Bailey Golf Ranch - golf courses

Bailey Golf Ranch - Golf courses, Owasso, OK

User Reviews (6)

Showing 1-6 of 6  
slobruce   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 17, 2007]

I played Bailey Ranch the first time about 5 years ago, and the second time, this past weekend. It is still a beautiful course, but the greens are in very poor condition. There is an apparent attempt to re-construct some of the greens, but this effort has a long way to go before the course deserves anything like a 4-5 rating.

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
Kent   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 13, 2007]

Shameful that this course is even open. Three of the greens were nothing but mud with absolutely no grass at all. The others were spotty at best. Sandtraps were varied from good to bad while the fairways were in good condition. Course layout is challenging. I was visiting the Tulsa area attending the PGA Championship and this course was recommended. Cannot believe anyone would knowingly pay money to play golf here with the greens in the condition they were in.

Customer Service

Staff was very friendly but downplayed the condition of the greens.

Similar Products Used: I have played courses all over the country ranging from resort to muni's and these greens were by far the worst. Wasn't even worth trying to putt.
OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
golferwannabe   Shoots in the 100s [Jul 21, 2005]

The other reviews to date were all from "Shoots in the 80s", so I thought I would give my perspective from a guy who has seen plenty of 120s this year. I've not played many courses, probably around 10 or so. Bailey by far is the nicest kept course I've played. The fairways look great compared to other courses around and the greens are awesome. The biggest problem I've had as a rookie golfer on this course is with the frequent inconsistent areas of knee high to waste high grass. The price of playing goes up by at least $10 just in lost balls. Some of the holes have several "patches" of this kind of grass just barely off the fairway. Another problem on certain holes is the distance to the fairway from the Tee box. You really have to smack it good just to clear the "very" rough. That encourages rookies to try to hit too hard and slice in to the trees. Not a common problem, but something to get used to is at least 1, sometimes twice during a game, hitting in to some houses. Nothing scares a newbie like the thought of smashing in to an expensive house, or car or worse, a kid. Houses are present on all of the front nine and many of the back nine. Most hazards are placed appropriately though and with practice, I'm learning to avoid them and stay in the fairway or just out of it. Holes to watch out for. #9 - I’ve lost a ball every game I’ve played there except 1, and it’s not that bad of a hole. #14 – My friends and I have nick named this hole “The Hell Hole” This is the one where you need to hit a drive about 150 yards and pretty high off the ground and pretty dang straight or you’ve lost the ball. Tip… Take a drop. I’ve watched 4 guys hit 2 tee shots each in to the trees on this hole. Overall, Bailey has been a very affordable way to play and work on my problem areas. I would encourage anyone at my level of play to come try Bailey… just bring plenty of balls.

Customer Service

Other than their lack of knowledge on what to charge you, the customer service has been pretty good and mostly friendly.

Similar Products Used: Driving Range is good, though frequently closed for mowing or if it's rained recently. Chipping and putting areas are well kept and more than adequate for practice.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Chad Allen   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 06, 2003]

Bailey Ranch is my favorite course to play. Not only because I live in Owasso, but I love everything about the course. The Tees, Fairways, Bunkers, and Greens are always kept up to PGA standards. One of my favorite things about the course is how forgiving it is. You can have a bad shot off the tee and still be on in regulation. I have never been dissapointed with the way the course looks. It is nice to have a home course to be proud of.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Rob Lawrence   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 09, 2003]

This was previously my favorite course in the Tulsa area. I appreciated the marshalls' diligent monitoring of the pace of play. However, the marshalls have recently slacked off. Sand trap problems and practice facility disrepair have degraded an otherwise excellent value course into a got-what-you-paid-for experience. Still a great track at a great price.

Customer Service

Major dropoff in marshall effectiveness recently.

Similar Products Used: Practice facility substandard.
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
4
jansen   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 30, 2003]

Excellent golf course. It's a British links style golf course; wide open, windy conditions, few trees, and some water to deal with here and there. This course plays a bit longer than the given yardage due to the wind. Although the fairways are forgiving, the rough is like a hay field. So if you miss off the tee, you just lost a ball.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
3
Darrell Yates   Shoot in the 80s [Apr 03, 2001]

A very well maintained, somewhat links style course. Water, deep rough, mixed elevation and well bunkered greens are encountered throughout the course. It is a sprawling layout, with long trips between tee boxes.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Michael Potts   Shoot in the 80s [Oct 31, 2000]

Bailey Ranch has become my favorite golf course. In my opinion it is highly under-rated. I regularly enjoy almost every aspect of this course. The fairways always leave you an excellent lie as they are maintained meticulously. And with some of the knee deep Native-grass that border many of the holes, you will certainly want your shots to come to rest in the fairway. The course is not long but it is challenging. The only negative I can muster is that a few of the holes require pretty decent pokes just clear the junk and reach the fairway. Not a problem for bogey golfers or better, but hell for the short knocker.

The course is just flat fun to play. Many holes offer great risk/reward oppotunities. You can knock 30 yards off your approach shot but you will flirt with danger off the tee to do so. As I tell my buddies playing there for the 1st time.....PLAY SAFE! If you try to "Go for it", Bailey will eat you up!

One extremely unique quaility Bailey Ranch displays is courteous, helpful and beneficial marshalls. How many times have you been waiting on the group ahead all darn day only to have a rude marshall ask YOU to pick up the pace. Not here! On a couple of occasions, I actually received an apology from the marshall about the pace ahead of us. If the pace of play is being held up, the marshalls locate and correct the problem as opposed to hacking off every group on the course by trying to hurry the victims of slow play.

The greens are very lush. Smooth and true without being bikini wax slick. Clubhouse offers valuable pin placement maps which is so much better than the up, middle and back flags so often used at other courses.

A review of Bailey Ranch would not be complete without mentioning the yardage markers. They are everywhere. It seems like you can't walk 10 steps without seeing one. And bless them for having the yardages marked on the par 3 tee boxes. My favorite is the 250 yard marker on the par 5's that instruct you to, "Just Hit It"....Amen!

Customer Service

As much as I love the layout at Bailey, the courteous pro shop guys, marshalls and even the beverage cart gals are what stands out the most at Bailey Ranch. Where else can you play and ride for under 30 bucks and be made to feel like you at a Country Club!

Similar Products Used: Very large driving range with beautiful tee boxes. Nice grill..They gotta be losing money on the Bailey's Club Sandwich..I have actually stopped by for lunch without hitting balls or putting!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-6 of 6  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com