Callaway FT-5 Tour Drivers

Callaway FT-5 Tour Drivers 

DESCRIPTION

The new FT-5 and FT-5 Tour Drivers are the latest evolution in clubhead design utilizing our revolutionary Fusion® Technology. A massive 50 grams of discretionary weight has been created using a Carbon Fiber Body — creating the OptiFit™ Weighting System that produces three center of gravity configurations: Draw, Neutral and Fade, enabling golfers to choose a combination to best suit their individual game. The larger, more robust CT/VFT Titanium cup face is designed to the legal limit, as defined by the USGA Characteristic Time test, resulting in increased ball speed, distance and forgiveness — even on miss-hits. The FT-5 Tour Driver has a slightly open face for a look preferred by more accomplished players. The end result is exceptional distance, performance, accuracy and confidence.

Fusion Technology
Proprietary Fusion Technology creates an unprecedented 50 grams of discretionary weight which is strategically positioned for a high Moment of Inertia and precise lateral location of the center of gravity. This provides exceptional stability on off-center hits, while enabling ball flight customization for optimal individual performance. The 25-gram weight located at the rear of the driver lowers the CG for optimal trajectory.

OptiFit Weighting System
Enables golfers to customize their driver by giving them three CG locations to choose from in most lofts: Draw for promoting a draw or reducing a slice/fade; Neutral for maximum workability; or Fade for promoting a fade or reducing a hook/draw.

CT/VFT Titanium Cup Face
Modified version of VFT® Technology in which face thicknesses are designed specifically to maximize performance under the new USGA Characteristic Time test, resulting in a larger, more robust face for increased ball speed on shots hit all over the face.

460cc head design
A 460cc head volume is incorporated with a longer, wider and hotter face for more confidence at address, a higher MOI and increased ball speed for longer, straighter drives.

Carbon Composite Body
The material used to make the body is significantly lighter than titanium, allowing Callaway Golf engineers to move 50 grams of discretionary weight where it is needed most, resulting in better stability and distance.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 30  
[Aug 15, 2017]
Kit kennedy
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Callaway ft5

Bought this driver 2nd had and loved it from the start till my son broke shaft while using it........bought another off eBay for 60 dollars with the fujikura speeder shat.......love it........had double stroke in 2015 and just now getting back to hitting golf balls.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 22, 2010]
donyv
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: ft-5 9.5 draw with grafolly blue stiff

great driver with a sweet sound at impact.great distance may draw a little more than i was use to but keeps the ball generally in the fairway.longest hit was 325yds on a 340 par four.tied club pro that day.paid 50.00 on ebay.worth every penny.still use my ignite 450 on hole were a draw would not work best.but open the face a little and you can hit the draw ft-5 staight

Similar Products Used:

erc non conforming,bIGBERTHA II,hawkeyeand vft,nike ignite 410and 450,great bigbertha,nike 400,callaway 454

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 15, 2010]
Tim Stock
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: FT-5

I demoed nearly a dozen drivers, including all the new Callaway drivers. The FT-5 was easily the most consistent. I hit the Taylormade R-9 just as far on average, however the FT-5 was the most accurate and I averaged 290 yards. Great buy!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 04, 2009]
Jay
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: callaway ft-5 tour

Callaway ft-5 tour, aldila proto vs 60s 10.5 degree. This club is a bomber! I've always liked callaway drivers, but was a little skeptical of the "fusion" drivers. I couldn't have been more wrong. The sound is a little bit of a turn off as its hard to distinguish a good shot from a bad. In reality, do you really need anything more than sight to notice performance? One really needs to be more than a hacker = me, to fully appreciate this club. What I mean is that this club is forgiving, long, and workable. If you don't have a consistent shot shape, this club can eat your lunch on a bad day. In other words, I don't need the tour model.

Customer Service

Thankfully never had to use.

Similar Products Used:

Callaway x460
Taylormade r9 tp
Callaway 454
Cleveland launcher 460

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
[Aug 11, 2009]
J_Chen_74
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Callaway FT-5 Tour

I purchased a new FT-5 Tour with Fujikura E360 Stiff shaft on eBay for about $120 in March 2009. The driver is fantastic! It has the characteristics of workability, control, and decent distance. My average drives are 270-275 with good drives being easily clearing 310-320. Launch trajectory is mid-low with low spin and good carry. Miss hits produce little side spin and still gets good distance. This in part can be attributed to the E360's mid/high flex point and 3.8 torque that produces stability on impact, feel and manageable control. The impact sound is high pitched and loud, which are common characteristics of Callaway and 460cc drivers. Overall, this is high quality driver for the mid-low handicapper with 95-105mph swing speeds, that desires consistency and decent distance. Swing speeds lower than this range I recommend the regular FT-5 with Fujikura E150. Swing speeds faster than this I recommend Taylor Made R9's or Titleist 909's for hotter, thick wall face construction on the driver's head for enhanced distance.

