Golf Smith Titanium 400 Drivers

Titanium 400

From GolfSmith: "Golfsmith's new Titanium 400 CM driver follows the same successful design styles of the Titanium Series CM metal woods but with increased volume for improved energy transfer from the clubhead to the ball. The added size is made possible through the use of a super high-strength beta titanium alloy from Russia called OTA-22. New to the golf industry, OTA-22 is ideal for creating larger face drivers because of its lower modulus than other beta titaniums. This higher yield strength permits a larger face area engineered thinner for greater face deflection and more energy transfer."

User Reviews (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7  
John   Shoots in the 80s [May 05, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Golfsmith Hi-COR Plus 400cc Ti Driver

This driver just started shipping in April 2003. I added a Harrison Pro 3.5 FL Lite (65g, 3.5 torque, Mid-Low flex, Firm flex)shaft (cost was $44) and am very pleased with the results. The combination is slightly longer than my Orlimar Hip Ti 315cc/Harrison 2.5 Ultra Lite shaft driver. Both are 9.5 degree. The flight is boring, carry is slightly better and even the off center shots do not lose much distance. Most of my drives cluster around the 280 area and the 400cc head is giving me better consistancy. The driver is very stable and this credit must go to the shaft. Harrison makes a quality line and after using two of their shafts I can say that they promote stability and accuracy together with distance. My swing speed is 105-108.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 28, 2002]
Model Reviewed: Golfsmith Titanium 400

This is a great club at a great price. I am hitting the ball farther and with more consistency than ever before. I am able to drive the ball farther than several of my friends who are using well-known drivers. I did upgrade from the original shaft which golfsmith regularly sells with the driver, but if you find the shaft to match your swing I am sure you will enjoy hitting this club. You also can't beat the service and the guarantee from golfsmith.

Customer Service

Outstanding

Similar Products Used: Callaway Hawkeye
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark Kovacic   Shoots in the 80s [May 08, 2002]
Model Reviewed: Golfsmith Titanium 400

The face is big and forgiving and you can almost alway make decent contact. I have gained considerable distance over my Big Bertha and Orlimar drivers. Shaft selection is very important and after tring three, I have settled on the BiMatrix by TT. So I have gained 20 yards with accuracy.

Customer Service

Always answer quickly and have replaced shafts damaged by UPS without question.

Similar Products Used: Callaway Big Bertha, Olimar Trimetal
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Vance Case   Shoot in the 90s [Jun 21, 2001]
Model Reviewed: GS Titanium 400

Excellent club, gives great distance. I have gained upwards of 20-(yes)50 yards. Hits very accurately and consistently. I have a Penley Stealth 70 R graphite shaft. Be careful of flex, mine is probably to flexible and tends to go left. Think about adding more stiffness to shaft selection. Bottom line - great buy great club.

Customer Service

Good service, may need more phone assistance, waiting times can be long.

Similar Products Used: Callaway, MacGregor, Taylor made
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris Welsh   Shoot in the 70s [May 20, 2001]
Model Reviewed: 2000

I play a 975d 9.5* Titleist, and this carries about 15-20 yards longer! For me thats about 270-280 yards. Lower trajectory even with my 115+ MPH swing speed.

Similar Products Used: Titleist, Taylor Made 300s
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike   Shoot in the 80s [May 03, 2001]

Most forgiving driver ever. You can't miss making contact somewhere on a face this large. Tends to hit low with lots of roll. Buy the components and build it yourself for half the cost.

Customer Service

Always superb.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Robert   Shoot in the 90s [Mar 14, 2001]

I assembled this club myself using Golfsmith components. It is an outstanding club, but attention must be paid to having the right shaft for this clubhead. I have gained about 10-15 yards, and straightened out my ball flight dramatically. The large club face is a godsend to me, since my swing is not very repeatable, and the large size gives me a big margin for error. Also, be advised that my driver swing speed is only 90 mph, and stronger players may have different results. The sound of the club takes some getting used to, since it has a very hollow sound, almost sounding like a hollow can when it's hit. However, I can't quarrel with the results!

Customer Service

Excellent customer service

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made Firesole, Wilson, other Golfsmith
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-7 of 7  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com