Cobra Cobra L4V X-Speed Drivers

Cobra Cobra L4V X-Speed Drivers 

DESCRIPTION

The X is all about extreme. Extreme ball speed. Extreme distance. The L4V X Drivers are designed for accomplished players who demand a neutral ball flight with low spin and high launch – so they can maximize distance and the shape of their shots. Because once you can do that, the fairway is yours.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Jul 14, 2015]
Anderson
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: L5V

I picked this up on the cheap off eBay. Wow. I usually blow off all the marketing talk, but you can actually tell the difference with the L5V's new weighting and design. It is pretty easy to generate massive clubhead speed. Not a very forgiving club compared to others (duffers beware), however when you tag one it will launch absolute BOMBS. I own an illegal 750cc driver, and I actually hit it 30 yards further with the L5V. On the flipside, I hit the fairway about 1 in 3 times. Not a big deal since I have spent most of golf career hitting out of the deep stuff anyway. It also produces an extremely muffled sound when you hit it, as opposed to most of Cobra's drivers which sound like grenades. I love this club.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 22, 2011]
threelions11
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Cobra LV4 X Speed

Thought I would write a review to bring this driver up to 2012. I bought just the head off eb** for £32.00 including postage. I have fitted a few different shafts but just could not make this work. It was irritating as it was the high launch I have been looking for same length as my Speed Pro S (x) but straighter. The problem was I was just pushing out to the right, could not draw for love nor money. (I usually can and occasionally end up hooking – so hitting our right and not being able to bring back was frustrating me) Anyway, gave up and put it aside in my workshop as had same result with 4-5 shafts including my Bubba Watson Pink Grafalloy Stiff Flex Prototype shaft. Then after a particularly bad day driving with my new Cobra ZL I went back tinkering. I thought I could be leaving the head lagging on the L4V due to playing my shafts 46.5” long. It seems to be quite a heavy head. That may be because the design is low weight, graphite crown was making the 205 gram (or so) seem heavier. So, I dug out the Accuflex Ultra Boom (Sean the Beast Fister) Reg flex I had in a tub in the workshop, (this had always been too soft for me) and tipped it 2/5” (now somewhere between regular and stiff) and put it in the L4V reducing the length to 45.5” (shorter than I have played for years – I am 6’3”) BOOM, this ting rocks, high launch ( I am usually a very low hitter) with a rainbow trajectory and the ACCUFLEX Ultra Boom stops any spinning and quickly flattens the high trajectory providing 3-4 bounces and then runs out quite well (wet December fairways, can’t wait for summer) Now the bit others have mentioned, I have resolved the issue pushing out to the right (shorter shaft?) and am now banging this thing down the middle, It feels like I am hitting the ball with a hammer and the forgiveness is great across the face, which is deep (High) and wide. I sum this review up by saying this driver is wonderful FUN, brings the enjoyment back into driving. I am comparing this to 30+ drivers I have owned/tried which includes new models, Titleist D Comp, Cobra ZL Titleist D3, Geek Failsafe 1-2-3 and Dot Com This, Every other Cobra L5V, 455 Comp ,460 sz, etc Cleveland comp, Cleveland Monster, Hi Bore, XL and XLS, Cobra Speed Pro D, S (Various lofts) Bang O Matic, Taylor Made R7 Superquad and lots of previous models , Callaways – which were all terrible, Yonex (lots) Ping G5 and G10 (G10 all over the place) Mizuno Mp001 Bridgestone J33R (loads of run out) Intergra, Nike 5900, SQ2 and those Str8 things. Plus too many others to mention.
In summary, get this driver with the right shaft and it is the holy grail, long, high and on the fairway. It will make you smile all day and the next. May even lower your scores if you can then course manage the rest of your round ( don’t go for the par 5s in two, lay up with a 6 iron, 110 to the pin, PW then birdie or par – easy) Good luck if you can locate a L4V.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

See above

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 18, 2010]
bobby_14HC
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Cobra L4V Driver

Using this driver for 2 weeks. Not missing many fairways with this club. I have the 12* head with slightly closed face. It is very hard to slice with this driver. Not the longest but certainly the strightest! I have no problem with the loud pop. Actually I like it because the other day I heard some woman golfer on a nearby green say "WOW"! I have to believe she was impressed favorably with my abilities to pound the ball hehehe.

