Wilson Staff Dx2 Distance Balls

Available At:
Staff Dx2 Distance

  • 2-piece construction
  • Infused Nano particles produce an extremely lively but soft inner core
  • 312 flat-bottomed
  • Shallow dimples create a more stable
  • High trajectory flight

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
Canouanman   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 21, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Wilson DX soft

Lets cut to the chase. A very decent ball off the tee which enthuses confidence. Similar feel from fairway and rough. Around the greens fantastic where the ball does some serious soft landing. Then the putting, then the putting - then hopefully in the hole. On the green a nightmare. I have returned to the Pro V1. Honestly - on the green I have no confidence with this ball - and I have tried.

Similar Products Used: Pro V1, Srixon soft feel, Srixon AD333, Calloway war bird, Calloway HX tour
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
3
Available At:
James   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 12, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Dx2 Golf Ball

OK lets get straight on this ball. Golfers do about their ball as keeping to the same ball def helps. We all know Pro V1 is a legend golf ball, full stop no arguments. Problem is they are expensive and i hate losing and scuffing them etc etc, so i have been looking for a cheeper alternative.

The Wilson Dx2 Soft is a fantastic ball. For those of us not driving with +95mph swing speeds and hitting irons at +80 mph then try the Dx2.

It has ultra low compression which basically means at steady swing speeds the ball still gets crushed into the club face and bounces off giving better ball velocity, which equals distance. I get a strong ball flight with good run. It won't drop and stop with 6 iron plus like the Pro V1 but matches NXT and Srixon AD333 spin. It has a lovely feel as well which builds confidence around and on the green.

This is not a distance ball, it is a genuine good alrounder and Wilson should have taken distance off the lid, those days are gone, and aligned its marketing to the NXT Tour.

Similar Products Used: Titleist NXT Tour, Srixon AD333, Callaway Hot Bite, Maxfli M3 Solid,
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
winners_1   Scratch Golfer [Jul 02, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff Dx2

Awesome golf ball, feels exceptionally good off the club face in all areas of the game. Could quite potentially outdo the prov1 if given the right chance, as the playability of this ball is in my opinion unrivaled even by titleists best. For that price, give them a go you wont be dissapointed

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Terry K   Shoots in the 70s [Oct 05, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff Dx2 Distance

I think Wilson have marketted this wrong!
The inclusion of the word 'Distance' on the box suggests that they are being pitched against the rock hard lumps that attract the high handicapper desparate for more distance at the expense of any feel whatsoever. If a high handicapper buys these they will be a expecting the 'chipping with a loaded gun' type experience that they have grown used to and will be disappointed. So good golfers won't buy them and bad golfers won't like them.
In truth this is a fantastic ball it flies well, feels fantastic, putts purely and actually looks quite cool as well. Since I don't live in a country where the ambient temperature regularly (or ever) hits 40 deg the 50 compression is perfect too. How can I a lowly 5 handicapper playing in Scotland get the best out of a ball that is ideally suited to Tiger Woods playing in Tuscon Arizona. In 'cooler' countries the normal 90 or 100 compression ball requires an enormous clubhead speed to reap any benefit and macho posturing aside I'm 'not the man'
If Wilson sold these at twice the price targetted the 'good players' ball on the market I think it would be a winner. My only fear is that due to the suspect marketting (IMO) they may not be successful and be withdrawn form the market. Seriously, if you are a decent player and want to keep all your fillings this is a 'Distance' ball worth trying. Here ends War and Peace!!

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Tileist ProV1, ProV1x, TaylorMade Red, Nike One
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Markus   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 19, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff Dx2 Distance

Great ball, got bigger distance and less slices

Similar Products Used: Pinnacle Gold Distance
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
jspelman13   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 21, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff DX2

Great Ball as a PVI wannabe. Wilson is not positioning this ball against the PVI et al but I played 18 with one today and it went higher, longer, spun almost as well and putted as well as the PVI I played against it. NXT Tour may be longer but it does not have the feel and spin. Strata Top Flite Tour TL is close but the DX2 is longer. Unfortunately, based on the number of reviews here, this ball's future is not lloking good. I know there will be dissenting opinions but all I know is what I saw today.

Customer Service

Wha?

Similar Products Used: Everything round and softer than granite
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
rotary   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 12, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff DX2 PHD golf balls

Uses PHD tech which is Pan Head Dimples.Dimples are flat bottomed and not rounded at bottom of dimples as most are.I used the drop on the floor test against the other Wilson PX3 ball,Precept EV,and several other balls. Only a Titilest had the same level of bounce back. Its a 2 piece ball so spin may not equal 3 or 4 piece balls but seems ok for my level of play.It seems that this style of dimples help decrease my slice.One think in my mind is that the surface of the ball seems smoother than a standard dimpled ball-I wonder if this might help on putts?

Customer Service

Have not used but web site has good info

Similar Products Used: All makes
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
samspick   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 10, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Wilson staff Dx2

i tested out most of the new wilson staff balls and i got to say that these Dx2 balls are just not that good. it gives you ok spin but other than that, it's no good. try the other staff balls....Px3 and Tx4, now these i would recommend. they play good as any other top golf balls out there. they also are the best looking golf balls out there.

Similar Products Used: Pro V1, Wilson Px3, Tx4, Nike One's, Callaway Black, red, blue, hot, Bridgestone, top flight tour.......ect.....
OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
3
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com