Callaway Big Bertha Fusion FT-3 Tour Drivers

Available At:
Big Bertha Fusion FT-3 Tour

The new Big Bertha Fusion FT-3 Tour Driver combines a slightly open face and optimized center of gravity position for a trajectory preferred by more skilled players. The ultra-hot titanium cup-face provides blazing distance and Fusion technology delivers incredible accuracy.

User Reviews (54)

Showing 1-10 of 54  
rosco   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 17, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Big Bertha Fusion FT-3 Tour

the club is the best driver that I own it help a 200 yard to a 260 yard shots it is a good club has some problem with the handle but still a real good club for $20 could not be beat

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
Vicente   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 22, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Callaway Ft-3 9.5 tour driver

I saw this club at a local shop and thought to myself i need a good driver i switched from a taylormade r7 superquad to this callaway driver and it took some adjusting too but as soon as i got comfortable i was hitting the ball 20yds farther averaging 280- 310yds. I must say for 50 dollars it was a steal.

Similar Products Used: Talyormade Superquad
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
srcontois   Shoots in the 80s [May 03, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Callaway Fusion Tour FT-3

I traded in the original Nike SQ driver for the pre-owned FT-3. I tested the FT-3 against Ping G15 & Nike SQ Square head. The data the launch monitor spit out made the decision very easy. I increased my average distance from 245 to 260. Increased roll from 7-15 yards and tightened dispersion by 40%. The 45" shaft makes it easier for me to control then the 45 1/2" G15. Plus, I hit the sweet spot more consistently with shorter shaft which increases the distance. The Square head Nike SQ balloned on me which probably was the result of a poor fit with my swing. The Nike SQ was impossible to work either direction. The FT-3 is pleasing to the eye, plenty forgiving, and HOT off the face. For the prices FT-3 can be picked up for its crazy to drop $500 on a new big stick unless you really fall in love with something shiny.

Customer Service

Golf Galaxy customer service was 5 star. The sales rep was fantastic and had to be working on comission for that level of service. I am a new fan of club fitting. I decreased loft by 1 degree, increased shaft flex, upgraded technology, and picked up 15 yards and hit ball straighter.

Similar Products Used: Ping G15
Nike SQ Square head
Cleveland Hi-bore
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
PhilJunior04   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 06, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Callaway Big Bertha Fusion FT-3 Tour 9.5*

Just got this club and took it out to the range for a test-run. I couldn't wipe the smile off myself as I watched ball after ball sail past my old longest distance and just keep on going. The low-mid ball flight led to amazing amounts of run, something I could never achieve with my old driver. This club looks great at address, and seems to hide it's 460cc head very nicely. This head has great forgiveness, and I recommend it for all handicappers, low and high. The sound coming from this driver is very unique, however once you hit a few balls with this beast you will forget about it. It is hard to believe how old this club actually is, however you will quickly realise that it was ahead of it's time when it was released. I can't wait to get out on the course and start hitting drives to places I haven't ever been able to hit to. Considering how cheap you can pick one up for these days, you would be silly not to at least try it. You won't be disappointed!

Customer Service

-

Similar Products Used: Taylormade R5
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
James   Scratch Golfer [Jun 23, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Callaway FT-3 Tour

GREAT club! Long and straight but with the ability to work it. And with regard to the comment about us not being able to hit 300yds...alot of us with swing speeds of 111 + have no trouble hitting it 300 yds or more. This driver not only allows the long drives, but keeps in in the short grass which sets up the short game.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
famousdavis   Scratch Golfer [May 24, 2010]
Model Reviewed: FT-3 Tour Custom

I silently chuckle at the dimwits who convince themselves they smash it over 300 yards. I say let the fools revel in their ego's and swim in their pride. For alas, it is the humble man that wins the match.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
sgniwder99   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 17, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Callaway Fusion FT-3 Tour Draw Driver

I guess this is kind of a comparative review, though it's not meant to be.

I got this club used, trading in my Nike SQ Dymo Squared more or less straight up. I realize that probably sounds like a rip-off given the relative ages of the two clubs, but believe me I couldn't be happier that I did it.

