Avalon Golf Club - golf courses

Avalon Golf Club - Golf courses, Burlington, WA

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
pgaghostrider   Shoots in the 70s [Aug 31, 2007]

The course has had drainage issues over the years, but if you play it in the summer after some dry days it is pretty good. The tee boxes are usually in poor condition, but the greens have been nice. Avoid in the winter time due to very soft and muddy conditions.

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
golfwa   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 22, 2005]

tight course where length isnt a factor as the tips are 6700 yards on north-south. havent played the other nine, and probably will not play it because of the drive. still an OK course. if ya wanna take a day off to play golf come here because play all day is just 40$.

Customer Service

snooty is the best way to put it but there was one chick in the proshop that helped out well.

Similar Products Used: boring range. ok practice greens but at least they role the same speed as the course
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
  Shoots in the 80s [Dec 30, 2003]

I have played here for an annual event for the pat 3-4 years. I love the course and everything about it.

Customer Service

Great

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
mrbigtigga   Shoots in the 90s [May 04, 2003]

I played at Avalon in early July of 2002. It was my dad's birthday, so he received a free round of golf. I was impressed by their triple 9 hole courses and couldn't wait to begin. Although it wasn't one of my best rounds ever, Avalon became one of my instant favorites. The tee boxes were very well kept, every hole was something completely different, and the course was just overall beautiful. Anybody that knows me knows that slow greens are something I hate, so I naturally fell in love with the speedy greens here. Overall, I give it a 5 out of 5, and I will definitely be visiting in the near future.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
bjohnson42069   Shoots in the 70s [Oct 10, 2002]

I play Avalon quite often. It has three nines, so you can mix and match or play all 27. It is a very nice course, depending on when you play it. The greens are always lightning fast and true, no matter what season it is. But in the winter and spring, it is pretty wet, and in the fall, there is a lot of fallen leaves, so if you hit your ball off the fairway, it may be lost. I still love the layout, and their 27 hole-a-day deal is one of the cheapest around.

Customer Service

Excellent- some of the most respectful greenskeepers I've ever seen.

Similar Products Used: Restaurant has very good food and excellent service.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
3
Dave   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 24, 2001]

Have played Avalon 3 times. Like the layout of holes. Good variety. Lots of elevation change. Friendly staff. Good value for the dollar. Main problem is drainage. I recommend playing July 15 to Oct. 15. Otherwise pretty dang soggy.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
4
john   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 05, 2001]

Played for the first time end of August and condition of course was excellant. Lush fairways, great tee boxes and the greens were both lush and super fast, a strange combination for the northwest. These greens have more break than most that you will play, the downhill and sidehill putts having a lot of extra run-out (trickle factor). Greens are also very hard and don''t hold any low approach shots. A liitle frustrating at first. I Played from green tees and son played from black tees and the fairways pinch in at the landing areas just where you drive would want to land and there is usually a trap to catch errant drives, but not too extreme. Very well designed layout, probably best for those who can drive the ball with some accuracy. The high handicap player might not enjoy himself here, any ball leaving the fairways can be lost in the un-cleared woods which are not that far off the fairways

Customer Service

Great starter (cute)

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Steve   Shoot in the 80s [Aug 13, 2001]

Nice course. Lovely holes, perfect greens, nice variety. Fairways are great in summer, a little sloppy in certain areas in the winter. Tees are fine, greens are great year round.

Great deal on play all day pass, although you might need to get a cart after too many holes.

Similar Products Used: Good food. Your typical overpriced proshop goods. Nice range with grass tees, great putting green.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Chuck   Shoot in the 70s [Jul 24, 2001]

I have played Avalon serveral time and have left dissapointed each time. In the winter it is beyond wet. Every shot landing in the fairways seems to plug. This summer it was drier but took 1.5 hours to play 4 holes because no one informed us there was a tournament just finishing. The tee boxes were terrible and full of weeds. The fairways were rough and it was hard to distinguish where the fairway and the rough met. Greens were ok but not great. Won't be playing Avalon again until it gets better.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
Nick Fender   Shoot in the 80s [Aug 14, 2000]

Avalon is a 27-hole facitily located a little more than an hour north of Seattle. The combination of nice scenery, above average conditions and a challenging but fair layout makes this a great golf value if you're willing to make the drive.

The three nines are somewhat different: The South nine is a little more open and has some long holes to contend with; the 525 par five 8th and the 400 yard par four 9th always seem to play a bit longer than the scorecard would indicate. The South course sits on top of a ridge and offers some nice views of the mountains, but wind can come into play at times.

The west course is my favorite. It's a little tighter and shorter than the other two courses. Tall trees and woods line most of the fairways, so you need to drive the ball carefully -- but not necessarily long -- to play this course well. Some of the greens on this course are shaded by large trees, so their conditions can be a little rough.

The North course was the last nine to open and is my least favorite. It's more open than the other two courses and it plays a bit longer with three par fives and three par threes. While the South and West courses fit the terrain very well, the North course seems a little more "manufactured" with several man-made ponds scattered around.

Depending on which combination of holes you play, yardage will run from around 6,000 yards from the white tees, to 6,300 yards from the green tees and 6,600 yards from the black tees. Slope ratings are about 120 from the whites, 125 from the green tee and 130 from the tips. You need to play well to make a good score at Avalon, but a few wild shots aren't going to punish you too much.

Tee boxes are always in great shape, the fairways are nice (though not lush) and the large greens are excellent. Most of the course seems to play very well all year 'round, even in wet weather.

Customer Service

Small restaurant; nice pro shop

Similar Products Used: Above average grass driving range; nice practice greens.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com