Similar Products Used:

Mizuno 10*, Cleveland TA Tour Action 8.5*, Cleveland HiBore Monster 10.5*, Taylor Made R7 Quadpro 9.5*, Titleist 907 D1 9.5* Stiff

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 20, 2009]
Alexander Heinrich
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: FT-5 Tour 9.5 Neutral

I'm a 3.4 Hcp - tested a couple used drivers and settled on the FT-5 Tour with a ProV2 S shaft. This thing is fantastic - I didn't see the huge jump in distance that some folks are reporting (some of these guys must be taking steroids as well), but much more importantly: This driver puts the ball in the fairway. It is very workable right-left and vice versa. Trajectory is spot on, and it is incredibly true to direction.
If you need a few extra yards and turn the tempo up a notch, the club definitely responds. But as said, I'm equally if not more impressed with the added control.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used:

Cobra X-Speed, Nike Sumo, FT-3, Taylor Made R-5 and a couple others

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 03, 2009]
Curry66
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Callaway FT-5 9.5* Tour I-Mix - Grafalloy Platinum 65 gm Stiff

I have been playing the Callaway FT-5 I-mix now for 6 months and thought i would give you a review based on facts. The Driver is very solid and as long as you swing a golf club well you should have no problems with the club. I opted for a Grafalloy shaft as they tend to be more solid and the head and shaft tend to swing as one (if that makes sense) it gives you total confidence that if your aiming to take out the left side of the fairway you can just point and go. I have lessons every week at the Butch Harmon School and my teacher there works with me on moving the ball with the driver left to right and right to left hitting low and high shots. This driver is very workable and both me and my pro like it. The ball jumps of the face and is definitely long, i wouldn't say it was life changing but does inspire confidence, which is all you can ask for on the tee. I would recommend the I-Mix version for people like me who like to try different shaft combo's (i tried the UST V2 S, Aldila NVS R, Matrix Ozik X-Con 6) The Platinum is king for me. I hope this helps someone and if you want to get the head and shafts cheap rockbottomgolf.com is cheaper than Ebay!!

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used:

Callaway FT-iQ, Callaway FT-3, FT-i, Ping G5, G10, Bang Storm, Geek Golf Fale Safe, Alpha.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 21, 2008]
Bill
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: FT-5 Tour 9.5- Fuji E360 Stiff

Been playing the Hibore XL Tour (V2 stiff) for the last year and a half. For most of that time, the H-XL was awesome. About 3 months ago, I totally lost my driver swing. I'm constantly working on improving my swing and what I really think happened is my swing evolved until it no longer fit that head/shaft combo. So, about a month ago, I decided to try something new. After a lot of research, I settled on the FT5tour with stock e360 stiff shaft. Very happy with this combo. THe ball really does shoot off the face. I totally dig the step up and look of the head as compared to the H-xl. I'm really happy with this combo. I have a 102-103 mph swing speed and have a quick transition. Ive read a lot of negative comments about the e360 shaft but...after playing a lot of current shafts, I really like it. This driver can be had at some great bargains on ebay. That's where I got mine for 195.00 delivered. Never been hit.

Customer Service

I've used Callaway c/s before and it was excellent.

Similar Products Used:

Hibore-XL tour, Burner, Burner TP, TM R7 425, TM R7 TP, FT-3 Tour (I think Taylor Made sucks).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 16, 2008]
Neale
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Callaway FT-5 Tour

This driver is the best in class , a true hand cannon long long long and down the middle.

Similar Products Used:

Taylormade 470, Ping G-10, Cobra

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 26, 2008]
Tony Slusher
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Calloway FT-5

I recently purchased the FT-5 8.5 degree driver with a pro launch extra stiff shaft. I was using a R-7 previously to this driver. I hit in the 300 - 310 range with the R-7. I have a swing speed in the high 120's. The FT-5 has added additional 35-40 yards on average to my drive. Best driver I have hit.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 30  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com