I found the Nike driver really really hard to hit straight. Apparently most other people don't have this problem, but I felt like it was absolutely impossible to get the face turned over at impact to put draw spin on the ball. The best I could ever hope for with the club was a slight fade. What was far more common was for me to leave the face open and hang the ball WAY out to the right (like, 75 yards).

This club is MUCH easier to hit. This is no doubt partly due to the draw weighting helping me get the thing turned over (failing to do so has always been my most common problem, so it wasn't all Nike's fault), but also I think just because this club isn't designed to be hard to hit anything but dead straight, like the Nike is. Even with the draw weighting the Tour model FT-3 does have a slightly open face, so if anything you'd think I'd still have the trouble with leaving it right. But the club is designed to be able to work the ball, which means that if you are a player for whom a good drive has some movement on it, the club doesn't fight your hands, which is exactly what the Nike always felt like it was doing. For me, this club works MUCH better.

Two minor things:
-This club doesn't seem to be a bomber. The only thing that made me put off getting rid of the Nike was its distance. When I did hit it well, I hit it 280-290, which was a good 20-30 yards farther than I'd ever consistently hit any other driver. With this club a good drive tends to be 260-270. I can live with that, since it means hitting it more consistently.
-Some people on here complain about the club's sound. Personally I like it. I didn't like how loud the Nike was (LOUD). This isn't nearly as offensive to me. But I can see how it might bother some people.

Customer Service

Got it used from Global Golf. Those people are outstanding. Great prices, great selection. I can't see myself ever buying a club from anyone else as long as they're around. Seriously.

Similar Products Used: Well, I wouldn't call the Nike "similar," which I guess is obvious from the review. I used to have a Great Big Bertha, which like most Callaway clubs is pretty workable. I find this one much easier to hit consistently, though.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
The Curry 66   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 17, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Fusion Tour Driver 8.5 with a X-Stiff Diamana Blue Board Shaft

Best driver i have owned and i have owned 100's :) It has saved my driving problems of late and if you can get used to the noise (dull fud) it's worth looking at. The face is square, which has helped cure my dodgy hook. The ball flight is medium and predictable. The shaft is excellent also. I like to swing my driver hard so this really is a perfect set up for me. Good work Callaway. I picked this up from www.3ball.com for just $199 shipped to Dubai so very good value for money.

Customer Service

None

Similar Products Used: You name it! :)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
cbpoop   Shoots in the 70s [May 26, 2008]
Model Reviewed: ft-3 tour

very very good driver!!! most of the time the shaft makes the driver so i have to say that the club makes shaping a lot easier than most drivers out there. and for some reason i can only hit callaway drivers. all of the others out there dont touch this driver. well the other newer ones. but this suits me and my budget:) i got a aldidas nvs stiff on my ft-3 and it preforms like a beast. i can hit good balls 'bout 320. on a good day when im warmed up and feeling good over the ball. but on average i can get it 295. easily. great driver. if youre looking to upgrade. and dont want to break the bank this driver suits me and it'll probably suit you.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used: ft-5; ft-i; titleists; nikes; bridgestones; taylor mades; and mostly all of the other big brand names out there. oh yeah and ping!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
wedbergj34   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 30, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Callaway Ft-3 w/ NV-65X

I have played this driver for three solid seasons now and can't take it out of my bag. Over the past two years I have gone to several demo days and hit drivers from Callaway, Taylor Made, Titleist,Cobra,Ping,Mizuno,Tour Edge, and Cleveland. Not a single driver has caught my attention for more than a swing or two. However, I've begun to experiment with the new Callaway FT-I Tour Low CG 9.5*. It looks great, feels even better and the results are nothing short of amazing.

Customer Service

Customer Service is top notch. I cracked the composite sole on a tee shot, took it back to my local pro shop. They informed me that the model was being fazed out and it was no longer under warrenty. I insisted they call Callaway and ask them to replace the driver and the did so and had it back in 10 days. Not a shock to me, in my youth I worked in the golf business and always found Callaway to be the most customer focused of the major manufactures.

Similar Products Used: Name it and at one point in time or another I've played it or tried it.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 54  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

    THE SITE

    ABOUT GOLFREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.