Bear Trace At Harrison Bay - golf courses

Bear Trace At Harrison Bay - Golf courses, Harrison, TN

User Reviews (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7  
Chattanooga Golfer   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 22, 2006]

This is a gorgeous piece of property and a really nice layout. View of the lake and the hills of our area just add to the experience. I think the conditioning problems are behind them, though the rates have increased to the point where you can't really say it's an especially great value. Still, highly recommended for play.

Customer Service

Always friendly, though I wish the rangers would do a little more to keep the pace of play at a reasonable level.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
3
jeffpriz   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 24, 2005]

We travel down to Chattanooga every summer,and I never miss the chance to play this course. The course is just a thing of beauty.. it's really a pleasure to play. I've played there every year since the course has opened, and I know all about the rough couple of years (2001 and 2002) with the greens.. And if you played it then and gave up on it, I urge you to go back and give it another go... Or if you've only read the reviews and are put off by the poor review of the conditions, I urge you to realize that those troubles are in the past They've re-planted the greens with Champions Bermuda and improved their conditions, and they are gorgeous. The course plays through a lot of big trees, and winds along the bay. The fairways are reasonably wide, but bad shots will find the woods. Water is present, but doesn't come in to play too often (#14, par 3 over the water is a great hole). Hitting the ball straight is at a premium here... There are several spots where you can play some risk-reward, and you'll always do well to think through the hole before you play it. I used to think that this was the biggest steal in golf, the fees were so low, however they've slowly been raising them over the years, it's still a bargain, but is not the steal it once was (there aren't any courses this nice at this price in the Chicago area that's for sure!) Jack Nicklaus design, and a truely beautiful setting on the bay, at a very reasonable price.

Customer Service

i've always been treated really really well here (even though I am a yankee ;o )

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Paul Payne   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 16, 2002]

I have played this course a number of times and have always enjoyed it. However, it seems that the course is not aging well. There are what seem to be many grounds keeping and drainage problems. They are under constant repair around the greens on most holes and many of the fairways are in rough shape. It is a shame to see on what could be a great course.

Customer Service

great.

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
4
lutzeus   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 25, 2002]

I have played BT at Harrison Bay several times and have seen it at its best and its worst. But I have to admit that of all the golf courses I have played in Chatt..this is by far on my top 3 list.

Customer Service

Always very pleasant.

Similar Products Used: Very nice range facility.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
3
Drew Heisig   Shoots in the 80s [May 09, 2002]

This is arguably the finest public golf course in the Chattanooga area. A Jack Nicklaus design, this course was designed to be forgiving, yet always challenging. This course is a true pleasure to play and is scenically located in the midst of Harrison Bay State Park, with many holes overlooking the lake. This course is in pristine condition and cared for by a grounds crew that really knows golf course maintenance. The driving range alone is worth the drive and the practice green is, by far, the best in the area.

Customer Service

The best I have experienced. The course pro is very knowledgable and the staff is always accomodating and practice the highest level of customer service.

Similar Products Used: Everything at this course is done well. If the price were a bit cheaper one could enjoy a few more rounds here each year. But here, you definitely get what you pay for.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
3
Richard Wolfson   Shoot in the 80s [Aug 12, 2001]

Another amazing TN course. Breathtakingly beautiful (aside from the occasional glimpse of the nuclear power facility across one of the lakes) and carved out of a forest with 100' towering pines framing most of the holes. Hole variety is outstanding -- a week later I am able to recall every hole on the course with clarity. Greens were very good, except for 2 which had been attacked by mold and were virtually unplayable.

The State Park setting is wonderful. Walk this course -- not bad hills and only a couple of holes where hike between green and tee is long.

Customer Service

Staff was exceptionally friendly. They were personally embarassed by the mold problem noted above. One guy insisted that I return so that I could see the course when it was at it's best.

Similar Products Used: Good pro shop and range.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Harry Micka   Shoot in the 80s [Jul 07, 2000]

This course is in it's second year of play and is in great condition. It is a very pretty course to play and very fair. Every time I have played it the conditions seem to get better and play moves along very nice. The people are very friendly and the facilities are new and nice. I would recommend this course to anyone. Fun course to play close to camping or big city entertainment. Lake near by also if you would like to fish.

Customer Service

Felt very welcome with friendly instructions on course use.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
John Howerton   Shoot in the 80s [Jul 17, 2000]

Just returned from doing Bear Trace in Crossville, Chattanooga and Tims Ford over a three-day deal with 7 college buddies. Very much agree with above review...Harrison Bay was the best one, Tims Ford second and Cumberland Mtn. third, though all were excellent. People at all of the courses are great. This is a fairly tight course, keep the ball straight--lots of trees. Cumberland Mtn. is more open and Tims Ford is sort of in-between. When in Chattanooga do not miss Big River Grill right downtown on Broad St. and also make sure you visit Rock City!(seriously!)

Customer Service

People were great at all of the Bear Trace facilities--I recommend this trip to anyone.

Similar Products Used: Food was great and they have a nice range.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-7 of 7  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com