairways it is playable.

Customer Service

Everyone was very friendly. Could have spent all day yukkin' it up with the starter

Similar Products Used: Beer was cold and the hot dogs were tasty. What else is there?
OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
3
Showing 1-7 of 7  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com