Adams Golf Ovation Standard Drivers

Available At:
Ovation Standard

Standard Model for workability. This model offer maximum distance and forgiveness.

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
Dick K   Shoots in the 100s [Jul 26, 2015]
Model Reviewed: Driver 10.5

I am 75 and have been playing since I caddied at age 12. This is the best driver I have ever used. It drives straight and high. Wish I had it when I played in my youth.

Customer Service

Never used it.

Similar Products Used: Every driver in the world. But this is the best.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
tj   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 09, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Adams Ovation 10.5 driver

I bought a 10.5 Adams Ovation Driver. I have always had issues with my driving and getting any height. I took this from the box and hit 20 balls. 18 were straight and long. The feel was fantastic and it helped me to correct many of my problems.I would not trade this club for anything. I am thinking about buying another club in case something happens to this one. Outstanding product and a very cost effective purchase.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ky   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 22, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Ovation 10.5, regular

Still a very good traditional shaped driver.
It's been replaced with Ovation 2 and Ovation 3 now.

Comparing to the latest 2008/2009 drivers it can certainly matche these beasts no problems.

the stock head was light so I lead weighted it to give it more feel.
the stock sahft is acceptable not the best and tends to be pretty soft for its flex so I choke down 1 to 1.5 inches to play. still awesome as the stock length is 46" !!

Customer Service

no need

Similar Products Used: Almost all OEMs
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
andyjet   Shoots in the 90s [Oct 26, 2007]
Model Reviewed: adams golf ovation

I have just tried the ovation driver on the range and i have never played better!
I bought it for $99 at my local shop and its amazing. I used to slice very much but now im hitting straight with a little draw, thats the shot i want to play. i hit my first 250 yard drive with it and i am so pleased. Great buy for anyone who wants to play better. Great value for money. Great club.

Similar Products Used: Ping G2,taylormade 460cc, callaway 454.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dan J.   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 14, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Ovation 10.5 Driver

My first reveiw on here after years of using these reviews for possible purchases, trials etc. I have tried about every driver made by every company making them. This is a very inexpensive driver. Yet it has to be by far the best driver I own. 10.5 degree green Aldila NV shaft by Adams in the stiff flex. This driver is the easiest driver to hit straigt and long I have ever tried. Like they say, there is a big diffrence between a persons "range drives" and "course play drives". I can figure out just about any drivers set up, stance, swing path etc. needed to bomb it straight and long on the range after a little bit of trial and error. But the thing is, alot of these drivers tend to lose me when I take them out to play a round of golf (decent drive here, decent drive there) but they are not consistant enough for a guy like me that does not have a consistant repeatable swing every time. This is a driver that you can get figured out quickly, take it to the course and continue to bomb it straight and long even if your swing and contact is a bit off from teebox to teebox.

Dont get me wrong, I know that there is no magic wand driver out there. But this is the closest I have come to finding a driver that is long, straight and forgiving all at the same time. I also understand that the shaft is "the engine" when it comes to drivers. I have tried other brands of drivers with the same shaft in them and they are good, long and straight also, but the forgiveness factor on a slight miss-hit is nowhere near as good as it is with the Adams Ovation head. Im a recreational weekend golfer. I might play once a week or once every two weeks. Occaisionally twice in one week. I play with alot of guys that play three, four times a week. This driver helps keep my game closer to theirs more than any three or four hundred dollar 460cc Taylormade, Callaway, KZG, Ping, Cobra, Titleist or other Adams drivers I have purchased or demo'd.

Customer Service

Have never had any issues with quality.

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made 460 R7 Draw, R580-XD, Callaway F3, F5 Fusion's, KZG Gemini 460, Ping G2, G5, Various Cobra 460's, Various Titleist 460's and also Adams Redline Dual 460 and new Insight BUL5000.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Stuart S   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 17, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Adams Ovation 10.5 - stock Aldila Stiff

This is a fantastic driver. It has a 460cc head which sits very square, the stock shaft by Aldila is a 46" mid kick, high launch 60g. I have emailed Aldila to find out what this is comparable to in there range but they have not replied. I guess it is between the 55g & 65g NVS? If it is they should have left it orange rather than green.

I have owned this now for about 6 months, it cost me £75 and I am very impressed with its performance, it is long and straight. I find you can manipulate the tradjectory depending on how high you tee the ball which gives flexibility in windy conditions. Personally I think the stock stiff shaft may be a little to stiff for me as on a good shot the ball will go straight but with a slight fade, but a bad shot seems to leave the club face open and a slice into the right rough. This isnt terrible but my smooth swing doesnt load the shaft excessively and I would like to hit the regular to compare.

Distance wise I have hit some long shots with this, only last night I had one of 295-300yd (including roll). I didnt try particulartly hard but hit it right from the middle. I have measured the hole (404yds) with a Nikon 500G, the tee was at the back and I was in the middle of the fairway (100 yards out). On the next hole I had my bad shot and it ended up 240yd from the tee in the rough on the right. As you can see there can be a huge difference in distance depending on the contact/swing, but I would imagine that this is the same with most drivers?

I wont be changing drivers anytime soon, its got the maximum .830 COR and the maximum head size, I cant see what else they can do? As I said a shorter regular may suit me a little better but until I try reshafting it/purchasing another I wont know.

Definately worth a try.

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used: Adams GT10
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Smooth Wave Dave   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 03, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Adams Ovation 10.5

I picked this thing up for $79 plus tax and took it to the range. Very forgiving, but noizey. This is a workable club allowing me to create fades and draws. I am not a heavy hitter, but this is great tool to have that gets the job done. With a MSRP of $250, It pays to wait.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Koyak   Shoots in the 90s [Mar 20, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Adams Ovation Driver Standard 10.5

Just got back into Golf after a 4 year layoff. Driving has always been a weakness in my game. Getting back into the game I thought that a 460 cc driver should help. I picked the Ovation driver at a local sporting goods store for $89. It is the best $89 I've I've invested in this wonderful game of golf.

First of all, this driver is straight. i still slice but when I do, it's does not go into the trees. Instead, it's usually short, and in the short rough. I've only played 3 times with this driver. But every outing has seem improvements with my drives. I'm just getting back into the game so my drives are anywhere between 230 - 280 (The swing is inconsistent, Very inconsistent). Most above 250. And I hit a couple that were, well, Very, Very LONG.

I agree with everything from the first reviewer - Very Straight and sneaky long.

This driver has brought me new found enjoyment of the game of golf. And isn't that what it's all about?

Customer Service

have had to use

Similar Products Used: Ping TiSI, Titleist 975J
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
WizardMan   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 20, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Adams Ovation 10.5 deg driver

Bought Adams Ovation 10.5 deg driver, non-offset recently; seen at golf shop for $99, couldn't pass up because of Aldila NV stiff shaft, worth $85 itself. Great looking head, does not look to be 460 cc. Lines up excellent, great finish on club. Great shaft, but the stiff shaft not for slower tempo swing. One word to describe club- STRAIGHT!!. Also, club is sneaky long- gets right out there with the other big name clubs. Gets good distance even when I think it was a mis-hit; nice to have that in a club. So far best combo is with a Cally Red, nice trajectory with good run-out on fairway. It is a noisy club, distinct "plink" at impact, but not any worse than other clubs I have hit. Have enjoyed it so much, will be looking for the fairway woods and/ or utility clubs. Heck, may even spluge and find a good set of Adams irons, but hard to think of giving up my TA-5's.

Customer Service

Don't know yet, but they have a good reputation. Lots of senior tour players use Adams products

Similar Products Used: Various- older TM's, Callys, Tommy Armour, various components.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com