Sun Mountain Speed Cart Accessories

Available At:
Speed Cart

User Reviews (27)

Showing 1-10 of 27  
Gary Deabler   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 23, 2012]
Model Reviewed: V1/Foam Blue

The V1 Golf cart is great. The problem lies with the shipping and the company. they wait 6 days to ship. Then when it arrives 5 days later, there is no packing inside. Nothing to protect it.

OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
Available At:
blairgolf511   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 12, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Sun Mountain V1

I have spent a considerable amount of time comparing this cart and the Cliqgear. My preference is the Cliqgear but my real point is to pay careful attention to reviews you read, they may be unintentionally inaccurate. The review before mine stated that one concern was that the tires were slowly leaking air. The tires are foam and are incapable of leaking air as there is no air in them! They are foam. So, I think it is important to do some research on the facts first and then read some reviews so you know what is factual vs. opinion.

Customer Service

I have no idea

Similar Products Used: cliqgear 3.0
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
rtcorke   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 28, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Sun Mountain Speed Cart

Rather heavy to lift but so easy to roll along, pneumatic tyres (no punctures after 3 yrs) and ball bearing axles make electric trucks seem unnecessary to me. In the time I've had it one starter wasn't happy to let me on the course (when did you last see "wide wheeled trollies only"?) but I reckon if it's very boggy (never, on our links course) it's better to carry anyway, and surely the narrow tyres do less damage in the semi or rough than wide wheels. Just one gripe - American chrome isn't terribly rust-proof - stainless steel hubs would be nice.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
william Adams   Shoots in the 80s [May 25, 2010]
Model Reviewed: v1

Nice cart. Rolls easily: a little bulky. Tires lose air slowly and sort of a pain to be honest. Brake cable came apart at the brake lever and can't seem to find anyone, including the distributors who seem at all interested in helping me. Was considering the motor version, but now doubt that Sun Mountain's service well have that happen.

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
Emo   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 16, 2009]
Model Reviewed: 09 speed cart v1

PROS: Nice cart. Rolls nicely. Reasonable space in flip tray for your cell and wallet or GPS. CONS: The braking system is a poor design unlike the Sun Mountain Micro Cart. Still very bulky. Screws started to fall out and get lost. Tips back very easily where the handle slams the ground first.

Customer Service

never tried.

OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
3
Available At:
poploob   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 28, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Sun Mountain Speed Cart V1

EASE OF USE 8/10
STORAGE & TRANSPORTATION 7/10
QUALITY & DESIGN 8/10
VALUE FOR MONEY 8/10
Fairly large trolley but lightweight and easy to push.Minor niggles like no pump adaptor supplied and a mudguard on front wheel would be better.Although the bag fits securely it's a bit fiddly with the screw adaptors, quick release would be an improvement.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
charles folsom   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 09, 2009]
Model Reviewed: 2005 Sun mountain push cart

I really love the Sun Mountain cart but lately the "Tightener" knobs loosen and have to be re-tightened continuosly. What can I do to correct this problem?

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
pdesjardins   Shoots in the 70s [May 04, 2009]
Model Reviewed: sun mountain speed cart V1

I've had my Speed Cart now for over two years and it's been great, except for one thing. Wobbly Wheels.

I have a long shuttle ride to the 1st tee, then again from the 9th green to the 10th tee, where I sit on the back bench of the shuttle cart and "drag" the Speed Cart like a trailer. It wobbles back & forth, is difficult to control, and seems to be wearing out the tires prematurely. I initially thought it was normal behavior, but I sat next to another player with a Speed Cart and his didn't wobble at all.

When I inquired on their website, Sun Mountain's response was this:

From what you have described to us you have mostly likely bent your out riggers and possibly have damaged the frame and maybe the wheels as well. These cart are not designed to be pulled backwards they are to be pushed. By doing so you have severed the warranty on this cart.
It does state in the guide book as to not pull this cart backwards.
At this time I would suggest that you try and determine what parts you are going to need and have your Pro-Shop order them so you can fix your cart. And we HIGHLY RECOMMEND NOT PULLING YOUR CART BACKWARDS for any reason. This will and probably has weaken the frame. Once the frame shows any type of cracking there is nothing we can do or even help with except suggesting that you put either metal piping or wooden dowels into the frame.
Thank you for choosing Sun Mountain!

>>> I checked the manual on a new model in a store. Indeed it does say not to pull the cart - way at the back in small print.

If this were such a serious issue that they would void the warranty for it, wouldn't you think they would make it up front in LARGE BOLD LETTERS?

More importantly, wouldn't you think they could design it to be pulled?

By the way, there is no visible damage to any part of the cart. It works fine when pushed.

Think of all the normal golf situations where a push cart could be pulled:

The shuttle ride (see above)
A long walk out to your starting hole for a "shot-gun" start. Someone drives by in a power cart and offers to pull your cart for you.
A golfer suffers an injury out on the course, even maybe a heart attack, and his bag needs to be dragged back to the clubhouse by someone in a power cart.
Bottom line: I'll never purchase another Sun Mountain Speed Cart.

Customer Service

Terrible - See above.

OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
2
wildwoodduo   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 23, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Sun Mountain Push Speed Cart V1

Three years ago many golfers in my club began to sell or store their power-assisted carts in favor of the new Sun Mountain Push Carts. I joined the movement and have never regretted it. This is a quality piece of equipment. The small issues with the original design have been resolved in the 2008 model. Since wintering in an Arizona retirement community where no one walks on the golf course, I have had to get lifts from green to tee on some of the holes, dragging my Sun Mountain cart behind from the passenger seat. Since the drivers are elderly and have little experience with pulling a wider load, this has resulted in an entire season of weekly mishaps, crashes against curbs, and violent spills and I am pleased to report that, aside from some surface scraches, my Sun Mountain cart is still as functional as when it was purchased. This is impressive! When I return to my Canadian summer home this spring, I am going to sell my power-assisted unit and purchase a second Sun Mountain cart so that I can have one in Canada and one in Arizona. To anyone considering this purchase, I say whole-heartedly, "Go for it!"

Customer Service

This company offers fabulous customer service. Firstly, repacement parts are reasonably priced so, if you do have an issue, you won't be gouged. Last week, a driver actually backed over my Sun Mountain cart and snapped a wheel off. This required the replacement of the heavy-duty plastic bracket that attached the wheel to the frame. I went on the internet, found the phone number, and telephoned Sun Mountain Customer Service expecting the worst. Despite the fact that the cart was over three years old and the warranty well expired, I was mailed two replacement brackets within the week and have just finished replacing the broken one. Total charge - zero!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
F. Grant   Shoots in the 70s [Feb 07, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Speed E cart

Tires used to be a problem until I got solid rubber tires along with new wheels for 20 bucks each. Am having many troubles with the controls. I kicks out of run, continues to run (have to unplug from battery) won't run at all until I break battery connection. I have two new batteries. I have been told that Sun Mountain is no longer making the cart and the parts are only available through a third party.

Customer Service

When it was new, customer service was great. The golf pro where I bought it has a number for the third party that now has the parts to repair.

OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 27  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com