Cheraw State Park Golf Course - golf courses

Cheraw State Park Golf Course - Golf courses, Cheraw, SC

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
steve@shattuck.net   Shoots in the 80s [May 13, 2008]

This is a great course, always in immaculate shape, and an interesting layout. For a state park course, a trip to Cheraw to play here is well worth the effort.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
corey the caddy   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 20, 2007]

Was very excited about playing Cheraw State Park, because as you pull into the parking lot, the course looks spectacular. The fairways were in great shape for February, but the bunkers and greens needed some help. Bunkers were very inconsistent and the greens had some rough spots. Pace of play seemed to be the biggest issue. It took over 5 hours on a tuesday. No rangers so the pace was terrible. We were waiting on tee-box with another group for half the holes. Par 4 holes on the front nine all seemed very similiar. 380 to 410 (from back tees) with bunker up the left side, got very dull. The par threes on the other hand were great, all different lengths and each going in different directions. 495 yard par 4 on the back nine that was as hard as any par 4 in the Southeast US. Great hole! Once again pace of play was big issue. Very good golf course for 18 dollars. Drove 1 1/2 hours to play. Wouldnt drive that far again just to play, but would play if I was in the area.

Customer Service

Guys inside seemed nice enough nothing that stood out good or bad.

Similar Products Used: Legacy golf links in Southern Pines, NC
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
4
wrivers   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 12, 2003]

My mother and grandmother currently reside in cheraw which gives me the opportunity to play the course throughout the year.I must admit, through all of my play at the more famous courses in South Carolina, none compare to the quality of this course. The course is never crowded, and stays in top condition ten months out of the year. Add in the 30 dollars spent to play, and there is no better value anywhere. Definitely a diamond in the rough!!!

Customer Service

Excellent..

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
russ Hicks   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 03, 2003]

By far the best course for your buck in SC. Our group plays it every year on our way to Myrtle Beach to play , and it it still as good or better than the high dollar courses in Myrtle Beach.

Customer Service

Excellent

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Larry   Shoots in the 90s [Dec 21, 2002]

I've played this course four times now and plan to play it three more times this summer. I do a South Carolina golf vacation each year and this course is one I select. It is as nice a most private courses I play and much better than most those open to the public. This course will test you, but is fair.

Customer Service

GREAT

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
jesuswtl   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 26, 2002]

I was told about this course 1-1/2 years ago and when I visited the area, I had to try it out. I must say I was not disappointed. Cheraw State Park course is one of the prettiest layouts that I've ever played. The greens were very slow, but after 3 or 4 holes I got used to them. I will definitely get back to play this one.

Customer Service

Good to excellent.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Steve Maguire   Shoot in the 80s [Aug 01, 2001]

Course has been 1 of my favorites in the area for a while now. The conditions are usually above average and the course and staff rarely let me down. I have brought people from out of state and they can't believe the condition of the course for a state park. I wish they could have kept the bent greens because they tend to play better as long as folks are doing thier jobs with the ball marks. The bermuda greens are usually in good shape but do tend to get a little hard in the middle of summer. Overall, the course makes you play all your shots and rewards you for a well played gamble. Worth every bit of money that is payed in the green fees and can hold it's own against a lot of the more expensive and 'Factory' golf courses at Myrtle Beach. Tom Jackson did an excellent job with the land he had and kept a lot of the natural surroundings undisturbed.

















Similar Products Used: Excellent practicing facilities.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Dave   Shoot in the 90s [Oct 17, 2000]

I'm torn. I don't want this course to get crowded so I should say it sucks. However, since I believe that honesty is the best policy..... this is one of my favorite courses in America! I've lived all over and played golf at many of the big "name" courses, and I'd be delighted to play this course everyday. The fact that it's only $15 to walk 18 holes just makes it that much better. I wish that every state park official could visit here and try to match this facility in their home states! Thank you, South Carolina!

Similar Products Used: Beautiful clubhouse.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Pete   Shoot in the 90s [Jun 26, 2000]

GREAT COURSE!!!! In the middle of nowhere, though, but well worth the drive to get there. It is apparant that the state of SC takes great pride in their state parks.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com