Caledonia Golf & Fish Club - golf courses

Caledonia Golf & Fish Club - Golf courses, Pawleys Island, SC

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
MyrtleBeachMan   Shoots in the 90s [Dec 31, 2008]

BEST OF THE BEACH!
I have played this course perhaps a half dozen times over the years and it is truly a great experience. The drive in to the clubhouse, its the whole package that makes it so special. No its not perfect, the ninth hole should be longer, u get a sense of pitch and putt but that is because of the lack of land they had to work with. The final three holes are as good as it gets, and anyone who plays there will always remember the other guys sitting on the rockers drinking their beers and cheering or booing you onto the 18th green!
Played about half of all the courses in the area, this one is the best but is also very pricey!

Customer Service

friendly, helpfull

Similar Products Used: Tidewater, Dunes, Heather Glen, Heritage, MB National North Kings
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
docgrei   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 17, 2008]

I've played CGFC several times and am amazed what I have missed from the previous. It simply is beauty, fairness, and challenge intertwined. It is a must if you visit SC. I am looking forward to the opening of a neighbor: The "Founder's Club" of Pawleys Island.

Customer Service

Tremendous! You can't miss with the hospitality of Todd and his Caledonia crew.

Similar Products Used: True Blue
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
jtharris18   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 04, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Caledonia Golf and Fish Club

The Best Gets Better. Played in Sept. 2005 for the 5th time in as many years. New Tif Eagle Bermuda on greens is phenomenal! Course in better condition than I've ever seen it. Simply beautiful. Greens (the only previous weakness) now are 1st class. Caledonia is now a notch or two above EVERY Grand Strand public/semi-private track. Even other excellent courses pale in comparison.

Customer Service

Still very good. But it's obvious they're aware of their reputation now. DON'T let it go to your head guys.

Similar Products Used: We played several other Pawleys courses. NO comparison.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Bigbull   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 01, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Callaway x-18, regular flex steel shafts

I play about once a week but was having trouble being consistent if I missed a week or two. Played the original nike pro combos(not the OS) for two years after playing ping eye2s for years. Knew results didn't reflect my ability. Decided to switch at the end of the summer. I tried x-16 pros and the ball flight was way too low. I hit the g-2s (nice), cobras and nike slingshots (both hit it too high) but ended up buying the x-18s. The first couple of rounds were a complete disaster as the clubs feel heavy compared to the nikes and my distances were way off. After a few practice sessions I went on vacation and played 4xs in a week. Once I got the distances dialed in I was sold. These irons are consistently 10-15 yds longer than the nikes. I'm now hitting pw 125 yds, 7 I 160 yds & 3 I 210 yds consistently. 2 reasons- callaway cheats on the loft so clubs are 1-2 degrees stronger compared to other manufacturers and the quality blows nike away. Read my review for more info on nike. Good shots feel solid and misses still give you 80%+ of normal distance. Offset does lessen offline shots and ability to work the ball but-you can take dead aim with confidence as results are very consistent. Last 10 rounds have all been with under 85 and I think things will only get better. I am still learning that there is a big risks of hitting flers out of the rough and have airmailed a few greens. EX: I hit a 9 I 155/ 20 yds over a green. I can live with the extra distance and its an ego trip to hit distances I haven't been able to for 10+ years. Also fairway bunker shots have taken some adjustments as the clubs have a wide sole and are heavier the the nikes. Overall misses still hit greens and i'm now avg. 2-3 birdie putts inside 12 feet every round. I absolutely think these are fantastic clubs. Unless you play/practice 3x aweek these clubs are the way to go. I may never break par but I bet my bad rounds will be 90 or less unless i break a leg. Price tag of $700 new is higher than some, I paid $400 used and felt like I stole them.

Customer Service

Haven't had to use it yet

Similar Products Used: Ping eye2 black dot, nike pro combo 1st model
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
jjasper13   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 19, 2004]

I simply don't know what to say. I played this course 10-10-04 and I'm still in awe. Stunning, immaculate, perfect. The yardage looks short, but it's only a par 70, so look out!! The shortest par 4 is 376. The starter claimed it's tight, but he's full of it. Sure, it's all tree lined, but there is ample room for your tee shots. I'm not saying it's not hard. I played pretty poorly, but I think I'd improve the 2nd time around. Fairways were perfect, tees were perfect, greens were perfect. I wish I had partaken in the free chowder at the turn, but I'm not a chowder fan. Clubhouse is perfect. A quaint building that fits perfectly into the surroundings.

Customer Service

I really thought this was the biggest weakness. They put my bag in my cart. That's about it. They offered to clean my clubs after the round, but I declined and I ended up having to take my own bag out of the cart. For the money I paid, they should have done it.

Similar Products Used: Nice little pro shop. I had to get a shirt and a jacket with the logo. Oh yeah, the green fee with cart was 135 bucks. That's a TON in my opinion, but I would gladly pay it again. My next trip will be to it's sister course, True Blue. I hear it will bring you to your knees.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Barbetta   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 16, 2003]

Truly a magnificent golfing experience. Bring your "A" game for trouble greets eratic shotmaking. Probably the most scenic and well maintained course in Myrtle Beach. Greens can be tough with plenty of undulation. Would play over and over again.

Similar Products Used: No driving range, I guess they don't have the room on this tightly laid out facility.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Sijray21   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 09, 2003]

This is by far the most well constructed, challenging, and beautiful course i've ever played. Located relatively far for a Myrtle Beach Golf Course it is well worth the drive and $$$. The tee times are limited so reserve them fast. This quiet scerene setting is wonderful for golf on a nice casual day away from the beach. The hospitality and the club house are incredible. The design is not only wonderful to look at, but excellent to play.

Customer Service

wonderful!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
SGoyette   Shoots in the 90s [Oct 31, 2001]

Probably the most beautiful course in Myrtle Beach. The course gently weaves it way around an old rice plantation, preserving the ancient oak trees covered in Spanish moss. Challenging course with an appropriate slope rating. Excellent finishing hole with a second shot carry over water to a green nestled up against the river with the clubhouse in back. It''s a premium package course and you get what you pay for as the course is in immaculate condition. From the entry way, you know you have arrived at a special place.

Customer Service

Excellent all around, and the catfish chowder at the turn is great (better than its sister course True Blue! - tell the server that and get another cup!).

Similar Products Used: Didn''t have time to try anything else as we had a back-to-back with its sister course True Blue immediately after Caledonia.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Scott   Shoot in the 80s [Mar 31, 2001]

This course is simply fantastic. Great diversity, immaculately maintained and a real challenge.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
3
Marc   Shoot in the 80s [Dec 27, 2000]

WOW!!!!!!!!
Beautifull location!!!
Great conditions!
Emaculant!

Similar Products Used: Staff A+
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com