Customer Service

Not required.

Similar Products Used:

Various Cobra drivers, Taylormade R9 & R7,
Ping G5.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 09, 2008]
Clint Jorgenson
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Cobra Speed Pro S

I've been looking for yet again 'another' driver. My swing speed is trending down from around 110 to 104 - I'm getting old - 48. I've been extremely disappointed in my current setup. I've lost confidence in my driver. What's in my bag? I have the 2008 Taylor Made Burner TP. I hit the Cobra on a chance playing with this guy I met out playing – I was impressed. So, I went to the range and demo'ed a few Cobras’ - I tried the 9.5 degree 2008 LD - F speed (Aldia S flex shaft) - didn't like the looks or the way I hit it, I liked the sound. I tried the 9.5 degree Speed Pro S - loved it (Fujikura speeder pro S flex shaft – 65g). The club setup well for me at address, the ball felt as if it jumped off the club face and the sound – love that sound. Miss hits were noticeably on target vs. my current driver or other drivers I’ve tried. I'm sold – King Cobra is King ;). Hope to have the 2008 Speed Pro S in my bag for this weekend.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 29, 2008]
mts
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Cobra L4V X

I have been playing with this club for a couple months. This is an excellent driver. It is very forgiving and it is very easy to hit straight. I've been finding more fairways with this club. I don't care for the sound the club makes, but I've gotten used to it. I don't find the driver to be longer than other drivers I've tried (Hyper X, Tour Burner), but the head size/shape gives me more confidence standing over the ball and that, combined with the foregivness of the club = many more fairways hit.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 16, 2008]
Trus
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Cobra L4V X

This driver is big, loud, and long!!! I did not care for the diamana shaft and had mine reshafted with the Aldila VS Proto... I easily gained about 10 yards in distance... The club sets up neutral and seems to have a deep face... I had to tee it up a little higher than my Taylormade Burner... The sound is not as bad as last years Cobra but it is still louder than most drivers... it is easy to get past especially when you see where your ball lands... I would recommend everyone try this club especially if you have a Golfsmith near you... Golfsmith will fit you and order the club directly from Cobra... i.e. some shafts are not considered an up charge!!!

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Nike Sumo/ Nike 5000, Callaway FTI/ FT 5, Taylormade Burner 460/ TP Burner, Titleist 907 D1/ 907 D2, Cleveland Hibore XL

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 11, 2008]
Somatics
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: L4V X

Compared it to the Callaway Hyper X Tour. No comparison. The Cobra beats it hands down. My average ball speed is 159 mph. I am a natural draw hitter and I need a face that is neutral to open. The face of the L4V X is neutral.

I love the Diamana shaft and the face is truly explosive. It added some yards to my pokes. On average, I'd say 6 yards or so.

Last year, I played the X speed with the "Aldila "Proto by you" shaft. Not my favorite shaft. Cold/sterile. The Diamana beats it's hands down.

It's a great club. I would consider demoing it if you have a chance.

Based on performance, I cannot give this anything less than a 5 on 5 stars.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 23, 2008]
J. Daniels
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Cobra L4V F Stiff 10.0

This club is unbelievable!! I have tried about every driver out there. My last 2 drivers have been the Cleveland T1 460, the Cleveland HiBore XL. This driver is easily 20-30 yards longer for me. It has the maximum allowable limits in 4 different caegories. I'm not kidding you: I could swing it lefthanded and blindfolded and hit it long down the middle. It is incredibly forgiving and shoots off the face...a long way! Get it, man. You won't regret it!

Customer Service

Haven't had to use it yet.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com