Ping Rapture Drivers

Ping Rapture Drivers 

DESCRIPTION

Driver with a composite head.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 67  
[Mar 07, 2022]
ceceliafredrick


Strength:

. The pro and I talked some more about what I was looking for, he said just a second and came out with a Ping Driver, ugliest head cover I have ever seen and said the range is closed so go over to #1 tee, take these 5 balls and see what you think. So meander over to the box and #1 is a 385 yard par 4. With the Cobra and others I had tested usually I would be 110-125 yards out. I take a few swings with this Ugly Duckling and it feels pretty good. Tee it up, put a good smooth 90% effort into it and it transformed into a beautiful swan in my hands.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Sep 04, 2012]
Craig Fowler
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Ping Rapture Driver

Great club, feels great, worth +10-15 yards, and accurate!

Customer Service

On other Ping clubs - fast, courteous, and VERY reasonable prices when charges are appropriate.

Similar Products Used:

Ping Rapture V2, Taylormade R9, Callaway FTIZ

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 19, 2010]
tom
Scratch Golfer
Model Reviewed: Ping Rapture driver

love listening to all the overactive imaginations babbling about 300 yard drives, lol too funny

Customer Service

xxxxxx

Similar Products Used:

xxxxxxx

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 19, 2010]
Bogeyguy
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Ping Rapture

Ok so I had a heart attack and quad by pass a couple of years ago. Not good when you're in you early 50's. Couldn't play for more than a year. Sold my sticks and said well maybe I never get to play anymore.

Dr. says ok, you can play again. Stay hydrated don't get too overheated. Great! Buy a new set of Irons, Etc. Etc. Driver was a Cobra 460 SZ. Hit it pretty good. Swing speed was not what it once was so after a few rounds kinda got an itch to get a little more distance off the tee. Over the last few weeks I have hit any and everything I could test. Nike, Callaway, Titleist, Taylor Made, Ping, Hippo, Clones, everything looking for that just right feel, distance, accuracy, confidence.

Had just finished 9 holes with a Diablo and 9 with a Ping G series and was not impressed with either. It was late in the evening and I was returning the demo to the pro shop at my favorite course. The pro and I talked some more about what I was looking for, he said just a second and came out with a Ping Driver, ugliest head cover I have ever seen and said the range is closed so go over to #1 tee, take these 5 balls and see what you think. So meander over to the box and #1 is a 385 yard par 4. With the Cobra and others I had tested usually I would be 110-125 yards out. I take a few swings with this Ugly Duckling and it feels pretty good. Tee it up, put a good smooth 90% effort into it and it transformed into a beautiful swan in my hands. The ball jumped off the face with a surprisingly solid sound and took off. I said jeez, how far was that. Teed up another and tried to duplicate the previous swing, same result. I got in the cart and went to see where I had ended up. 1st one less than 90 yds off the green, second one 77 paces to the center. Went back, hit the other 3, went back to the pro shop. Saw the $399.00 sticker on the shaft and said I like it, but not willing to spend that much. He said would you spend $162.00 tax and all, huh? It was a demo and last one. It's gotta go. I said "It's gone."
Rapture 10.5* Neutral, Aldila VS Proto 65g 350 Stiff shaft. New Winn Super lite grip.

I would not reccomend this to anyone I know. I wouldn't want them to have this in their bag. It is an outstanding club.
First 18 I played using it shot 79 and putted like ned and the first reader. Had 35 putts and average around 28. Hit all but one par 4/par5 fairways and the one I missed, was just out of the fairway.
The 18th at this course is a not overly long but tough par 5. Since coming back in May, have never even considered going for it in two as the fairway has a bunker in the that jutts out halfway into the fairway from the rightside to the center. Accuracy on the drive is a must as anything 260-270 off the tee and right of center will wander into the kitty litter. My drive was up the left center just past the bunker leaving me about 250 out. I seriously for the first time considered going for it. But there's a pond that encases the left side of the green and the lay up and 58* to the green was a sure birdie putt vs my lack of scuba gear and my balls ability to swim ashore to the green. However one of these days when the wind is right, I will make this green in 2.

Great club, in this instance a bargain to boot. Make sure you're getting the shaft that fits your swing speed and you'll really enjoy hitting this club. The sound is so much different than the others I hit. Looks good, feels good.

Similar Products Used:

Mizuno Tzoid, Cobra 460SZ and a few other Cobras, Ping G series, Callaway Both new ones 2010, Taylor Made Burner and R9 Titleist.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 11, 2010]
josh
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: ping rapture driver

i absolutely love this driver. i got it on sale at dicks for 149.99. i originaly went to buy the 07 burner on sale for 129.99 but after hitting this club i was sold on it. i played my first round with it today and have already seen a drastic improvment in my game. i was on in 2 on a 535 yard par 5 cant say enough how much i love this club.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 13, 2010]
Richard Summerfield
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Ping Rapture V2 driver

I tried out the V2 at a test day and had reasonable success with it,achieving a few extra yards over my current Callaway FTIQ. I didn't find it as forgiving and also found the 10.5 degree had a much higher launch than my 10 degree FT. I bought a 9 degree V2 and have been struggling to get any consistency, 1 out of 3 is better than the Callaway but all of them slice. I will persevere on the practice range, but on the course the FTIQ is far more reliable.
I hope it doesn't turn out to be a very expensive mistake.

Similar Products Used:

Callaway FTIQ remains my driver of choice.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
[Apr 22, 2010]
Blake Jones
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Ping Rapture Driver

I am a senior in high school, 17 years old and have been plaing golf since I was 4 years old.I was able to hit my old driver around 280 on average and it would be arrow straight.I hit it too hard and I broke the shaft. So I went to my local Dick's Sporting Goods, great place for all of your sporting goods, and bought a Ping Rapture driver. It was so light weight. I went to the driving range at Verdae Greens, the golf course of Embassy Suites in Greenville, SC, to test the new stick out. The range is 280 yards long, with a 45 foot net in the back. The first time I hit the driver, I cleared the net and landed in the fairway of the hole behind the range. After that, almost every single one of my drives have been just like that.

