Bent Creek Mountain Inn & CC - golf courses

Bent Creek Mountain Inn & CC - Golf courses, Gatlinburg, TN

User Reviews (6)

Showing 1-6 of 6  
Greg Watson   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 09, 2009]

If you want to be challenged, then this is the course for you. Fantastic layout allows even the skilled golfer to be challenged with a front nine that forces you to make precise shots, and the back nine is full of elevated tee’s, wonderfully-tree’s dog legs, and water coming into play on many of the holes.

I’m having a little problem reading the other reviews – and not wondering if the course is being unfairly blamed here. Each may, I and 40+ golfers from around the area converge on Bent Creek for 4 days of wonderful golf and fun. The course is always in great shape; greens keepers are out and about tending to the course; and the staff bend over backwards to make the trip as enjoyable as possible.

#14 is the par 3 – 110 yd hole with an elevated tee that is snuggled among picturesque trees. It’s my favorite hole – as you have to hit a wedge to a green 80 yds below you – that slopes down to the front.

No, you will not be able to bomb drives, or hit wildly and expect a good return on your swing. You will be challenged – all the more fun.

Customer Service

GREAT - Outstanding staff

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
gwatson   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 04, 2009]

Wow...did I play the same course as the rest of the reviewers? Each May, I and another 40+ golfers descend on Bent Creek for a wonderful weekend of golf. We've discussed other locations, and keep coming back to this course.

Outstanding staff; course always in great condition; and the concession stand workers are the most friendly you'll find anywhere.

Yes - tight fairways (all the better challenge). Yes - hole #14 has turf on the tee box - as the hole is a 110 yd par three with an severely elevated tee (encased by wonderful Smokey Mountain trees). Yes -

What I like about the course is each nine offers contrasting courses. The front nine is flat and straight forward. The back nine is up/down and twisting - and definitely not flat.

If you want a challenging day & a skill tester, play this course. If you want to blame the course for your own swing issues, then this is not the course for you.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
dirtstud   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 29, 2008]

Okay, the gnats were a problem and very annoying. This course is extremely tight with many narrowing fairways and a few holes with blind tee shots(beware of #18). It pays off to lay up frequently and play the directional flags as this course has numerous strategically placed trees. A long ball will not help you on this course. Play for accuracy. This course was well manicured, but the greens are terribly slow. However, the staff warned us before we played. They need to open the putting green. It appeared in good shape, but was closed.

Customer Service

Very good. Very friendly folks, but they need a cart girl.

Similar Products Used: For the money you need to make a drive to either Eagle's Landing or River Islands. River islands is well worth the drive if you are in the area.
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
2
jrdedmon84   Shoots in the 90s [Dec 25, 2007]

It had rained the day we played last summer. A lot of tight holes and like some of the other posters the course was not finished as well I a expected considering its marketing. I had a bad day playing but the other 2 gentlemen we played with was awsome and good company.

Customer Service

Fair. I have had nicer in a vacaton area

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
guitarzen67   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 12, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Bent Creek GC

I was unfortunately able to play a round with my son-in-law while on vacation.
The moment we pulled up to the starter; it started! GNATS!! From the first tee box and green to the eighteenth tee box and green, you can’t believe it. At the turn, the girl in the concessions area asked if we liked their little friends. Ha Ha!
This place has a problem. After we arrived back at the condo my wife noticed small specs of blood all over the inside of my left leg and under my right forearm.
It finally dawned on me what it was. SAND FLEAS! Yes; blood sucking sand fleas. I ended up in the bunkers about three times that day and the sand blasts landed on the inner part of my legs. They drew blood.
The course was set up as if they built it to fit the landscape. If a creek crossed six times; then you had to lay up six times, sort of speak. Hole number16 If I remember correctly, was a hard straight up trek to a 80 yard par three that had a matt for a tee box. A local said that the older gents skip this whole, depending on how they where doing so far, determined what you put on your card for that hole.
If you have been in the trees all day you got a bogey….. And so on.
This could be a nice golf course. Take the high green fees and put them to better use.
This course has no one to come around with refreshments. At that price, a steak dinner should be served as you cross eighteen. ?

Customer Service

Not available.

Similar Products Used: Off bug spray and a flea collar for your ankles.
OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
1
Joe Vandal   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 10, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Bent Creek GC

Many like this course, but I am not one of them. It plays no better than most local munis and costs twice as much. The setting is nice, but there are so many courses that are better both for play and scenery.

OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
1
John Buchenberger   Shoot in the 90s [Jun 01, 2001]

I played Memorial Day weekend 2001

This course is NOT worth the fee. I spent $50 to
play after 2PM.

Layout - POOR

The front nine had many back and forth fairways.
The par threes were very short. The course was very
tight with many roads, cars and houses very close to
play. On 12 I hit a 120 yard approach shot that landed
within 10 feet of the green, struck the cart path,
struck a road and struck a house.

GREENS - FAIR

The greens were healthy but were long and very slow.

TEES - FAIR

One tee was made of artificial turf because grass could
not be maintained.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
1
Rich Olsen   Shoot in the 70s [Jun 22, 2000]

The course was in pretty good condition, but not for the price I had to pay to play. The greens weren't in that great of shape, but it is an interesting course, nonetheless. Tee conditions were good. The course is fairly difficult, (I shot 82, normally I'm in the mid 70's).
The second day I played I shot 85, but I took more chances.
All in all, a fun course.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
2
Showing 1-6 of 6  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com