Brushy Mountain Golf Course - golf courses

Brushy Mountain Golf Course - Golf courses, Taylorsville, NC

User Reviews (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7  
mrichardson   Shoots in the 80s [May 29, 2014]

This is always our first stop on our way to the mtns to play for few days. I have always found the staff to be very courteous and have never had trouble getting a tee time. The coursem is always in very good shape

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
mcvg   Shoots in the 70s [Nov 03, 2010]

Brushy Mountain is probably the finest golf gem in the area, especially for the bargain cost. The course is always carefully well kept and the fairways and greens are very nice. Like almost every course in the Hickory area, Brushy had some challenges with the greens about a year ago, but they are well healed now and almost completely back to their excellent original condition - kudos to their greenskeepers. The fairways are always excellent - even throughout the winter (they over seed the fairways every winter). Unlike some other posters, I've played Brushy (walking) and have usually played in 3 and a half hours or less, which I love about this course. Brushy is a very fair challenge of golf and I usually need to use almost every club in my bag in an average round. For the money, you won't find a better kept and challenging course anywhere around.

Customer Service

Nice guys in the clubhouse and the grill is good eating - $2 gets you a hot dog all the way with chips and a pickle...no kidding.

Similar Products Used: Lake Hickory CC, River Crest GC, Rock Barn CC
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
barracuda   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 11, 2006]

Outside of the ridiculously slow pace of play this course provides a fair test of golf at an affordable price. I guess it doesn't matter when you try and get out here, but mornings are always packed. I've tried calling this place a single many times and always get a very cold "no" when attempting to get a tee time, or get hooked up with a twosome of threesome. Basically it's all good 'ol boys here, and they really guard their space well. Brushy is in very good shape, especially for what you pay. The course is not the most challenging, but it's not the easiest either. It's not a dull round of golf. If I ever play here again it will be well into the afternoon. Mornings are just about impossible. And this was on a Wednesday when I showed up here. I can't even imagine weekends here.

Customer Service

The old dudes in the pro shop will do everything they can to keep you off the golf course. Never could get a tee time. Better to just show up. I guess I don't qualify as a "good 'ol boy" just yet.

Similar Products Used: Westpark, Leesburg, VA
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
4
Steve Bogdan   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 20, 2006]

I played this course on 4/18/06 and it was in very good shape. They had ice cold water igloos placed all over which was a nice surprize. Yardage markers are on sprinkler heads and cart paths. The greens were fast and true and in great shape. The fairways were also in great shape. The terrain is hilly and slopy. There is one hole that you can hit even a 5 wood into the water and you have no clue as to how far it is to the water. They need to tell you on the tee that yardage. The rates are very reasonable and they offer a senior rate Mon. through Wed. at $22 with cart. I can't wait to play it again.

Customer Service

The people in the pro shop were very helpful and nice.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
golfer17   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 05, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Brushy Mountain Golf Club

This golf course for the most part is kept up pretty well...The only problem I have with it is a golf course designer has never touched this place. 2 holes on the course that run parallel to each other (1 on fornt + 1 on back) are EXACTLY the same. THere just isn't much there.

Customer Service

Ran into some trouble.

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
Gazornan   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 19, 2005]

I played this course for the first time today. For a newby, It plays quite a bit tougher than the slope suggests. The course yardages are well marked, but actual layout is hard to determine, especially from the hole diagrams. If you are not very good with your short irons, the bunkers will likely always be an issue. This is a fun course to play, but very undulating. It really pays to go look over the hills before you hit.

Customer Service

Fair

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
lpresn44   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 23, 2002]

Brushy Mt. Golf Course is a very difficult course from the tips, not because of its length but because of its terrain. The course is a rolling hills course with many elevation changes. The greens as well as the entire course are in excellent condition. The greens are moderately fast with a lot of undulations. Some of the greens are small and difficult to hit (#18-par 4 444yds-uphill to a 4000 sq ft green well guarded by 2 bunkers)the rough is moderate (2")but the fairways are excellent. The course is well bunkered but not overly so. Brushy Mt. is a challenge so if you plan to play it from the tips bring your A game..

Customer Service

Very good. Friendly staff.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Showing 1-7 of 7  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com