Bedford Springs Golf Course - golf courses

Bedford Springs Golf Course - Golf courses, Bedford, PA

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
duck27   Shoots in the 80s [May 20, 2005]

this course is a donald ross design and you can see his signature all over it. the greens are small and tuff. the routing is wonderful. the country side is typical pa country side rolling hills and small mountains. there is not one house on the course and all you can hear is the birds sing. the tee box are a little ratty but the greens where in good shape. the fairways are not well defined.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
cfhayes   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 03, 2004]

Course has a lot of character and a very nice design, unfortunately when we played a couple of weeks ago it was in poor condition. The fairways were muddy and the rough and fairways were cut very similar.

Customer Service

Very nice people

OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
3
Mike17932486   Shoots in the 100s [May 11, 2004]

My uncle came in from California over the weekend, we decided to go golfing at the Bedford Springs, he has been playing for well over 20 years, while i'm just an amature. I'd never played there, and I wasen't expecting that kind of quality. It was a difficult course, but also one of the best him and I had played on. And for the price of $20 for 18 holes and a cart, its unbeatable.

Customer Service

Good

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Matthew Bockhouse   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 27, 2003]

This course has a lot of memories for me both good and bad. From my grandfather and I searching for golfballs when I was a small child to Mowing the green on the Volcano (and if you think getting yourself to the green is hard you should try a mower.

Customer Service

excellent as always

Similar Products Used: well having painted the proshop when the course was first reopened after the bridge fiasco i can tell you the in house golf pro is a great guy and a major help to all who need him
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Joe   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 01, 2003]

Each year, three friends and I drive up from the Washington, DC area to stay in Bedford and play this course. We've played many courses (I've done the golf trip to Scotland) and all of us really enjoy the Springs. Considering the cost of Pinehurst #2 and some of the other Ross venues, this course is a spectacular value, the best we've ever seen. Nice people run it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Gooch   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 24, 2002]

In a word, awesome. I had read some negative things about this course, but as an avid golfer who plays a lot and has played numerous top tier courses, I can tell you confidently that this course is a treasure. Twilight (3 p.m.), 7 days a week, $16 w/ cart! Unquestionably the best golf value I have ever played. Ever. One possible reason for some earlier negative reviews: in the early 90s, the course was shut down for several years and went to waste. In or around 96 the county bought it and brought in a terrific greenskeeper (Sharon is her first name). She has done a magnificent job restoring this course. Magnificent. To have let this Donald Ross course slip away would have been criminal. Kudos to Bedford. This course is a hidden treasure. Thank you for bringing it back. For those who know the Bedford area you will know the Down River course in Everett. Nice course; pretty easy because it is wide open, very flat. For those reasons, fun to play periodically, and folks tend to hype it. But Down River can't hold a candle to Bedford Springs. This course is a gem.

Customer Service

Adequate; friendly. If you get off on a very professional appearance, with folks walking around in Bedford Srpings polo shirts and very officious starters, go to Nemacolin Woods. This is not your cour

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Kevin Lingenfelter   Shoot in the 90s [Jun 21, 2001]

I wanted to correct some misinformation as well as give an opinion on the course. This course was expanded from 9 to 18 holes in the early 1900's by Donald Ross. Bill Love is somebody that the current ownership hired,but he has done nothing of any note.This is the true history of this course. While this course is not listed at the Ross Society web site it was he who designed the expansion. Perhaps it isn't listed because he did not do the original 9 holes.The course is long and also requires accurate shots. All of the greens are different from each other. One hole may have a large green, the next may be tiny, the next may be tiered.The grounds are in excellent condition.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Ken   Shoot in the 80s [Mar 31, 2001]

Played the course four times last season. It was a pleasure each time. Maintenance was good at the beginning, very good by the end of the season. Greens are excellent, tees very good. The course is one of the most beautiful that my foursome has played. It is very challenging, but not impossible. It requires strength, but good skills and the experience to know what to do in a myriad of situations.

A small stream meanders in and around old stately deciduous trees as in flows through the center of the course. It requires many bridges to be crossed as the course is played. The bridges were new in 1999 and built with as much concern towards esthetic beauty as to utility.

The course is very long. When you leave the clubhouse at the first tee, you don't return until the 18th green. For much of the middle holes, even the last few, you cannot even see the clubhouse.

The only down sides of the course are: (A) because of the reasonable tee fees, you may find other golfers playing that are slow or not really tuned in to how to play the game; (B) the old Bedford Springs Hotel. Dating back to the early 1800's, the old hotel is badly deteriorated. It's not the golf course's fault, as the hotel is owned by other interests. But it's depressing to see how someone or a group of people could let such a wonderful relic decay into its present state.

Customer Service

We were well treated. Tee times easy to make, respected. Courteous staff.

Similar Products Used: Snack shop - fair, but getting better; golf shop - fair; driving range - excellent; practice putting green - excellent. You would not want to take your wife or girlfriend there for a meal. But if you want to play a superb course at a dirt cheap fee, who cares how fancy the food is. There can't be a better golfing value for the dollar at any course in the world.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com