Nike One Platinum Balls

Available At:
One Platinum

The Nike One Platinum offers three covers, the inner middle, and outer. The inner cover reduces driver spin whearas the middle cover provides superior mid-iron control. Finally the outer cover provides a higher trajectory and soft feel.

User Reviews (46)

Showing 1-10 of 46  
holeintwo   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 17, 2009]
Model Reviewed: One Platinum

The best ball for me! great spin on all shots! have no problem shaping shots and get great distance! only downfall is the price as like all premium golf balls!

Similar Products Used: Prov-1 , Z Star, B-330s, Tp red
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
troy   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 09, 2009]
Model Reviewed: nike one platinum 2008

these are excellent balls soft nice distance and spin like crazy. the biggest kicker is the price right now is 29.95 at Golf Galaxy. when premium golf balls go on sale try them out you cant loose.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
CoreyG   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 13, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Nike ONE Platinum 2008

Strong but spendy performance for better players who want a ball that really bites


With golf balls, often you trade performance and feel for distance and durability. Nobody likes compromise. If Nike set out to make one ball that does it all, they came close with the 2008 Nike ONE Platinum.

Decent durability combine with good length, outstanding spin and a soft feel for a great all-around premium performance ball for the better player. Apparently players with slower swing speeds won’t enjoy the same benefits from this ball.

I have experienced good, not great, distance with the ability to quickly stop approach shots on the green. Occasionally, full wedges will reverse back off the green due to too much spin, as the ONE Platinum has one of the highest spin rates on the market, according to publications. As a result, you need to take this into consideration when going for front hole locations. Nothing is more frustrating than hitting a great shot only to have it come back off the green, and that is one, um, drawback to the ONE Platinum. Players who regularly impart a lot of backspin may prefer the ONE Black or another brand instead. If you have a big hook or a severe slice the high spin could make it worse.

However, the high spin rate really makes this ball stand out around the greens. Crisp pitch shots, flops and bunker escapes can really be controlled with a short hop and stop. You can have confidence that an aggressive pitch or chip will grab the green.

All of this is as advertised. But, one area that I found the ONE Platinum to also excel was in the wind, specifically crosswinds. Whether the spin or dimple pattern is why, I’m not sure, but a well-struck shot was often only minimally affected by crosswinds, enabling you to avoid modifying your aim much in blustery conditions. Really surprising performance from this ball in windy weather.

This is an excellent all-around ball. Yes, it is expensive at more than $40 per dozen in most shops. If you don’t have deep pockets or you are a high handicapper who loses many balls during a round, the ONE Platinum is probably not a good choice for you. However, playing a premium performance ball has helped me lower my scores in recent years. I recommend the ONE Platinum for better players (single digits and low teens) who don’t impart much sidespin on full shots, and who specifically want to pinch and control the ball when trying to score around the greens.

I have not yet tried the new 2009 Nike ONE Tour, ONE Tour D or ONE Vapor balls, but if they are similar to their recent brethren then I’m optimistic about their performance.

-Corey

Corey is an avid single-digit player in the wet Pacific Northwest where balls plug. He finds and tests almost as many golf balls as he loses.

http://blog.niceballz.com/2009/04/13/nike-one-platinum-review.aspx

Similar Products Used: Titleist Pro V1
Bridgestone B330-S
Nike ONE Black
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
Mason   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 12, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Nike One Platinum

Before i started to use Nike One balls, i'd use the cheap Maxfli's and some Bridgestones (Very good golf balls). Then one of my friends told me to try out the nike one platinums and Nike one blacks, and i didnt want to spend 30.00 0n a ball i wouldnt like, so i bought a dozen of refurbished nike one blacks and platinums for 10.00 at target. I was extremely surprised with the spin i get on the nike one platinums. Im getting my mid irons to stop very quickly on greens, and my pitching and chipping have gotten better. This may be helped by my Frogger golf brush that ive recently purchased, but with the old golf balls, they wouldnt hold the greens as well. Distance is alright on the platinums, but the short and mid iron control is to die for.

Nike one blacks are truly impressive as well. Usually on my drives with Nike One platinums, i would hit it about 255 and pretty straight, but with these, i am getting much more distance (280's) but they dont spin as well as the platinums.
Overall, i am very impressed, and i think that this may be my new golf ball. Good Job Nike!