I reccomend it to everyone!!!!!!!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 05, 2009]
Javaone
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Ping Rapture V2 Driver

Long Road Back

OK, I got my clubs stolen. Lesson learned, I will never leave my clubs in the car again ~ Enough said.

I am 50 years old, 170lbs, 5’10”, crusty old bald guy. If I had a handicap it would most likely be around 8-10.

The journey begins… I really love golf, with that said I was determined to get exactly what I wanted in a new set of clubs. I started with the irons and after some research I decided to try some muscle back Mizunos. Hated them. Returned them on the 90 day guarantee. Although I had been using a Ping V2 Rapture driver I never regarded myself as a “Ping” guy. Being I live in Phoenix I went to the Ping fitting center and ended up with the new Ping I15 irons. I love them, the first two rounds I played, on different courses, I shot 75s.

Next was the driver. I am a fairly consistent driver of the ball, usually a draw. As I said I had a Ping V2 driver, only had it for about 3 months before it went by by. I liked it but never really loved it. So I set out to find the driver of drivers.
Ended up getting the new Ping G15, hated it. I gave it a good two months before I took it back. I went to the Ping fitting center again, they suggested I just needed to go to a 12 degree reg shaft G15. OK, I tried for about a month, hated it.
Every place I went everyone was pushing the G15, probably because it was new and there were incentives for the retailers to move them. I then saw the new Ping I15 driver, it was gorgeous, although it is fade bias I figured because of my consistent draw it would be OK. Gave it a try for about a month, hated it.
Done with Ping drivers I again set out looking for something else, and settled on the Burner TP driver. Gave it a good two months before I… HATED IT! Never have I had such a hard time with drivers, my friends hate me because of my driving, it’s the most fun part of the game for me.
By this time when I would go into a retail golf store most of the salespeople would dive under counters or run screaming for their live because I had become a master of using the 90 guarantee. Frustrated, but not willing to give up, I settled back on the Ping V2 driver. The first one I had, that ended up at some swap meet somewhere, I let the salesman talk me into the Diamana regular flex 12 degree. This time I stuck with the 10.5 degree TFC939 stiff. Here I go again… took it out, and for the first time ~ I heard angels singing, every time I hit it! ~ amazing. Finally, I have my draw back, distance back, consistency back, launch back, and my friends hating me again, not to mention those beautiful angels singing every time I swing it.

What did I learn, besides the obvious…, through this journey I learned about swing weight (D5, D4, D3). I learned about shaft weight and how they relate to stiffness (53g, 58g, 63g and so on). D3 weight works for me because I am not in the greatest of shape and my swing speed is about average. D5, the Burner I tried was just too heavy over all. I found that when it comes to shaft weight, stiffness it is on a sliding scale; meaning, if you have a light weight shaft and your swing speed is around 90 then stiff may be the choice. If the shaft is heavy with the same swing speed your choice should be regular. My opinion. Other than that, keep trying - there is a driver somewhere out there for you.

Customer Service

Ping fitting center highly recommended

Similar Products Used:

Launcher, Orlimar Trimetal, Ping G5, Ping G10, Ping G15, Ping I15, Taylormade Burner

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 28, 2009]
Brucer
Shoots in the 100s
Model Reviewed: Ping Rapture Driver

Okay, I've been a beginner for more years than I care to admit. I've been using el-cheapo clubs until this past summer, and frankly I didn't know what I was missing. After a new set of irons I tried a few drivers and bought this one for $199. I think it's last year's model, but who cares? For the first time ever, I'm hitting straight, long, high (I bought the 12-degree model), and consistent. Well, sometimes consistent.

To all the other beginners and duffers out there -- there's a BIG difference in these new, comically large drivers. The difference is they make you a better golfer. Well worth the price even to a cheapskate like me. The Ping Rapture looks nice, too, but the head cover is so ugly and big I leave it at home.

Made in USA, but some of the parts are imported.

Customer Service

No experience

Similar Products Used:

Wilson Prostaff
Big Bertha Diablo
Nike Sumo
Old wooden woods

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 22, 2009]
rick
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: ping rapture

For those of you that are considering purchasing a Rapture driver I would suggest that you keep looking. I'm fairly certain that there must be something better out there.
For those of you that already own a Rapture are you guys all nuts? Obviously you do not play any competitive golf otherwise you would keep your advantage to yourself. I believe we must take steps to keep this driver out of the spotlight. Throw out that headcover and find one from a competitor that fits . Make it as unattractive as possible--a little coarse sandpaper should do the trick.
I came across the Rapture by accident, won a G10 in a tournament, before using it I tested it and other demo's on the course during a quiet period by hitting about thirty balls (all Pro V's)with each and found no increase in distance or accuracy over my Mizuno 560 . tested Cleveland, Taylor Made and Cobra as well as the G10. Have done the same test with numerous drivers in the past couple of years in an effort to increase my distance a little--have done this test since I had a fitting session with Taylor
Made for an RX7 and lost 10 yds.
The test told me the G10 was not an upgrade so I returned to the tournament course to exchange. Have Rapture irons so
I went with a used Rapture driver with a Mitsubishi shaft. Have not had a chance to do my test but after three rounds at my home course and hitting the ball a bit farther in 4-9c temperatures I cant wait for next spring to arrive.
Now you guys do your part keep quiet about this gem, I need all the advantage I can get.

Customer Service

not used

Similar Products Used:

You name it I've tested it

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 67  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com