Callaway Great Big Bertha Drivers

Callaway Great Big Bertha Drivers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 120  
[Apr 14, 2009]
The Mad Bomber
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Callaway Great BB, 8*

A good club overall. I've had 4 of them over the last 12 years or so. I have flattened out the face on each one and was forced to replace each time as the Great BB doesn't seem to stand up like the original. Good feel for a club it's size, and at the time you couldn't beat the forgiveness. However, despite being a good club for it's day, it is no comparison to modern drivers for distance or accuracy. It will go down as one of the best drivers Callaway has ever made for it's day though.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 29, 2008]
camaro guy
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Callaway Great Big Bertha

I just started using this club a few days ago, and already I am having straighter drives and longer tee shots. The feel of the club is awesome, and I have almost quit slicing completly. I plan on using this club all throughout my high school golf season this year.

Similar Products Used:

Ping G5, Acuity driver

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 07, 2007]
Mark Reinhardt
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Big bertha 460 driver

Having not golfed in 25 years, I chose to return to golf for "cold weather" exercise in Fl. I received this club as an early Christmas gift...Having played for about 5 weeks, my old driver was nicknamed the "humiliator". This club is aptly named ...."The " Intimadator". Overnight. It is the best club in my bag hands down! I am drilling the ball 300 yards plus...and with time I know will be able to drive PAR 4's onto the green......instead of little chips...that I am now doing with this club.....and all down the fairway like an arrow....It is "ball sensitive".....meaning that some balls stroke well....others do not.....the Callaway Hots go so far as to loose sight of them as they ascend into orbit....while others.....only go into the next county...all beautifully straight

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 08, 2005]
mogahen
Scratch Golfer
Model Reviewed: Great Big Bertha

Classic club that never stops working. A gem to hit off the ground, very workable. It's going to take a great driver to make me switch.

Similar Products Used:

Ping ISI tech, Titleist 965

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 21, 2003]
Zane
Shoots in the 80s

Well i used to shoot high 90's until i got a Great Big Bertha 2 it really improved my get my Drives are are 220 and im close to breaking 80 im 15 now and on the high school team.

Similar Products Used:

Callaway C4,Callaway steelhead irons

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 27, 2003]
Ben
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Great Big Bertha

One of best drivers. Still holds its own against the newer drivers. As a golfer still always looking for more distance and less shot dispersion so I try different drivers here and there. However, I have had mine since 1994 and after trying many drivers I still find myself going back to the GBB. The only thing is that the stock shaft is terrible as most OEM shafts that the major manufacturers put in. Once you change the shaft it performs much better. Currently using a Grafalloy Prolite 35 and it is a very solid club.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 24, 2003]
Nick Roberts
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Great Big Bertha 9*, UST 65-S

I've had this club for longer than any other with the exception of my sandwedge. I'd say that my marriage with this club has gone through its fair share of counseling, but that is due more to the shaft than the clubhead. With the OEM shaft, I constantly hit blocks with hard, or fast tempo swings. The shaft itself is not terrible, it is just not a good shaft for the GBB Driver, as it tends to lag too much w/ too much torque. I'm sure that many people who have hit the GBB fairway woods with the same shaft would agree. Overall it has been a solid, dependable driver that has stood the test of time well, although it doesn't have the pop off the face that the BBB or VFT series do. Now that I've taken the ill-fitting shaft out, I'm looking forward to several years of good ball striking from it.

Customer Service

Haven't had to use Callaway, but would recommend PING

Similar Products Used:

Callaway BBB, VFT, GBB II, Taylor Made Ti Bubble, Tommy Armour Tommy Gun Ti, Callaway Hawkeye

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 15, 2003]
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Great Big Bertha 9 degree, firm shaft

This club is the great deceiver. When I first got it I was hitting it long and reasonably straight, but after about a week I couldn't hit one straight at all. I got used to playing with a big draw which, on off days, was a hook or serious block. Now I've lost all confidence off the tee and can't wait to change driver. It will be nice to hit from the fairway for a change. I'm switching to the Taylor Made 200 with stiff rifle shaft.

Customer Service

Not tested.

Similar Products Used:

The fairway woods are great - definitely not changing them!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Apr 01, 2003]
Charlie
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: GBB 9 degree, firm shaft

After looking around for a used driver to upgrade my old big bertha warbird (I also got it used for $50), I came across callaway's site and their trade in, trade up program. I ended up paying $130.00 for the great big bertha and got back a $40 credit for the old one, which was just too good to pass up. I noticed two things about the GBB that differed from the older warbird, what happens when you mis-hit it and how your swing speed affects the ball movement. I wish I could say I immediately started hitting 300 yard drives right down the middle like so many other golfers here (its funny I never see that many good golfers on the courses I play), but did notice that the larger clubhead made it easier to obtain clean contact with the ball and I dramatically reduced my squib shots that would shoot off about 50 yards left or right of the tee box. That being said, I was still hitting some fairly big slices and hooks on the range. I guess it just is not a miracle club that takes 10 strokes off your game after all. The swing speed seemed to make the most difference to me. When I used my normal swing I battled my slices and hooks, but when I really slowed down my backswing I started getting a lot more consistent results. This was a change from the old warbird which was erratic for me no matter how hard or softly I used to swing. After about 30 or 40 balls, I managed to get into a nice groove and was hitting around 75% of my shots around 235 yards with a slight draw (maybe 5 yards or so longer than normal but I can't be totally sure). Overall, I liked the larger clubface and the feel of the shots better than my older drivers. Callaway makes a very solid club that really is better than the cheaper no-names, which I think is worth the extra money when you know that the club will respond consistently to your swing.

Customer Service

I received it 3 days after ordering, so far so good

Similar Products Used:

big bertha warbird 10 degree steel shaft, cleveland classic persimmon

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 03, 2003]
Bret
Shoots in the 90s

i am 11 years old and my dad just handed this club down to me and i have to say it was the best thing that has ever happened to me. i used to be ending up at around 120-150yds but now im close to 200! that's not very long compared to my friends but i'm getten there.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 120  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com