Customer Service

None.

Similar Products Used: A bunch of 2 peice balls that couldnt get any spin at all.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
scomemphis2008   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 11, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Nike One Platinum

Was always very skeptical of Nike golf balls in the past. I've been using the Pro V1 but never seemed to get the results on the green I wanted. Couple of days ago while finishing up a round, I had a ball hit into me from another fairway. The player playing in a high school tourney apologized and said to keep the ball. I looked at it and saw it was a Nike One Platinum. I decided to try it out to finish the last hole. Managed to get that ball to check after one bounce, unheard of for me. Not one to get too excited over one shot, I purchased a 3 pack to play another 9. Probably my best short game round of my life, 10 putts over 9 holes. Still, I wanted to try it out on a course with more length to see how much distance I would lose. As a long hitter, a few lost yards wouldn't hurt. I will admit that I lost about 7 yards versus the pro v1, but I was in the fairway and I more than improved my score just in the short game. I'm so impressed, I went on rockbottom.com and bought 6 dozen for $124 total (their cost balls and I had free shipping)

I'm switching permanently

Customer Service

Not used

Similar Products Used: Pro V1, Precept U-Tri
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
robbo1551   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 25, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Nike One Platinum

I have played Titleist for about two years and wanted to take a chance and go to Nike... My past experience with Nike was poor, scuffed easy, lack of distance and poor overall quality. I bought a back of ProV and One Platinum... No contest... Nike ONE (little play on words for you dense folk)... There is a lack of distance off the tee, but very straight and GREAT spin. For those of you who want to "pull the string" on mid-long irons this is the ball. My short game used to be my strong suit now its deadly. Very easy to control and make do what you want them to do on and around the greens. I highly recommend them (6 handicap)

Similar Products Used: Nothing
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
3
Conrad MacDOnald   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 17, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Nike one Platinum

I recieved some of these balls for free and I hated them. they are all around bad balls.
They feel bad putting them (with an odyssey black series).

Similar Products Used: I would stay with the pro v1 or the taylormade balls
OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
1
Available At:
nicholaspengilly   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 20, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Nike One Platinum

Nike One Platinum are high spin balls. I shoot in the low 90s and from 150m out, I hit a 6 iron and these balls stop on the green within 1m of where it hit. These balls turn my nice draw into a hook and they reduce my shot distance. Nike Juice are a low spin ball and from 150m out I hit a 7 iron however the Nike Juice ball rolls off the green. My tee shots have a slight draw and the roll on these balls is large, especially off the tee.

If you can sacrifice 10m on iron, 20-30m on drives and some accuracy, you will notice excellent green play with the Nike One Platinum.

I noticed that neither ball effected my score, I lost shots with my putting and short game however picked up extra shots in my long game with the Nike One Platinum. The opposite happened with the Nike Juice.

I play Nike Juice as I am more confident with my tee shot going 260-280m on the fairway rather than 230-240 off the fairway.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Toicat   Shoots in the 80s [May 06, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Nike One Platinium

Nike has a winner here, but for different reasons than you might think. The One Platinium is NOT a distance ball. The ball has one of the fastest spin rates off the wedge AND driver. Spin kills distance, and makes a hook or slice REALLY look bad. You can review the spin rate in various golf magazines that test golf equipment. In fact, of the balls tested by Golf Magazine, One Platinium tested at over 13,000 rpm's. Off the driver, you will lose some distance. However, where this ball shines is with your short-irons and wedges. The One Platinium slams on the brakes around the greeen better than any ball on the market. More feel than you can believe around and on the green. BTW, the greens are where the matchsticks are won and lost ! The One Platinium will reduce your scores if you can drive the ball well. You won't likely win a longest drive contest with it. IF you can drive the ball straight most of the time, this is a gem from your approach shot and in. It's almost like cheating with a Gap or SW in your hands ! Oh yeah, these golf balls are expensive as hell. They will cost you $42/dozen plus tax making it a poor value, so plan accordingly! Good golfing to all !

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Bridgestone 330, Callaway HX Tour.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
3
Available At:
George`   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 21, 2008]

This is the longest ball I have ever hit. I have been a huge fan of the Pro V's but after hitting this ball sooo long yesterday and sooo straight and soo high, I'm sold!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 46  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com