Callaway Big Bertha ERC II Drivers

Callaway Big Bertha ERC II Drivers 

DESCRIPTION

The ERC II Driver has created a world wide stir with it's hot "ultra-thin" Forged Titanium face (which has been deemed illegal for tournament play by the USGA.. From Callaway Golf: "A revolutionary breakthrough in golf club technology," the ERCII features, "a large, ultra-thin forged titanium face with 'Variable Face Thickness' (VFT) Technology, and delivers greater ball speed, forgiveness."

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 159  
[Jan 04, 2018]
andymartin101


Strength:

Scary long.... but hard to control. Longest recorded drive 369 yds with this... My Great Big Bertha is fully 40 yds back although I have a short shaft in that and it is my fairway finder.

Weakness:

If you go after a drive and are 1% off the perfect shot.... prepare to be punished!

Price Paid:
£180
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2002
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Aug 08, 2013]
Henry garcia
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: ERC 2

I bought this club and others in a yard sale! I didn't know what I was about to encounter. I was playing with a titleist 910 d3 and when I tried the erc 2 I put my titleist away. The erc 2 was averaging about 30 to 40 yards longer off the tee ( 9* stiff fujikara 45 inch shaft) I couldn't believe it! I play in several home course matches and was easily using a wedge or 9 iron instead of a 6 or 7 iron on some par 4's This club worked fore so well that I bought another one as a back up and paid 4 times more than I had at the yard sale.

Similar Products Used:

Cobra 430 ss - bang golf bangastein - Taylor made r360

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 08, 2013]
David Vahlkamp
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Callaway ERCII

Best driver ever, (9 degrees)

It is true that you have to hit the sweet spot. but you should do that with all drivers and all irons. if you cant hit the sweet spot get some training. i am a ext. hcp 6.0 player and i have a lot of fun with this driver with an average drive of 382 Yards i am very satisfied. it brings you a longer drive. i also hit with long drive drivers of 4 degrees and with this ERCII i allmost hit the same lenght. just tee the ball a bit more up to the nose of your left foor (RH Players) and it will be easyer to hit.

Similar Products Used:

taylormade R11 was also a very nice club but could not compete with the ERCII of Callaway

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 13, 2011]
steve herman
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: erc11

anyone know of erc11 for sale anywhere. i had one and let it get away. e-mail me if you see or know of one. paherman@bellsouth.net

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 18, 2010]
jay
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: erc2

isnt this club illegal to use in comps??

Little size head can be a pain... and dosent have the best sound, other then that, its the best driver i have ever hit... hiting straighter and further with less effort

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 11, 2007]
Tim Harper
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: ERC 2

I would like to say that this is the best driver I have ever hit. The ball just jumps off of the clubface I have just played a round at a 7700 yard course and shot a low for the year a 82 becuase of the driver. We had a best ball tournament and 17 of the 18 holes were mine becuase of this driver. The only thing left was a 100 in almost every par 4. If you are having trouble shooting with it. Check your swing. I believe this is ten times better than anything out here on the market now. 8-11-07 If I had to rate this club I would give it a ten out of ten

Customer Service

p.s. If you swing from the inside there is no way you can find this club hard to hit. I found this club impossible to mis hit.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 24, 2006]
crapyking
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: ERC II 10* firm

I've been playing a Diamond Tour ERC II knockoff & liked the feel alot. Very low center of gravity, right size head. Somehow I got the real deal @ Edwin Watts used for $40 shipped. The REAL thing outdrives the knockoff (which I liked alot) by 20-30 yrds. I've tried LOT's of drivers. This is the longest/equel to my Cobra 310 which was longer than anything previously used. I hit it a few times in the back yard yesterday & played 18 today. Found it very forgiving, even my mis hits were slight slices or worm burners that carried 200. My long drives 240-260. These people who claim to hit 300+ yds are full of IT! If you like samller profile (330cc) this is your ticket to get a $600 club for 1/10th of original cost!

Similar Products Used:

BB titanium, Cobra SS 310, powerbilt, Titlest 975J, several others.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 25, 2006]
nasimma
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: ERC II 9* firm

I have to admit that I'm not that great in golf, but I got this driver for a long time already. Yes I have to say that it's the pain at first to drive the ball straight. The driver's sweet spot is so tiny and the face is so curvy! of course it's very hard to hit it straight. But then with some adjustment of my stance and the way my downswing is, the ball just explode!!! and the best feeling is the "sling shot" feeling on a driver's face and the sound. The ball just seem so unstoppable. I think this driver is the real challenge. The lower body gotta be REAL still and not much force on the right hand swing easy and then you'll be looking at 300+ yrd or so. I'm still trying to master this challenge even tho a mis-hit suffers!

Customer Service

None.

Similar Products Used:

None cuz this is the worse and the best i've ever tried.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 01, 2006]
cizek
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Callaway ERC-2

While I generally hit this club well, I have snapped the shaft twice on clean hits. The first time, the shaft snapped between my hands. The second time, it snapped in the middle.

Customer Service

Callaway just re-shafted my club, even though I am way out of warranty.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
[May 17, 2004]
Avid Golfer 18
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: ERC II 9* firm flex

I got this driver used for about $200. What a waste of money. It's true the odd drive will go 300+ yards but slight mis hits suffer. For me a typical mis hit shot resembles a baseball curveball that rolls about 200yds. I can also buck slice it directly into the bush. My swing can produce better results with almost every other driver I've tried. If you don't find the sweetspot on every swin this is not the club for you.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used:

none were this bad The Cobra 427 is forgiving

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 159  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com